High CPU utilization with Gnome

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

High CPU utilization with Gnome

Postby akernar » Thu Sep 19, 2013 10:28

Hello,

I've got a fresh installed Sabayon Gnome, with weekly repo upgraded. Toshiba C660 Notebook (Nvidia videocard).
uname:
Linux 3.10.0-sabayon #1 SMP Sat Aug 31 10:10:07 UTC 2013 GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
I don't know, how I can look at the used video driver.

The CPU util is usually 50-90%!
Top shows e.g. now 147%(!)a for the gnome-shell and 20% for the X. Ps -aux shows more than 40% for the gnome-shell. The others are OK.

It's been working thus for 4 days.

What can be the problem? Thanks for help in advance.
akernar
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 6:57

Re: High CPU utilization with Gnome

Postby akernar » Fri Sep 20, 2013 9:26

I've tried to reinstall gnome-shell with --bdeps option. The installed packages were:

Code: Select all
 Would you like to continue with the dependencies calculation? [Yes/No] y
>>  @@ Calculating dependencies...
>>  @@ These are the packages that would be installed:
>>  ## [N] [sabayon-weekly] sys-devel/automake-wrapper-9|0
>>  ## [N] [sabayon-weekly] sys-devel/autoconf-wrapper-13|0
>>  ## [N] [sabayon-weekly] sys-devel/autoconf-2.69|2
>>  ## [N] [sabayon-weekly] dev-perl/Locale-gettext-1.50.0|1
>>  ## [N] [sabayon-weekly] sys-apps/help2man-1.43.3|0
>>  ## [N] [sabayon-weekly] sys-devel/automake-1.12.6|0
>>  ## [N] [sabayon-weekly] gnome-base/gnome-common-3.7.4|0
>>  ## [N] [sabayon-weekly] dev-util/gtk-doc-am-1.19|0
>>  ## [N] [sabayon-weekly] dev-util/pkgconfig-0.28|2
>>  ## [N] [sabayon-weekly] virtual/pkgconfig-0|1
>>  ## [R] [sabayon-weekly] gnome-base/gnome-shell-3.8.4|0   [3.8.4|0]
>>  @@ Packages needing to be installed/updated/downgraded: 11
>>  @@ Packages needing to be removed: 0
>>  @@ Packages needing to be installed: 10
>>  @@ Packages needing to be reinstalled: 1
>>  @@ Packages needing to be updated: 0
>>  @@ Packages needing to be downgraded: 0
>>  @@ Download size: 3.2MB
>>  @@ Used disk space: 4.2MB
>>  @@ You need at least: 10.6MB of free space


At the end equo's said:
Code: Select all
/var/tmp/entropy/packages/amd64/5/gnome-base_gnome-shell-3.8.4.fa8e2ece5a2fdf8b65e52e1054008c2740aea8ef_0.tbz2/portage/gnome-base/gnome-shell-3.8.4/temp/environment: line 4347: systemd_is_booted: command not found
 * gnome-shell needs Systemd to be *running* for working
 * properly. Please follow the this guide to migrate:


Systemd isn't running... Why? I don't understand. There's a guide on the Gentoo homepage, the grub.cfg is simple there, but my grub.cfg is much more complex and I dare not to change it (with the end of the line: init=/usr/lib/systemd/systemd). Maybe Sabayon handles this another way...

What can I do, to check, wether my systemd is running or not and if not, how I can start it with the system? I didn't find it in the wiki, sorry.
akernar
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 6:57


Return to 3D Desktops and Window Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest