using Portage via a local overlay

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
kage
Simple Hen
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 23:53

using Portage via a local overlay

Post by kage » Thu Apr 05, 2012 15:49

Hi,

I want to install my scanner using an ebuild

Following th instructions i have to "layman -a sabayon" as root in a konsole

Thats returning the following message:

Code: Select all

 * Adding overlay,...
 * Running Git... # /usr/bin/git clone git://sabayon.org/projects/overlay.git /var/lib/layman/sabayon
Cloning into '/var/lib/layman/sabayon'...
fatal: unable to connect to sabayon.org:
sabayon.org[0: 149.132.176.64]: errno=Connection refused

 * Failure result returned from Git
 * Adding repository "sabayon" failed!

 * CLI: Errors occured processing action add
 * Adding repository "sabayon" failed!


Whats wrong?

kage

User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8091
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: using Portage via a local overlay

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Thu Apr 05, 2012 16:38

Sabayon Linux developers split the Portage sabayon overlay into two new overlays

Code: Select all

equo install git
layman -S
layman -d sabayon
layman -d sabayon-distro
layman -a sabayon
layman -a sabayon-distro
layman -S

(Some of that may seem superfluous, but will clean out any mess.)

Post Reply