Issues with KDE live cd booting

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

Issues with KDE live cd booting

Postby Andreyshel » Fri Mar 02, 2012 18:52

Hello.
At first technical characteristics of my computer:
Model HP 635(LH405EA).
Processor AMD Athlon II P360, 2300 MHz
Videocard 1 AMD M880G with ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4250
Videocard 2 AMD Radeon HD 6370M
Monitor resolution 1766x768
Wireless Adapter Atheros AR9285

Sabayon shows a clean console after starting. I didn't found something special in verbose mode messages. I have tried to start it in VESA mode and with parameter legacy also.
Thanks for your help.
Andrey.
P.S English is not my native language. I posted this message in English for practice. If you have problems with reading this message, tell me and I will revert to a Russian localized section.
Andreyshel
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 13:25

Re: Issues with KDE live cd booting

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Sat Mar 03, 2012 16:44

Not sure, but it could be that your two AMD GPUs are confusing the loader.

Other things to try at boot of the LiveDVD (press F5 and append each of the following in turn):

Code: Select all
xdriver=ati


Code: Select all
xdriver=radeon
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7977
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Issues with KDE live cd booting

Postby Andreyshel » Sun Mar 04, 2012 10:00

Other things to try at boot of the LiveDVD (press F5 and append each of the following in turn):

Code: Select all
xdriver=ati


I appended that and started xserver and kde session manually(Because it does not start automatically). But, system works really slow. I tried to start installer,but it froze.
Andreyshel
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 13:25

Re: Issues with KDE live cd booting

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Sun Mar 04, 2012 10:53

Are there any error messages in /var/log/Xorg.0.log or /var/log/kdm.log files?

Also, make sure the OpenGL libraries set correctly:

Code: Select all
# eselect opengl set ati

Another thing you could do is to check to what the mesa libraries are set, and switch them to 'classic' if necessary:

Code: Select all
# eselect mesa list

Code: Select all
# eselect mesa set 64bit r600 classic
# eselect mesa set 64bit r300 classic
# eselect mesa set 64bit sw classic
# eselect mesa set 32bit r600 classic
# eselect mesa set 32bit r300 classic
# eselect mesa set 32bit sw classic

or whatever it is that is returned by the list command.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7977
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom


Return to Sabayon Linux General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron