Help with portage getting Autokey [Solved]

Discussions Regarding Software

Moderator: Moderators

Help with portage getting Autokey [Solved]

Postby unexpectedly » Thu Mar 01, 2012 22:44

Hey Everyone,

I'm new to Sabayon but have been a *buntu lover for 5+ years. I use autokey as part of my workflow and saw that it is available via portage. But I am missing something. It's just not there... :P I asked in that thread & thought I'd start a fresh one asking same question.

I've tried:
emerge autokey-gtk
emerge autokey
emerge auto (then looked through results)
I even installed porthole, hoping there might be something in the GUI I missed from command line.

I just did fresh install of Sabayon 7 LXDE amd64 and have been trying to add as few gnome things as possible. Might end up going to gnome desktop. Trying to learn more about sabayon to figure out what works, what doesn't, and what's best.

Thanks,
Chris
Last edited by unexpectedly on Fri Mar 02, 2012 0:06, edited 1 time in total.
unexpectedly
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 3:36

Re: Help with portage getting Autokey

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Thu Mar 01, 2012 22:51

As I wrote in the other thread in which you posted, if you don't know how to use Portage you should file a request (via the link 'Bugs' at the top right of this page) for the binary package to be built and put into the Entropy repository so that you (and other Entropy users) can easily install it.

However, be it on your own head:

Edit the file /etc/make.conf and make sure it has the following lines in it at the end of the file:

Code: Select all
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="${PORTDIR_OVERLAY} /usr/local/portage/"
ACCEPT_LICENSE="*"

(Delete the line PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage/" if already in the file.)

Then do the following (change user name "unexpectedly", if different):

Code: Select all
$ cd
$ wget https://290502.bugs.gentoo.org/attachment.cgi?id=303115 -O autokey-gtk-0.81.4.ebuild
$ su
Password:
# equo install git
# emerge --sync
# layman -S
# layman -d sabayon
# layman -d sabayon-distro
# layman -a sabayon
# layman -a sabayon-distro
# layman -S
# mkdir /usr/local/portage/profiles
# echo "local_overlay" > /usr/local/portage/profiles/repo_name
# mkdir -p /usr/local/portage/app-misc/autokey-gtk
# cd /usr/local/portage/app-misc/autokey-gtk
# cp /home/unexpectedly/autokey-gtk-0.81.4.ebuild .
# ebuild autokey-gtk-0.81.4.ebuild manifest
# FEATURES="-collision-detect -protect-owned" emerge -1v autokey-gtk
# etc-update # Just in case there are some config files to update. Enter -3 then answer yes to all.
# equo rescue spmsync
# exit
exit
$
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Help with portage getting Autokey

Postby unexpectedly » Thu Mar 01, 2012 23:38

Thanks for your fast and detailed reply!!

Bug is submitted requesting autokey-gtk. There is no way I would have known to go through all that above. Quite the sneaky insider info! So I got through all that... now how do I run autokey? I can't seem to find it anywhere. Wow, I'm feeling pretty dumb.

Soooo, if I were to install Gnome, would I have been able to simply copy the autokey Python scripts from the google code source and make that work? I'm sort of getting my butt kicked trying to make things happen in LXDE land...

:) Chris
unexpectedly
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 3:36

Re: Help with portage getting Autokey

Postby unexpectedly » Fri Mar 02, 2012 0:06

ah
Code: Select all
# emerge autokey-gtk

installs it.

Then running autokey-gtk from command line showed missing dependency... so I had to
Code: Select all
# emerge pyinotify


I copied the old autokey.json file from my old ubuntu's ~/.config/autokey to the current location and this autokey upgraded my config file. Restarted autokey and everything is looking good. This is pretty nice. :D

Thanks!
Chris
Last edited by unexpectedly on Fri Mar 02, 2012 0:16, edited 1 time in total.
unexpectedly
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 3:36

Re: Help with portage getting Autokey [Solved]

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Fri Mar 02, 2012 0:15

Procedure is the same whatever the DE. To launch from command line:

Code: Select all
$ autokey-gtk

To launch from GUI menu, it's under Applications > Utilities in KDE, no idea in the other DEs.

Dependencies:

Code: Select all
$ equery depgraph autokey-gtk-0.81.4
 * Searching for autokey-gtk0.81.4 ...

 * dependency graph for app-misc/autokey-gtk-0.81.4
 `--  app-misc/autokey-gtk-0.81.4  ~amd64
   `--  dev-python/python-xlib-0.15_rc1-r1  (>=dev-python/python-xlib-0.14) ~amd64
   `--  dev-python/notify-python-0.1.1-r2  (dev-python/notify-python) amd64
   `--  dev-python/pygtk-2.24.0-r2  (dev-python/pygtk) amd64
   `--  app-admin/eselect-python-20111108  (>=app-admin/eselect-python-20091230) ~amd64
   `--  dev-lang/python-3.2.2  (dev-lang/python) ~amd64
[ app-misc/autokey-gtk-0.81.4 stats: packages (6), max depth (1) ]
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom


Return to Software in General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests