repositories.conf "branch" option [Solved]

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
sedo_5
Growing Hen
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 19:20

repositories.conf "branch" option [Solved]

Post by sedo_5 » Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:27

Hi everyone.
While I was editing my /etc/entropy/repositories.conf , I noticed this line

Code: Select all

branch|5


Actually I started to use Sabayon since version 5 (and never had a problem since now...thank you rolling release!!! :mrgreen: ).
Anyway, I was just wondering about the need of this option. Does this affect the upgrade process? Should I edit in

Code: Select all

branch|7
now?

Thank you for your elucidation| :)

Renzo
Last edited by sedo_5 on Tue Nov 01, 2011 16:11, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3157
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: repositories.conf "branch" option

Post by sabayonino » Tue Nov 01, 2011 13:32

Hi

Sabayon Now is a rolling release ; branch option is old. (don't comment or remove this line !)

when you run :

Code: Select all

# equo update && equo upgrade


your sabayon is rolled at last version (Seven at the moment)

Sabayon developer team is too small to maintain multiple versions...
[Che Cos'è Il Calcolo Distribuito (BOINC)

BOINC ready ! Sabayon+BOINC = BILD ,my Sabayon spin :cyclops: - Ready to crunch for the Science everywhere :)

sedo_5
Growing Hen
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 19:20

Re: repositories.conf "branch" option

Post by sedo_5 » Tue Nov 01, 2011 13:53

Hi sabayonino and thanks for your reply.

Of course I know that it's a rolling release (love it!)...i wouldn't use it if I didn't know that 8)

Anyway, my doubt was about why there is still the number "5" (I started to think there could have been some upgrade problem)...anyway if you say that this number is "normal" (maybe the option is kept for compatibility) and doesn't affect the upgrade process, then it's ok for me! :D

Bye

Renzo

Stupot
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1630
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:44
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA

Re: repositories.conf "branch" option

Post by Stupot » Tue Nov 01, 2011 15:41

Entropy Branches and Sabayon releases do not correlate.

Originally, they did, for Sabayon 4 and Sabayon 5, but starting from Sabayon 6 onwards, they do not any longer.

The only time the branch will change is if there is an extremely significant change coming down the pipes, and entropy will automatically notify you if that happens and you will be asked to make the switch to the next branch manually.

But I'm not aware of any branch change scheduled, so if it happens, it won't be for quite a while.

sedo_5
Growing Hen
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 19:20

Re: repositories.conf "branch" option

Post by sedo_5 » Tue Nov 01, 2011 16:10

Ok, great, now that's clear.
Solved.

Post Reply