getting ATI drivers works

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

getting ATI drivers works

Postby Zaibon » Tue Oct 11, 2011 16:54

Hi all ! I'm a new user of Sabayon, everything is great with this distri but I can't get the ATI driver working.

I'have installed the ati driver (x11-drivers/ati-drivers-11.8#2.6.39-sabayon)
but I'm stuck with the VESA : M92

I'have read the wiki, trying to follow the tuto, but nothing works... What can I do now??

thanks
Zaibon
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 16:49

Re: getting ATI drivers works

Postby micia » Wed Oct 12, 2011 11:27

Hi Zaibon, welcome to the Sabayon Forums :mrgreen:

Could you post the output of:
Code: Select all
eselect opengl list
glxinfo | grep render


and the contents of:
/etc/X11/xorg.conf

please, use [ Code ] tags for each output/content, to make your post more readable :wink:
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: getting ATI drivers works

Postby Zaibon » Wed Oct 12, 2011 11:59

Code: Select all
 eselect opengl list
Available OpenGL implementations:
  [1]   ati *
  [2]   nvidia
  [3]   xorg-x11


Code: Select all
glxinfo | grep render
direct rendering: Yes
OpenGL renderer string: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4300 Series
    GL_NV_conditional_render, GL_NV_copy_depth_to_color,


Code: Select all
cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Section "Module"
    SubSection  "extmod"
       Option    "omit xfree86-dga"
    EndSubSection
    Load    "i2c"
    Load    "ddc"
    Load    "vbe"
    Load    "dri"
    Load    "glx"
    Load    "synaptics"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
     Option    "AllowMouseOpenFail"    "true"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier    "Generic Monitor"
    VertRefresh    43 - 60
    HorizSync      28 - 80
EndSection


Section "Device"

    Identifier  "SabayonVga0"
    Driver      "fglrx"
    #BusID    "PCI:02:00"
    Option "RenderAccel" "on"
    #Option "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps"
    #Option "BusType" "PCI"
    #Option "ColorTiling" "on"
    #Option "EnablePageFlip" "on"
#    Option "UseEvents" "True"
    Option "LogoPath" "/usr/share/backgrounds/sabayonlinux-nvidia.png"

EndSection
   


Section "Screen"

    Identifier    "Screen 0"
    Device        "SabayonVga0"
    Monitor       "Generic Monitor"
    #Option       "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"

    DefaultDepth 24

    SubSection "Display"
        Depth      8
        ViewPort   0 0
        #Modes      "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection

    SubSection "Display"
        Depth           16
        ViewPort        0 0
        #Modes      "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection

    SubSection "Display"
        Depth           24
        ViewPort        0 0
        #Modes      "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection

EndSection


Section "DRI"
    Mode 0666
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier   "Main Layout"
    Screen 0    "Screen 0"
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
   #Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection


thanks for the help.
Zaibon
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 16:49

Re: getting ATI drivers works

Postby micia » Wed Oct 12, 2011 12:03

According to that output, you are using the proprietary ATI drivers, why do you think that this is not the case?
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: getting ATI drivers works

Postby Zaibon » Wed Oct 12, 2011 12:08

because in the system center I got this
Image

and the 3d effect and transparency doesn't work.
Zaibon
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 16:49

Re: getting ATI drivers works

Postby Matte88 » Wed Oct 12, 2011 12:17

That image shouldn't be an absolute indicator, also because ATI drivers get insane with GNOME3... Install a game and see how fast it runs (check Frame/sec). You can also check 3d acceleration with amdcccle.
Please, use another DE and see if 3D works there.
Image
When I became the sun,
I shone life into the man's hearts.
Matte88
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 14:37
Location: @/etc/entropy/repositories.conf.d/entropy_sabayon-limbo

Re: getting ATI drivers works

Postby micia » Wed Oct 12, 2011 12:19

ATI proprietary driver doesn't work with GNOME Shell, this is unfortunate, AMD seems to take its time to fix this issue, until that, Sabayon has no choice but to force fallback mode on GNOME3 to make the system stable.
See these discussions:
http://forum.sabayon.org/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=25443
http://lxnay.wordpress.com/2011/09/29/amd-catalyst-11-9-complete-disaster/
http://lists.sabayon.org/pipermail/devel/2011-September/007055.html

Also, as Matte88 said, it is normal that GNOME3 reports VESA on GNOME3, it is a known (albeit strange) behaviour.
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron