KDE and Gnome at the same time - in parallel?!

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

KDE and Gnome at the same time - in parallel?!

Postby msdobrescu » Tue Oct 11, 2011 20:51

Hello,

Is it normal to have KDE on top of Gnome?
My system is fully upgraded.
When I change from one KDE virtual desktop to another, I see for a fraction of second the Gnome desktop.
Same at the shutdown, for a brief moment I see it, just after KDE session closes.
If I choose Compiz, using the fusion-icon, switching from kvm to compiz and back, I get Gnome desktop sometimes.
Just before starting KDE, the standard mouse pointer of Gnome appears, some Gnome applets run after KDE start (Gnome Do, NetworkManager Applet, Caribou).

Why does it happen and how should I fix the configuration?

Thank you.
msdobrescu
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 444
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48

Re: KDE and Gnome at the same time - in parallel?!

Postby genfool » Wed Oct 12, 2011 3:37

This is not normal, I have seen it before... not just you.
Has never caused an issue, I could never track it down, it only last for a split second.
It disappeared with a few reboots etc...
I would be curious if this persist after all latest updates. Just nothing you can pin down ... But have seen same in the past.
genfool
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 17:56
Location: Albuquerque, NM

Re: KDE and Gnome at the same time - in parallel?!

Postby msdobrescu » Wed Oct 12, 2011 5:05

No, it did not disappear after reboots and updates neither. You see, Entropy did a full update/upgrade to 7 long before the announcement.
But, I am a developer (very experienced with Windows), so I am willing to help.
Being linux newbie though, I wait for instructions on how to diagnose and track this down.
msdobrescu
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 444
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48

Re: KDE and Gnome at the same time - in parallel?!

Postby albfneto » Wed Oct 12, 2011 14:18

In parallel, not, but have both graphical env., for choose in the session, in the login screen, is normal and possible.

Example, with Sulfur, install GNOME in a previous Sabayon KDE installation.

I have one installation with all graphical env.: KDE, GNOME, XFCE, E17, LXDE etc...
ALBERTO FEDERMAN NETO
albfneto
[email protected]
Favorite Distros: Sabayon, Gentoo, Mageia and OpenSUSE
User avatar
albfneto
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1728
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:15
Location: Ribeirão Preto City, São Paulo State, Brazil

Re: KDE and Gnome at the same time - in parallel?!

Postby msdobrescu » Wed Oct 12, 2011 14:31

Mine is different.
Gnome AND KDE start at the same time.
KDE is on top of Gnome, regarding the desktop windows, and is blended with Gnome by allowing some applets to run (as mentioned before).
msdobrescu
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 444
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48

Re: KDE and Gnome at the same time - in parallel?!

Postby ancient mariner » Fri Oct 14, 2011 19:11

I've had this on my KDE system too, even to the point of Nautilus starting in parallel to Dolphin. That has *mostly* stopped over the last week or so, although the network connection icon in the task manager (bottom right) still looks like the gnome version, rather than KDE.
ancient mariner
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:20

Re: KDE and Gnome at the same time - in parallel?!

Postby msdobrescu » Fri Oct 14, 2011 19:53

please don't do this again!
You are scaring me!!
msdobrescu
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 444
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48

Re: KDE and Gnome at the same time - in parallel?!

Postby manifesto » Sun Oct 16, 2011 20:45

I got this problems as well and fix it with removing nautilus.desktop, nm-applet.desktop etc ...
It is very annoying. It looks like gnome apps do not include :
Code: Select all
OnlyShowIn=GNOME

I had to look for all this .desktop in /etc/xdg/autostart and other in /usr/share/applications/ ....

I still have gvfs and related stuff but I dont know who starts it and why/where ...
manifesto
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 22:21

Re: KDE and Gnome at the same time - in parallel?!

Postby msdobrescu » Tue Oct 18, 2011 18:33

All these applets start because gnome desktop starts.
How should I avoid that?
msdobrescu
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 444
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48


Return to 3D Desktops and Window Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron