Gnome 3 - where is my Shutdown button ? [Solved]

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

Gnome 3 - where is my Shutdown button ? [Solved]

Postby HolgiB » Mon Sep 19, 2011 6:29

Hi all,

I just did a lengthy update from Gnome2 to Gnome3. While I like the G3 layout pretty much I am somewhat missing my shutdown button. Even in the menu I didn' t see a shutdown entry.

Am I legally blind ? (well, I somewhat am if I look at my glasses but anyway :mrgreen: )

TIA,
Holger
Last edited by HolgiB on Mon Sep 19, 2011 21:41, edited 1 time in total.
My Sabayon Box:
Sabayon x64, XFCE
Intel Core2 Duo Processor E4500 (2x2.2GHz)
3GB DDR2 RAM
ATI HD4670
Open your source, open your mind
HolgiB
Young Hen
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 19:18

Re: Updated to Gnome 3 - where is my Shutdown button ?

Postby bitERROR » Mon Sep 19, 2011 10:48

I'm not a Gnome3 user but I read somewhere that you must press Alt key to see it.
bitERROR
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2011 20:14

Re: Updated to Gnome 3 - where is my Shutdown button ?

Postby amitvn » Mon Sep 19, 2011 13:58

better option to install gnome extension @ http://www.fpmurphy.com/gnome-shell-extensions/
install poweroption extension to get direct shutdown option
Love Sabayon <3
amitvn
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 10:50
Location: Mumbai,India

Re: Updated to Gnome 3 - where is my Shutdown button ?

Postby micia » Mon Sep 19, 2011 14:06

^ I guess you could also ask for them to be packaged in entropy.

I'd rather use the Alt button though :)
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: Updated to Gnome 3 - where is my Shutdown button ?

Postby amitvn » Mon Sep 19, 2011 14:14

yeah i can ask but there are way too many extensions so it will not be good to ask all of them in entropy and btw installing extensions is not that much of pain....
Love Sabayon <3
amitvn
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 10:50
Location: Mumbai,India

Re: Updated to Gnome 3 - where is my Shutdown button ?

Postby joost » Mon Sep 19, 2011 14:16

they are in ENtropy by the way.
joost
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2604
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Updated to Gnome 3 - where is my Shutdown button ?

Postby HolgiB » Mon Sep 19, 2011 21:41

Hi all,

thanks for this lot of replies !
I guess next time I will rather "google" than posting here first. :alien:

Searching for "gnome3 no power button" reveals an awful lot of postings :roll:

Beside this minor glitch I somewhat like Gnome3. For the moment I have no bigger issues with it.

Hopefully Zenity and Nautilus-based scripts will still work but I will figure out myself.

All the best,
Holger
My Sabayon Box:
Sabayon x64, XFCE
Intel Core2 Duo Processor E4500 (2x2.2GHz)
3GB DDR2 RAM
ATI HD4670
Open your source, open your mind
HolgiB
Young Hen
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 19:18


Return to 3D Desktops and Window Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest