how does Sabayon handles nVidia Cuda [Solved]

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

how does Sabayon handles nVidia Cuda [Solved]

Postby batvink » Sun Sep 11, 2011 16:52

i read an article on the yellow dog linux, and nVidia websites that they use nvidia-cuda technoligy
for GPU computing; evolving from "central processing" on the CPU to "co-processing" on the CPU and GPU.

http://www.ydl.net/ydl_cuda/
and
http://www.nvidia.com/object/cuda_home_new.html

How does Sabayon Handle this?
i mean, if i have a nvidia graphics card, nvidia-cuda compatible,
does Sabayon use or combine the power/strength of CPU and GPU automatically ?
or do i have to enable/configure it...

thanks in advance.
Last edited by batvink on Mon Sep 12, 2011 19:34, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
batvink
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 495
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 11:44
Location: the netherlands

Re: how does Sabayon handles nVidia Cuda

Postby micia » Sun Sep 11, 2011 18:06

It is up to the application to take advantage of the CUDA technology, Sabayon (and any other distro) just ship the Nvidia proprietary drivers that support it.
In my opinion, it is much more productive and portable using OpenCL.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OpenCL
(most likely, the Nvidia implementation will compile it to CUDA)
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: how does Sabayon handles nVidia Cuda

Postby batvink » Mon Sep 12, 2011 19:34

yes, i've heart of OpenCL.
right now i have nvidia Geforce 7300 GT, and is currently not supported.,
but i plan to buy a new video card.

Well, thank you for the answer, that was all i need to know.
User avatar
batvink
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 495
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 11:44
Location: the netherlands


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron