how do I emerge testing packages? [Solved]

Anything that pertains to Portage

Moderator: Moderators

how do I emerge testing packages? [Solved]

Postby shaitan » Thu Aug 04, 2011 16:11

Hi guys,

I know this is a dumb question, but I haven't been able to emerge darktable-0.9.
I know it is available in testing http://packages.gentoo.org/package/medi ... x&full_cat.

when I `emerge darktable` is says I have darktable-0.8 installed (using equo) , and the other options is to install darktable-9999.

I did emerge --sync && layman -S...
I tried tweaking the packages.keywords file, and using the ACCEPT_KEYWORDS but did't succed..

Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong?
Last edited by shaitan on Mon Aug 08, 2011 8:23, edited 1 time in total.
shaitan
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 15:01

Re: how do I emerge testing packages?

Postby micia » Thu Aug 04, 2011 16:39

Hi,

your problem is that it has to be unmasked in the:
/etc/portage/package.unmask
and in the:
/etc/portage/package.keywords
files.

for example you could run:
(as root)
Code: Select all
echo '=media-gfx/darktable-9999 **' >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
echo '=media-gfx/darktable-9999' >> /etc/portage/package.unmask


be careful to type exactly the >> and the ' characters, otherwise use a normal text editor as root to edit those files.
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: how do I emerge testing packages?

Postby shaitan » Fri Aug 05, 2011 10:27

Hey , thanks for your answer.
I will try it tonight and post the result.
shaitan
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 15:01

Re: how do I emerge testing packages?

Postby shaitan » Fri Aug 05, 2011 20:42

Hi,

I actually want to install darktable-0.9.1.
so I did this:
Code: Select all
sabayon florin # echo '=media-gfx/darktable-0.9.1 **' >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
sabayon florin # echo '=media-gfx/darktable-0.9.1' >> /etc/portage/package.unmask
sabayon florin # emerge -av darktable
WARNING: One or more repositories have missing repo_name entries:

        /usr/local/portage/profiles/repo_name

NOTE: Each repo_name entry should be a plain text file containing a
unique name for the repository on the first line.



 * IMPORTANT: 7 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
 * Use eselect news to read news items.


These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild     U  ] media-gfx/darktable-9999 [0.8-r1] USE="openmp (-doc%) (-gnome-keyring%) (-lensfun%*) (-nls%*) (-opencl%) (-static-libs%) (-watermark%)" 0 kB [1=>2]

Total: 1 package (1 upgrade), Size of downloads: 0 kB
Portage tree and overlays:
 [0] /usr/portage
 [1] /usr/local/portage/layman/sabayon
 [2] /usr/local/portage

Would you like to merge these packages? [Yes/No] n

Quitting.


 * IMPORTANT: 7 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
 * Use eselect news to read news items.

I know (from the gentoo manual) that blocked/ masked packages should have been specified in this output, darktable-0.9x do not appear at all.
Perhaps it is because I have a different version of portage: mine is 2.2.0_alpha37 (installed with equo), in the darktable-0.9.1.ebuild is this (Portage version: 2.2.0_alpha47/cvs/Linux x86_64)

I tried to emerge this version of portage, but again doesn't show up as available:
Code: Select all
sabayon florin # emerge -av portage
WARNING: One or more repositories have missing repo_name entries:

        /usr/local/portage/profiles/repo_name

NOTE: Each repo_name entry should be a plain text file containing a
unique name for the repository on the first line.



 * IMPORTANT: 7 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
 * Use eselect news to read news items.


These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild     UD ] sys-apps/portage-2.1.10.10 [2.2.0_alpha37] USE="(ipc) less%* -build -doc -epydoc -python2 -python3 (-selinux)" LINGUAS="-pl*" 827 kB
*** Portage will stop merging at this point and reload itself,
    then resume the merge.
[blocks B      ] <app-admin/logrotate-3.8.0 ("<app-admin/logrotate-3.8.0" is blocking sys-apps/portage-2.1.10.10)

Total: 1 package (1 downgrade), Size of downloads: 827 kB
Conflict: 1 block (1 unsatisfied)

 * Error: The above package list contains packages which cannot be
 * installed at the same time on the same system.

  (sys-apps/portage-2.1.10.10::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) pulled in by
    portage
    >=sys-apps/portage-2.1.2 required by (app-admin/python-updater-0.8-r1::gentoo, installed)
    >=sys-apps/portage-2.1.9 required by (sys-apps/entropy-1.0_rc32::sabayon, installed)


For more information about Blocked Packages, please refer to the following
section of the Gentoo Linux x86 Handbook (architecture is irrelevant):

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?full=1#blocked


 * IMPORTANT: 7 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
 * Use eselect news to read news items.
shaitan
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 15:01

Re: how do I emerge testing packages?

Postby micia » Fri Aug 05, 2011 21:57

Do not update portage using portage, it could be dangerous.
Use entropy to update portage.

The version you want to install does not appear because you unmasked the 9999 version.
remask that version, removing the entries for the 9999 version in the:
/etc/portage/package.unmask
file, eventually, remove also the entries in the:
/etc/portage/package.keywords
file.
The 0.9.1 versions are not masked.

It also looks like you have a darktable in your local overlay (and that you have the sabayon overlay in /usr/local/portage/layman/sabayon :?: ), why would you want it? It is available on portage, it would be better for you to remove the ebuild in your local overlay (and to put a repo_name for it so that it will stop complaining for it :) ).
Once you did this, you could proceed as follows:

1) try to minimize the use of portage installing the dependencies using equo:
(as root)
Code: Select all
equo install lensfun cmake


2) Now you should change the USE mask for libraw, you have to add the demosaic USE flag.
You can do it editing the:
/etc/portage/package.use
file, adding an entry for that package like this:
Code: Select all
media-libs/libraw demosaic

(you have to be root to edit that file)

or you can install it like this:
(as root)
Code: Select all
USE="demosaic" emerge -1av libraw

(the first method is the recommended one)

3) now install the desired version of darktable:
(as root)
Code: Select all
emerge -1av =media-gfx/darktable-0.9.1
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: how do I emerge testing packages?

Postby shaitan » Mon Aug 08, 2011 8:21

Yep,

You are right, my problem was created by my own hand :lol:
I had put that ebuild there back when darktable wasn't on gentoo/sabayon repository.

Thanks a lot for your support, I will set the topic on solve.

PS. Next time I'll pay closer attention at what emerge is saying.
shaitan
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 15:01


Return to Portage|Emerge Package Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests