How to update PATH to make it available in ALT+F2? [Solved]

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

How to update PATH to make it available in ALT+F2? [Solved]

Postby aquarius » Thu Jul 28, 2011 14:29

Hi,
I'm running Sabayon 6 (Gnome). I have a directory with m own executable files (scripts).
How can I add the directory to PATH to make the executable files in the directory available on ALT+F2?
I've modified PATH is .bashrc and now in terminal the executable files in the directory are available. But still not available in ALT+F2 :(

Thanks in advance
Last edited by aquarius on Sat Jul 30, 2011 8:48, edited 1 time in total.
Gnome2 is dead! Long live... E17!

System76 Gazelle Professional:
Intel Core i7-2670QM
Nvidia GeForce GTX 560M
16GB DDR3 SDRAM
750GB HDD + 120GB SSD
15.6" Full HD LED-Backlit Matte Display

powered by Sabayon amd64 E17
aquarius
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 22:17
Location: L'viv, Ukraine


Re: How to update PATH to make it available in ALT+F2?

Postby aquarius » Fri Jul 29, 2011 10:33

Thanks for your tip!

I've tried changing
Code: Select all
#!/bin/sh
into
Code: Select all
#!/bin/sh -l
in following files:
Code: Select all
/etc/X11/gdm/Xsession
/etc/X11/Sessions/Gnome
/etc/X11/Sessions/Xsession
Nothing helped.

I've also checked my Ubuntu box (where PATH changed in .profile is known on ALT+F2). I've looked at similar files there. No file contains
Code: Select all
#!/bin/sh -l
line. I assume Ubuntu uses different approach.
:?:
Gnome2 is dead! Long live... E17!

System76 Gazelle Professional:
Intel Core i7-2670QM
Nvidia GeForce GTX 560M
16GB DDR3 SDRAM
750GB HDD + 120GB SSD
15.6" Full HD LED-Backlit Matte Display

powered by Sabayon amd64 E17
aquarius
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 22:17
Location: L'viv, Ukraine

Re: How to update PATH to make it available in ALT+F2?

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Fri Jul 29, 2011 12:47

Not on any of my SL machines at present, so can't try it out, but here's another one thrown up by Google, this time Gentoo-specific so should work for SL (which is Gentoo-based): Custom PATH in KDE run dialog (applies to any DE, not just KDE).
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7998
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: How to update PATH to make it available in ALT+F2?

Postby aquarius » Sat Jul 30, 2011 8:47

Thank you again! The latter approach worked for me :)
So, the solution is to just copy into ~/.xprofile the staff you put in ~/.bash_profile.
Gnome2 is dead! Long live... E17!

System76 Gazelle Professional:
Intel Core i7-2670QM
Nvidia GeForce GTX 560M
16GB DDR3 SDRAM
750GB HDD + 120GB SSD
15.6" Full HD LED-Backlit Matte Display

powered by Sabayon amd64 E17
aquarius
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 22:17
Location: L'viv, Ukraine

Re: How to update PATH to make it available in ALT+F2? [Solv

Postby aquarius » Sun Jul 31, 2011 10:23

I've just discovered that copying into ~/.xprofile the staff you put in ~/.bash_profile makes impossible to lock screen :shock:

Update: The problem with locking screen is a 'random' one and not related to ~/.xprofile
Gnome2 is dead! Long live... E17!

System76 Gazelle Professional:
Intel Core i7-2670QM
Nvidia GeForce GTX 560M
16GB DDR3 SDRAM
750GB HDD + 120GB SSD
15.6" Full HD LED-Backlit Matte Display

powered by Sabayon amd64 E17
aquarius
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 22:17
Location: L'viv, Ukraine


Return to 3D Desktops and Window Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests