KDE desktop with no 3D effect

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
speedyx
Growing Hen
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:05
Location: Italy
Contact:

KDE desktop with no 3D effect

Post by speedyx » Thu Jul 07, 2011 20:46

No 3D effects on an nVidia Corporation GT216 [GeForce GT 330M] with the latest standard update and .39 kernel
Last edited by speedyx on Thu Jul 14, 2011 6:29, edited 1 time in total.
The Freedom Technologies Are Available!
I love KDE rolling release distributions that just works!

Thev00d00
Generally Awesome (tm)
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 15:52
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: KDE desktop with no effect

Post by Thev00d00 » Mon Jul 11, 2011 20:53

Try:

Code: Select all

eselect opengl nvidia
as root.

Restart X.

In KDE Alt+Shift+F12 will turn the effects back on

More information in future please it will enable better help :D
Image
Please report Bugs on the Bugzilla, not forum
Please Adopt an Unanswered thread
Website / Blog : v00d00.net
twitter: Follow Me
G+: Circle Me

speedyx
Growing Hen
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:05
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: KDE desktop with no effect

Post by speedyx » Tue Jul 12, 2011 12:50

Nop. nvidia is just setted. That is an old suggestion I've just known. Thank you anywway.
What can I try? I don't see any effect in the Effects Tab in System Settings. Maybe I lost a package? :bom:
The Freedom Technologies Are Available!
I love KDE rolling release distributions that just works!

User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8096
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: KDE desktop with no effect

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Wed Jul 13, 2011 16:57

What does your /var/log/Xorg.0.log file contain?

genfool
Technological Hen
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 17:56
Location: Albuquerque, NM

Re: KDE desktop with no effect

Post by genfool » Wed Jul 13, 2011 17:46

I don't see any effect in the Effects Tab in System Settings. Maybe I lost a package?
Can you explain? if you go to Start button > system settings
You do not see a desktop effects tab under workspace appearance and behavior?
Or if you open the desktop effects tab, Enable desktop effects button is grayed out?

If you do not have the tab, yes you are missing something. Not sure how to offer advice until we know.
If it is grayed out, is a driver issue, if it is gone, is a kde issue.

speedyx
Growing Hen
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:05
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: KDE desktop with no 3D effect

Post by speedyx » Thu Jul 14, 2011 6:33

Fitzcarraldo wrote:What does your /var/log/Xorg.0.log file contain?
http://pastebin.sabayon.org/pastie/6624
The Freedom Technologies Are Available!
I love KDE rolling release distributions that just works!

speedyx
Growing Hen
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:05
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: KDE desktop with no effect

Post by speedyx » Thu Jul 14, 2011 6:35

genfool wrote:Or if you open the desktop effects tab, Enable desktop effects button is grayed out?
If it is grayed out, is a driver issue, if it is gone, is a kde issue.
it is grayed out
The Freedom Technologies Are Available!
I love KDE rolling release distributions that just works!

throdon
Advanced Hen
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 13:06
Location: Central valley, California

Re: KDE desktop with no 3D effect

Post by throdon » Thu Jul 14, 2011 7:10

how are you on ram. I had 1GB on my netbook running anywhere from 350MB-550MB of ram with a 2GB swap and i would have had to force the desktop effects(they were greyed out). 2GB upgrade has made it to where it runs without force, too bad I found openbox on a couple of other distros just recently, now I don't really use KDE much at all anymore.
Troll hunter with an overzealous nature

speedyx
Growing Hen
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:05
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: KDE desktop with no 3D effect

Post by speedyx » Thu Jul 14, 2011 18:08

throdon wrote:how are you on ram.
I have 8GB :oops:
The Freedom Technologies Are Available!
I love KDE rolling release distributions that just works!

genfool
Technological Hen
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 17:56
Location: Albuquerque, NM

Re: KDE desktop with no 3D effect

Post by genfool » Fri Jul 15, 2011 18:50

The Xorg.0.log looked fine from what I could see.
Is it possible that you have a kernel mismatch, eselect kernel list and uname -r match?
Only other thing it could be is xorg.conf, if you could post it would be useful.
Also, do you have nvidia-settings installed? If you open it, will complain about driver issues, possibly offer a solution.

If your /etc/X11/xorg.conf under section device has nvidia as the driver, I think it does because your previous log shows it loading nvidia module. Just double check and be sure.

A check list
eselect opengl list has nvidia with *
uname -r shows the kernel you are booted into
eselect kernel list has a * next to the kernel you are booted in
cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf has nvidia as the driver

If all of this is correct and still does not work

Code: Select all

equo remove nvidia-drivers
Before rebooting

Code: Select all

equo install nvidia-drivers
Watch what driver it is installing, for some reason, it may be installing a kernel version different then you are booted into. I have seen this before, sometimes you need to specify the exact driver for your kernel, not just install nvidia-drivers.
If all this fails, I would suspect the xorg.conf and generate or make a new one.

Post Reply