Problems with chipset realtek.

Issues Related to Networking (Wired and Wireless)

Moderator: Moderators

Problems with chipset realtek.

Postby vladder » Tue Mar 08, 2011 17:43

Hi, I bought a wifi antenna with a realtek 8187 chipset and although it detects my network with a power almost 100% despite connect on the other side of the house, I find it impossible to navigate. My laptop has an atheros chipset card with it if I surf (badly) despite the poor reception. What can happen? The card with the realtek chipset appears as wlan4. I guess the problem is that the system uses the integrated wifi card instead of this, and I do not know how to put to it by default ...
Thanks in advance. Greetings.
Yo no pongo mi ignorancia en un altar y la llamo Dios
vladder
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 5:25
Location: Cartagena, España

Re: Problems with chipset realtek.

Postby micia » Thu Mar 10, 2011 13:34

Hi, which network manager are you using?
NetworkManager, wicd, connman, or anything else?
Are you in a KDE4 environment, Gnome or anything?

Try to check the output of these commands:
(as root)
Code: Select all
ifconfig
iwconfig

when you think you have setup the correct connection, it will help you to find out which card is being used for that connection (and how that connection is setup). If you want to post their output here, ensure that there is no information that you don't want to share :)

You could also try the good old ping command to check if the connection is, at least, up and running:
Code: Select all
ping www.google.com
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: Problems with chipset realtek.

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Thu Mar 10, 2011 17:06

Did you know there is a new package called iw that supersedes iwconfig? See http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Documentation/iw

the official Linux Wireless wiki wrote:About iw

iw is a new nl80211 based CLI configuration utility for wireless devices. It supports almost all new drivers that have been added to the kernel recently.

iw is still under development. Features are added 'as we go'. The only documentation that exists for iw is this page. Please help expand it.

There is a page listing use cases with iwconfig and iw: replacing iwconfig.


Maybe your WiFi regulatory domain needs to be set correctly (see Linux wireless regulatory documentation or /usr/src/linux-2.6.37-sabayon/Documentation/networking/regulatory.txt). For example:

Code: Select all
# iw reg set CR

sets the WiFi regulatory domain on your PC to CR (Costa Rica). You can find the country codes in the Wikipedia article http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ISO_3166-1_alpha-2

A couple of days ago I installed the packages net-wireless/iw (nl80211-based configuration utility for wireless devices using the mac80211 kernel stack) and net-wireless/crda (Central Regulatory Domain Agent for wireless networks) and used iw to change the regulatory domain on my laptop to the country I am currently visiting. My main laptop does not have Entropy, only Portage, so maybe you already have the iw and crda packages installed if you are using Entropy.

the official Linux Wireless wiki wrote:Letting the kernel call CRDA

We use userspace events (uevents) to let the kernel speak to userspace. Below is an example udev rule you can place into your distribution's udev rules directory (usually /etc/udev/rules.d/). Note that most distributions have udev configured with inotify on the udev rules directory, so there is no need to restart udev after adding the new rule.

# Example file, should be put in /etc/udev/rules.d/regulatory.rules
KERNEL=="regulatory*", ACTION=="change", SUBSYSTEM=="platform", RUN+="/sbin/crda"
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Problems with chipset realtek.

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Thu Mar 10, 2011 18:13

Moving this thread to the Networking and Wireless shed (forum).
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Problems with chipset realtek.

Postby vladder » Fri Mar 11, 2011 19:00

Hi again,
Hi, which network manager are you using?
NetworkManager, wicd, connman, or anything else?
Are you in a KDE4 environment, Gnome or anything?

I'm usin NetworkManager on Gnome.

Try to check the output of these commands:
(as root)

Código: Seleccionar todo
ifconfig
iwconfig


Code: Select all
ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:23:5a:5f:79:da 
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Interrupt:22

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:362 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:362 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:32845 (32.0 KiB)  TX bytes:32845 (32.0 KiB)

wlan0    Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:24:2b:d3:c7:50 
          inet addr:192.168.15.105  Bcast:192.168.15.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::224:2bff:fed3:c750/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:89700 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:69962 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:125735953 (119.9 MiB)  TX bytes:7095871 (6.7 MiB)

wlan4     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:e0:0c:e0:a3:29 
          inet addr:192.168.15.104  Bcast:192.168.15.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::2e0:cff:fee0:a329/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:110 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:926 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:75583 (73.8 KiB)  TX bytes:147684 (144.2 KiB)

Code: Select all
iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

wlan0      IEEE 802.11bgn  ESSID:"yukieltemerario" 
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.462 GHz  Access Point: 00:1D:7E:FF:C3:DA   
          Bit Rate=1 Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:D055-792C-FC
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=38/70  Signal level=-72 dBm 
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:14  Invalid misc:3075   Missed beacon:0

         
wlan4     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:"yukieltemerario" 
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.462 GHz  Access Point: 00:1D:7E:FF:C3:DA   
          Bit Rate=54 Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:D055-792C-FC
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=59/70  Signal level=-51 dBm 
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:15   Missed beacon:0

You could also try the good old ping command to check if the connection is, at least, up and running:

Código: Seleccionar todo
ping http://www.google.com

Only with wlan4 (wlan0 works fine)...
Code: Select all
[email protected] ~ $ ping www.google.com
ping: unknown host www.google.com


Did you know there is a new package called iw that supersedes iwconfig?

Maybe your WiFi regulatory domain needs to be set correctly

maybe you already have the iw and crda packages installed if you are using Entropy

Fitzcarraldo, I have installed the packages you suggest and I set my WIFI regulatory domain
Code: Select all
iw reg set ES

I restarted it after, but It does not work, I still can not navigate with wlan4 (USB card).
Yo no pongo mi ignorancia en un altar y la llamo Dios
vladder
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 5:25
Location: Cartagena, España

Re: Problems with chipset realtek.

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Fri Mar 11, 2011 19:42

The Realtek 8187 is already enabled in the stock SL 2.6.37 kernel:

Code: Select all
$ cat /usr/src/linux/.config | grep 8187
CONFIG_RTL8187=m
CONFIG_RTL8187_LEDS=y
CONFIG_R8187SE=m

Is the module loaded?:

Code: Select all
lsmod | grep rtl8187

If it is not loaded, try loading it:

Code: Select all
modprobe rtl8187

See the Gentoo Wiki article Realtek RTL8187 for further details.

You may have to disable your other WiFi controller. You mention it is an Atheros controller. Which one? Use the lsmod command to see which Atheros modules are loaded and try unloading them. For example, if you are using the ath5k module then you would unload it by entering the command:

Code: Select all
rmmod -f ath5k
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Problems with chipset realtek.

Postby vladder » Sat Mar 12, 2011 13:36

After ensuring that the module was properly loaded with modprobe rtl8187, this is the output from shell ...
Code: Select all
dmesg | grep rtl8187
[   17.892852] rtl8187: Customer ID is 0x00
[   17.892905] Registered led device: rtl8187-phy1::radio
[   17.892946] Registered led device: rtl8187-phy1::tx
[   17.893022] Registered led device: rtl8187-phy1::rx
[   17.893587] rtl8187: wireless switch is on
[   17.893643] usbcore: registered new interface driver rtl8187

But still not working, I'm like at first. :?
Yo no pongo mi ignorancia en un altar y la llamo Dios
vladder
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 5:25
Location: Cartagena, España

Re: Problems with chipset realtek.

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Sun Mar 13, 2011 11:45

Did you perform the other steps indicated in the Gentoo Wiki article? Once you get the message "usbcore: registered new interface driver rtl8187" from dmesg, there are other steps to perform, and they are given in that article.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Problems with chipset realtek.

Postby vladder » Sun Mar 13, 2011 14:15

These are the steps I followed:
modprobe rtl8187
dmesg | grep rtl8187
wlan4 ifconfig up
I understand that it should work perfectly, so I did not add the module to the boot sequence. My intention is to do when I get it to work.
Only I had to do "modprobe rtl8187 force_card = 0x8187" ...
Yo no pongo mi ignorancia en un altar y la llamo Dios
vladder
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 5:25
Location: Cartagena, España

Re: Problems with chipset realtek.

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Sun Mar 13, 2011 17:19

vladder wrote:Only I had to do "modprobe rtl8187 force_card = 0x8187" ...

So you have the RTL8187B wireless controller, rather than the RTL8178 wireless controller?

Also do the following to disconnect wlan0 in case it is interfering.

Code: Select all
# ifconfig wlan0 down

Also, try:

Code: Select all
# /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 stop
# /etc/init.d/net.wlan4 restart

Following that, try using nm-applet (your GNOME network management GUI) to establish a connection to wlan4.

By the way, why do you have wlan0 and wlan4? What are wlan1, wlan2 and wlan3?

Have a look in the file /etc/conf.d/net to see if wlan4 is mentioned. If not, try editing that and changing "wlan0" to "wlan4".

Also try the following to generate new IP address leases from your DHCP server (I'm assuming you're using DHCP rather than static IP addressing?):

Code: Select all
# dhclient wlan4

What does the following return?

Code: Select all
# iwlist scan

vladder wrote:understand that it should work perfectly, so I did not add the module to the boot sequence

That's correct. You don't need to configure the module to be loaded automatically at boot until you are sure everything is working. Of course, until you do that, you'll need to load it manually every time you boot. By the way, that Gentoo Wiki article assumes Baselayout-1, whereas SL uses Baselayout-2/OpenRC, so, to load the module automatically at boot, you would need to add it to the file /etc/conf.d/modules rather than the file /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 stated in the article.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Next

Return to Networking and Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron