PPPOE doesn't work in Sabayon 5.5 Gnome

Issues Related to Networking (Wired and Wireless)

Moderator: Moderators

PPPOE doesn't work in Sabayon 5.5 Gnome

Postby adXok » Fri Feb 04, 2011 14:06

Live DVD booting perfect:
Network configuration -> DSL -> PPPOE ->
user:xxxx
pass: xxxx

OK.

Firefox - no connection!

Puppy Linux 5.2 booting like a charm:
Network Connection - PPPOE - user and pass - START

Firefox: voila! There it is.

Question: what is wrong with Sabayon and its pppoe?
adXok
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 17:46

Re: PPPOE doesn't work in Sabayon 5.5 Gnome

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Fri Feb 04, 2011 17:54

A search using the SL Forums Search facility threw up the following thread: PPPoE won't work [Solved]. See if that works.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7978
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: PPPOE doesn't work in Sabayon 5.5 Gnome

Postby adXok » Fri Feb 04, 2011 22:54

I had seen that thread. And no, it doesn't help.


Adding my username and pass into the dsl -> pppoe settings and giving it a tick on connect automatically seem to do nothing at all.

So I cannot risk to install Sabayon without being able to setup the network connection to work first with the Live DVD.

Hi,

i just downloaded sabayon 5.0 gnome, and i am having problems with INTERNET experience.
Please have in mind that i don't tend to use terminal.

i did a quick search on the forum and i see people are having network problems with 5.0, but i am not sure if this is the same issue.

I did few tests to narrow the problem:

first test
1) inserted sabayon 4.2gnome x86 32bit, and booted with live session, and used NetworkManager Applet to input my username and password for my adsl connection; result= everything works OK

second test
2) inserted sabayon 5.0gnome x86 32bit, and booted with live session, and used NetworkManager Applet to input my username and password for my adsl connection; result= regular surfing works ok, but internet services such as gmail, meebo.com...etc, wont to work.


Just to be sure i repeated those tests few times


Evidently the problem wasn't there in v4.2.
Guys, the nightmare of one to call himself a developer is ruin something that a have been working!
Please be careful.
adXok
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 17:46

Re: PPPOE doesn't work in Sabayon 5.5 Gnome

Postby amitvn » Mon May 09, 2011 8:42

if it doesn't work then you might give a try to rpppoe
in my case also dsl connection fails most of time but i installed rpppoe and works like charm :D
Love Sabayon <3
amitvn
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 10:50
Location: Mumbai,India

Re: PPPOE doesn't work in Sabayon 5.5 Gnome

Postby albfneto » Mon May 09, 2011 17:29

you may try to configure the net using the command:

Code: Select all
sudo net-setup  OR
sudo net-config
ALBERTO FEDERMAN NETO
albfneto
albfneto@fcfrp.usp.br
Favorite Distros: Sabayon, Gentoo, Mageia and OpenSUSE
User avatar
albfneto
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1689
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:15
Location: Ribeirão Preto City, São Paulo State, Brazil


Return to Networking and Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest