Sabayon on asus x52f-x3

Installer Issues via Installer -- Not for global upgrades or upgrading individual packages -- ONLY ISSUES WITH INSTALLATION OF THE OS -- Can't get Sabayon installed, than post here, otherwise use correct forums

Moderator: Moderators

Sabayon on asus x52f-x3

Postby ihavenoidea » Sat Nov 27, 2010 0:09

I have a new asus 52fx-x3 laptop and im trying to install sabayon on it, however i cant boot into the live-cd environment. The sabayon logo comes up and the progress bar completes, but goes black and stops at the end. A similar thing happened to my friends computer (a sony) and it was a graphics problem, could this be my problem too? It has intel gma hd graphics.
ihavenoidea
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 4:23

Re: Sabayon on asus x52f-x3

Postby alonsoty » Sat Nov 27, 2010 11:59

you have also try to pass some parameter [F5 at boot] in order to force a different video support...

http://wiki.sabayonlinux.org/index.php? ... c_Hardware

bye
alonsoty
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 20:39
Location: Marchesonia - Italy

Re: Sabayon on asus x52f-x3

Postby ihavenoidea » Sun Nov 28, 2010 0:33

so what boot parameters do i need to insert for my computer? i found this page for intel gma graphics if that helps http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/Intel_GMA
ihavenoidea
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 4:23

Re: Sabayon on asus x52f-x3

Postby alonsoty » Sun Nov 28, 2010 2:44

First of all I would control the checksum (MD5) of the ISO you downloaded.
Assuming everything is OK you can proceed as follows:

Hit F5 at boot and insert:
Code: Select all
sabayon xdriver=vesa

or (assuming your native resolutios is 1366x768)
Code: Select all
sabayon xdriver=vesa opengl=xorg-x11 res=1366x768

Try also with:
Code: Select all
sabayon xdriver=vesa vga=771 acpi=off

If you start regularly Sabayon Live, your issue is probably due to an unrecognized hardware and I believe (but am not sure) you need the [xf86-video-intel] driver for your hardware.

The page you linked contains a guide to configure the kernel in order to use the intel driver module... (should all already in place) :wink:

--- EDIT
I see KMS issue this from your link... so try also:
Code: Select all
sabayon nomodeset
alonsoty
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 20:39
Location: Marchesonia - Italy


Return to Installer Issues - Calamares **Not for Package Manager Stuff**

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests