Installing RAID1 onto MSI H55M-E33 motherboard?

Installer Issues via Installer -- Not for global upgrades or upgrading individual packages -- ONLY ISSUES WITH INSTALLATION OF THE OS -- Can't get Sabayon installed, than post here, otherwise use correct forums

Moderator: Moderators

Installing RAID1 onto MSI H55M-E33 motherboard?

Postby NotExcessive » Fri Sep 17, 2010 4:32

I'm trying to get the 64-bit Gnome version of 5.3 onto an MSI H55M-E33 motherboard (i7 processor, 8GB RAM, 2x1.5TB Seagate SATA drives) using RAID 1.

Whenever I try the installer, it stops with an error message stating that sdb has BIOS RAID metadata on it so it'll just get ignored. Try as I might, I can't get rid of this. If I disable the SATA controller on the motherboard then the error goes away, but so does sdb, so that's not a solution.

I've started the live DVD with the dodmraid kernel option.

I initially thought that the onboard SATA controller would do the RAID work, but after doing an initial install I found only sda had anything on it, so it's obvious I'm going to have to go the fake RAID route on this one.

Does anyone know how to nuke sdb so it gets included by the installer?
NotExcessive
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 7:26

Re: Installing RAID1 onto MSI H55M-E33 motherboard?

Postby alonsoty » Sat Sep 18, 2010 14:31

I think it would be smart first install on one drive and then migrate to a RAID1 set ...

But I do not recommend to use the FakeRaid method!
The hardware Raid controller (Fakeraid SATA or IDE) built on motherbard are a poor version of software RAID LVM, IMHO.
The performances are almost always low and not comparable to those of a "real" dedicated RAID hardware controller (SCSI or SAS).
And last usually needed (but not really true) only when Redmond and Linux OSes shared over the Raid Volume.

some lectures:
https://raid.wiki.kernel.org/index.php/Linux_Raid
https://ata.wiki.kernel.org/index.php/SATA_RAID_FAQ

So if you use only Linux OS, I advise you to disable the raid from bios and use software RAID with kernel device mapper...
I think the Raid software for Redmond OSes is only supported on Windows Server family (but not shure).

First create two raid partitions (one for each HDD) and then enable the RAID set in mode 1.
mdadm --create /dev/md0 --level=mirror --raid-devices=2 /dev/sda1 /dev/sdb1

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mdadm

Bye
alonsoty
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 20:39
Location: Marchesonia - Italy

Re: Installing RAID1 onto MSI H55M-E33 motherboard?

Postby alonsoty » Sat Sep 18, 2010 14:56

Sorry I did not understand ...
if you just want to remove metadata from sdb try to boot the LiveDVD with the parameter: nodmraid, then rewrite the partition table.

Or
I know that there is an option: dmraid-rE
but do not know all the implications!

Or
Maybe the volume isn't mounted and then the command: dmraid-ay, should resolve.

Bye
alonsoty
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 20:39
Location: Marchesonia - Italy

Re: Installing RAID1 onto MSI H55M-E33 motherboard?

Postby alonsoty » Tue Oct 05, 2010 0:33

:?: have you finally solved?
alonsoty
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 20:39
Location: Marchesonia - Italy

Re: Installing RAID1 onto MSI H55M-E33 motherboard?

Postby NotExcessive » Tue Oct 05, 2010 0:57

I did, but by taking an alternate route: I gave up using the Sabayon installer and just installed a full Gentoo system instead. No matter what I did with Sabayon, I couldn't get it to work with this motherboard and RAID, and I'd run out of time.
NotExcessive
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 7:26

Re: Installing RAID1 onto MSI H55M-E33 motherboard?

Postby alonsoty » Tue Oct 05, 2010 1:45

Okay, so good hacking with Gentoo ... :)

Bye
alonsoty
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 20:39
Location: Marchesonia - Italy

Re: Installing RAID1 onto MSI H55M-E33 motherboard?

Postby locemar » Sun Oct 10, 2010 3:58

i have the same problem with this verison and resolve using 5.1 version ;)
locemar
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 18:11


Return to Installer Issues - Calamares **Not for Package Manager Stuff**

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron