Static Networking Configuratioon

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

Static Networking Configuratioon

Postby tabrown72 » Thu Nov 09, 2006 13:52

I would like to acess the internet through Sabayon through a wireless network (belkin wireless router) to my wifes Dell XP box.

I am currently using PCLinuxOS to acess this connection (dual boot) using the Mandake networking configuration tools to set this up.

my laptop settings are as follows

IP- 192.168.2.3
DNS- 192.168.2.2
Gateway-192.168.2.3

Dell XP (host)

IP- 192.168.2.2
DNS-192.168.2.2
Gateway- 255.255.255.0

Is there a simular means to set this up under Sabayon? If not where and how can I do this manually?

Last but not least have you considered integrating any of the Mandarke tools into Sabayon as they greatly assist any asdmin tasks?

Thank you for any assistance you can provide.
tabrown72
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 18:55
Location: Michigan, U.S.A

Postby wolfden » Thu Nov 09, 2006 16:17

Please use the Search located at the top of the forum and look at the Howto/Tutorials section

Your Howto
http://www.sabayonlinux.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1487
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Postby lxnay » Thu Nov 09, 2006 20:04

on SabayonLinux 3.2 this will work out of the box.
Just configure manually the network on the installer and it will work forever.
Image
Join us on IRC (chat.freenode.net #sabayon or WebChat)
Submit bugs to our Bug Tracker
Follow me on Twitter
Add me on Facebook
Add me on Google+
lxnay
Land Owner
 
Posts: 3595
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 23:16
Location: Italy

Postby donpicoro » Mon Nov 20, 2006 5:10

lxnay wrote:on SabayonLinux 3.2 this will work out of the box.
Just configure manually the network on the installer and it will work forever.


I had to reinstall my machine for a very rare error with the 3.1 x86_64 DVD and the second time the static ip work out from the installer, the only strange thing is that everytime I boot I must rewrite the /etc/resolv.conf file which boots empty.

That works for my network at work but at home I have a ADSL connection (dynamic IP) and I just can't get it working. I use the pppoe-* stuff to setup it and it connects, the ifconfig show me a ppp setup but the browser simply don't work neither emerge... and I checked out the /etc/resolv.conf file and it actually changes (the nameserver are provided by the server).

Any ideas about how can I deal with my two networks?

And speaking about the devil... at work I use one connection with routes for an IP 192.168.9.* address but sometimes it fails and i have to use a router with ip 192.168.1.* . It means I must change my eth0 ip and my router configuration. Is there a way I can setup the two static ip on my machine working at the same time and have both routers configured, one default and one for "emergency"?

I work on a laptop, so that's why I move my machine that much.
donpicoro
Young Hen
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 2:02
Location: Colombia

Postby lxnay » Mon Nov 20, 2006 8:16

just open /etc/conf.d/net and add:
Code: Select all
dns_servers="<IP DNS server 1> <IP DNS server 2>"


example:
Code: Select all
dns_servers="195.130.224.18 195.130.225.129"
Image
Join us on IRC (chat.freenode.net #sabayon or WebChat)
Submit bugs to our Bug Tracker
Follow me on Twitter
Add me on Facebook
Add me on Google+
lxnay
Land Owner
 
Posts: 3595
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 23:16
Location: Italy


Return to Sabayon Linux General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron