Samba configuration issue? [Solved]

Issues Related to Networking (Wired and Wireless)

Moderator: Moderators

Samba configuration issue? [Solved]

Postby LoneWolf_53 » Mon Aug 23, 2010 3:08

So now I'm in the midst of attempting to set up my home network to get Sabayon KDE to play nice with the two Windows PC's and I've hit another snag.

I'm sure you pro's will get a laugh but I'm at a loss now as I can't figure out how to get the smb.conf file edited to make the workgroup name match the home network.

I went to settings>system settings>advanced and I see the samba icon there. When I click on it I see the place where I need to make the change but it is grayed out and won't allow me to change anything. I assume because I'm logged in as user.

I then figured I'd try the terminal approach which is where I get perplexed. You see if I open the terminal as user and enter "kwrite /etc/samba/smb.conf I get to the file and editor with no problem however it won't allow me to save the changes due to permissions.

I then figured no problem so I entered "su kwrite /etc/samba/smb.conf" and with that command it proceeds to tell me that kwrite has crashed??????????

Why would it work as user and crash as super user?

What's my next move now please?
Last edited by LoneWolf_53 on Mon Aug 23, 2010 17:01, edited 1 time in total.
DFI LP UT-X58_T3eH8, Intel i7 920 @ 3.62Ghz, OCZ Vendetta 2 HSF, 6GB PC3-15000 OCZ Reaper (8-8-8-28), OCZ 500W PSU, GeForce 9800GTX, Seagate 500GB SATA2, LG DVD/RW SATA, Fujitsu floppy, Bernstein 7.1 Audio, Samsung E2320 Monitor, Logitech Keyboard/Mouse
LoneWolf_53
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 7:01
Location: Kelowna, BC

Re: Samba configuration issue?

Postby joeoden » Mon Aug 23, 2010 3:56

In a normal terminal type
Code: Select all
kdesu kwrite /path/to/your/filename
(you will be prompted to enter your password) use the file menu to navigate to and open your file
or using the GUI
open dolphin, locate the file you want to edit, right click on it select Open With... then in the Open With window that appears type kdesu kwrite click OK (you will be prompted to enter your password)
or the way you should learn
open a normal terminal and type
Code: Select all
su
(you will be prompted to enter your password)
nano -w /path/to/your/filename
edit the file close the file with keyboard pressing the Ctrl and x keys then press the y and the Enter key
Desktop ASUS M2N-MX SE Plus, AMD 64 X2 Dual Core 5200, 4 Gb RAM, GeForce 9500 1GB
Notebook HP CQ61-311AX, AMD CPU M320, 4 Gb RAM, Radeon HD 4300 512 MB
Wireless AR9285, Audio ATI SBx00 (IDT 92hd75B2x5)
Some mistakes are too much fun to only make once!
joeoden
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 10:35
Location: Back in the 'swamp land' Moe, Australia 38°10′20″S 146°16′04″E

Re: Samba configuration issue?

Postby LoneWolf_53 » Mon Aug 23, 2010 7:34

Many thanks joeoden that was what I needed to do.

Do you have any recommendations as to what it might be wise for me to focus on in order to get a better grasp on the commands and procedures?

I need some education in that department and it seems to me that most of the time people just assume that knowing commands is a given.

I know just enough to break stuff. :lol:
DFI LP UT-X58_T3eH8, Intel i7 920 @ 3.62Ghz, OCZ Vendetta 2 HSF, 6GB PC3-15000 OCZ Reaper (8-8-8-28), OCZ 500W PSU, GeForce 9800GTX, Seagate 500GB SATA2, LG DVD/RW SATA, Fujitsu floppy, Bernstein 7.1 Audio, Samsung E2320 Monitor, Logitech Keyboard/Mouse
LoneWolf_53
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 7:01
Location: Kelowna, BC

Re: Samba configuration issue?

Postby joeoden » Mon Aug 23, 2010 12:01

First off you will need a lot of spare time and be prepared to do a lots of reading
Do a google search for linux tutorial try a few of them and try to complete one of them

Create a extra partition and install another sabayon, this will mean that you have 2 of the same operating system on the one machine but at least you can boot to the other when you brake one (notice I said when and not if)
Learn to backup your partitions, backup your important data and have backups of your backups
Even have a backup compter

Try to install gentoo http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/
Have a go at http://trac.cross-lfs.org/

If all of the above is to much then at least start reading http://wiki.sabayon.org/index.php?title=Main_Page
There is a lot of very good information in viewforum.php?f=86
Add to firefox viewtopic.php?f=57&t=8536 makes it easier to search the forum
You will learn by trial and error (that's fun part for me and I'm still learning)

Most importantly when your topics are solved viewtopic.php?f=49&t=17059&start=0
Create a new Topic instead of asking another question like you did in your thank you reply (by the way glad to help)
joeoden
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 10:35
Location: Back in the 'swamp land' Moe, Australia 38°10′20″S 146°16′04″E

Re: Samba configuration issue? [Solved]

Postby LoneWolf_53 » Mon Aug 23, 2010 17:02

Advice duly noted.

Thanks again.
DFI LP UT-X58_T3eH8, Intel i7 920 @ 3.62Ghz, OCZ Vendetta 2 HSF, 6GB PC3-15000 OCZ Reaper (8-8-8-28), OCZ 500W PSU, GeForce 9800GTX, Seagate 500GB SATA2, LG DVD/RW SATA, Fujitsu floppy, Bernstein 7.1 Audio, Samsung E2320 Monitor, Logitech Keyboard/Mouse
LoneWolf_53
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 7:01
Location: Kelowna, BC

Re: Samba configuration issue? [Solved]

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Fri Aug 27, 2010 14:18

LoneWolf_53 wrote:I then figured no problem so I entered "su kwrite /etc/samba/smb.conf" and with that command it proceeds to tell me that kwrite has crashed?

Why would it work as user and crash as super user?

You can use:

Code: Select all
$ kdesu kwrite /etc/samba/smb.conf

kdesu being the KDE command to launch a command as root user from a user Konsole or from KRunner (Alt-F2).

A handy text editor to learn how to use is nano, as it can be used from the command line if you've borked the GUI for whatever reason:

Code: Select all
$ nano

or, as root user,:

Code: Select all
# nano

If you run it you'll see that it displays a Help line at the bottom of the console, listing some of the commands. You can find tutorials for nano on the Web.

Worth remembering for your 'tool kit' of Linux commands.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7997
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Samba configuration issue? [Solved]

Postby LoneWolf_53 » Fri Aug 27, 2010 15:58

Thanks Fitzcarraldo.

I'm going to attempt to learn the proper methods so have been using the nano way.

Speaking of editing I'm sure this sounds dumb to experts but what's the difference between typing commands into the "drop down terminal" of Yakuake and using Terminal Konsole?

Seems the same to me except for the drop down aspect.
DFI LP UT-X58_T3eH8, Intel i7 920 @ 3.62Ghz, OCZ Vendetta 2 HSF, 6GB PC3-15000 OCZ Reaper (8-8-8-28), OCZ 500W PSU, GeForce 9800GTX, Seagate 500GB SATA2, LG DVD/RW SATA, Fujitsu floppy, Bernstein 7.1 Audio, Samsung E2320 Monitor, Logitech Keyboard/Mouse
LoneWolf_53
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 7:01
Location: Kelowna, BC

Re: Samba configuration issue? [Solved]

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Fri Aug 27, 2010 18:05

No difference, really. They're just two different KDE applications to give you a console in a GUI window. Yakuake is great, isn't it? I tend to use it far more than Konsole (or Terminal, the GNOME equivalent to Konsole). The GNOME equivalent of Yakuake is called Guake, BTW.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7997
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Samba configuration issue? [Solved]

Postby LoneWolf_53 » Sat Aug 28, 2010 1:33

That confirms what I suspected then and yes I think Yakuake is great as it's there with the press of a keystroke plus you can have multiple instances of it though I haven't as yet figured out what I would need that feature for but I'm sure it'll become clearer in time. :)
DFI LP UT-X58_T3eH8, Intel i7 920 @ 3.62Ghz, OCZ Vendetta 2 HSF, 6GB PC3-15000 OCZ Reaper (8-8-8-28), OCZ 500W PSU, GeForce 9800GTX, Seagate 500GB SATA2, LG DVD/RW SATA, Fujitsu floppy, Bernstein 7.1 Audio, Samsung E2320 Monitor, Logitech Keyboard/Mouse
LoneWolf_53
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 7:01
Location: Kelowna, BC


Return to Networking and Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests