Can ping but can't use Internet otherwise

Issues Related to Networking (Wired and Wireless)

Moderator: Moderators

Can ping but can't use Internet otherwise

Postby stupac » Mon Jul 12, 2010 21:35

Just installed Sabayon for the first time on a Dell inspiron laptop. Anyways, I can't seem to get online. Firefox will not connect nor Entropy. I can ping out and I seem to be getting good dhcp information with both the ethernet and wireless. All my other systems are working great on the network. Here's some info:

# ifconfig
Code: Select all
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:19:b9:6b:f9:79 
          inet addr:192.168.1.139  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::219:b9ff:fe6b:f979/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:9408 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:376 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:1494771 (1.4 MiB)  TX bytes:33294 (32.5 KiB)
          Interrupt:21

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:48 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:48 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:2480 (2.4 KiB)  TX bytes:2480 (2.4 KiB)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:19:7e:60:e0:40 
          inet addr:192.168.1.151  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::219:7eff:fe60:e040/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:5494 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:18 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:728053 (710.9 KiB)  TX bytes:3112 (3.0 KiB)


# netstat -nr
Code: Select all
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags   MSS Window  irtt Iface
192.168.1.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U         0 0          0 eth0
192.168.1.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U         0 0          0 wlan0
127.0.0.0       127.0.0.1       255.0.0.0       UG        0 0          0 lo
0.0.0.0         192.168.1.254   0.0.0.0         UG        0 0          0 eth0


# ping www.google.com
Code: Select all
PING www.l.google.com (66.102.7.99) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from lax04s01-in-f99.1e100.net (66.102.7.99): icmp_seq=1 ttl=56 time=20.7 ms
64 bytes from lax04s01-in-f99.1e100.net (66.102.7.99): icmp_seq=2 ttl=56 time=19.6 ms
64 bytes from lax04s01-in-f99.1e100.net (66.102.7.99): icmp_seq=3 ttl=56 time=21.0 ms
64 bytes from lax04s01-in-f99.1e100.net (66.102.7.99): icmp_seq=4 ttl=56 time=20.4 ms

--- www.l.google.com ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3005ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 19.642/20.476/21.024/0.524 ms


Let me know if i can provide anything else. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
stupac
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 21:19


Re: Can ping but can't use Internet otherwise

Postby stupac » Sat Jul 17, 2010 23:23

Ok, I did the about:config in firefox and got that working so it is definitely ipv6 that is the issue. But I still can't get the repositories updated, I get this:

Code: Select all
Repository sabayonlinux.org hasn't been downloaded yet.
Repository sabayonlinux.org is not available. Cannot validate.


Then when I try to update the repositories it gives me the same thing this guy got:

viewtopic.php?f=76&t=19545

I then tried what you said in the last post on the page:
The problem is not SL; from what you have posted it is probable that your router and/or your ISP do not support IPv6 (which is why Firefox on your PC only works when you stop it from trying to use IPv6). Who is your ISP, and what manufacturer and model is your router? Look in your router's user manual and/or google your router model number and "IPv6" to check if it supports IPv6. You need to turn off IPv6 support in the kernel or try some other method of disabling IPv6 support. Try the following to see if it works (you'll need to restart after you make the edit): Disable IPv6 in Gentoo. If you can't find that file, look in /etc/modprobe.d/aliases.conf instead.


I edited the aliases.conf and uncommented the line as suggested, i've rebooted but the same problem still occurs. I've used many *buntu, slackware, arch, puppy, suse, et al on this same network and router and never had problems. It must be IPV6 support in the kernel, but I don't know how to disable it.

Any other ideas? Thanks for the help so far! BTW, love the name; Werner Hurzog and Klaus Kinski are a classic pair, I love My Best Fiend and Aguirre, the Wrath of God.
stupac
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 21:19

Re: Can ping but can't use Internet otherwise

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Mon Jul 19, 2010 12:12

Try un-commenting alias net-pf-10 off in /etc/modprobe.d/aliases.conf

Code: Select all
# Aliases to tell insmod/modprobe which modules to use

# Uncomment the network protocols you don't want loaded:
# alias net-pf-1 off            # Unix
# alias net-pf-2 off            # IPv4
# alias net-pf-3 off            # Amateur Radio AX.25
# alias net-pf-4 off            # IPX
# alias net-pf-5 off            # DDP / appletalk
# alias net-pf-6 off            # Amateur Radio NET/ROM
# alias net-pf-9 off            # X.25
# alias net-pf-10 off           # IPv6
# alias net-pf-11 off           # ROSE / Amateur Radio X.25 PLP
# alias net-pf-19 off           # Acorn Econet

alias char-major-10-175 agpgart
alias char-major-10-200 tun
alias char-major-81     bttv
alias char-major-108    ppp_generic
alias /dev/ppp          ppp_generic
alias tty-ldisc-3       ppp_async
alias tty-ldisc-14      ppp_synctty
alias ppp-compress-21   bsd_comp
alias ppp-compress-24   ppp_deflate
alias ppp-compress-26   ppp_deflate

# Crypto modules (see http://www.kerneli.org/)
alias loop-xfer-gen-0   loop_gen
alias loop-xfer-3       loop_fish2
alias loop-xfer-gen-10  loop_gen
alias cipher-2          des
alias cipher-3          fish2
alias cipher-4          blowfish
alias cipher-6          idea
alias cipher-7          serp6f
alias cipher-8          mars6
alias cipher-11         rc62
alias cipher-15         dfc2
alias cipher-16         rijndael
alias cipher-17         rc5

# Support for i2c and lm_sensors
alias char-major-89    i2c-dev
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7984
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Can ping but can't use Internet otherwise

Postby stupac » Tue Jul 20, 2010 0:10

I've done that, triple checked, alias net-pf-10 off is uncommented in /etc/modprobe.d/aliases.conf

I'm still getting the issue though. So I'm not sure what is going on.
stupac
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 21:19

Re: Can ping but can't use Internet otherwise

Postby XDrive » Fri Jul 23, 2010 4:24

I've also got this issue... It definitely is IPv6 related. With a brand new install I basically can't do much of anything when it comes to using entropy.
Disabling the ipv6 module doesn't help.
I managed to do an emerge sync, so some things kind of work, but even wget fails and will return "failed: Temporary failure in name resolution." for anything unless I pass it --inet4-only, or emerge/recompile it without the ipv6 support.

equo update nets me:
Code: Select all
Castle-Bravo ~ # equo update
>>      [sabayon.org:1026] Successfully connected to host
>>      [sabayon.org:1026] Successfully disconnected from host
>>  @@ Repositories synchronization ...
>>   #  (1/1) Sabayon Linux Official Repository
>>   # Database URL: http://pkg.sabayon.org/standard/sabayonlinux.org/database/amd64/5
>>   # Database local path: /var/lib/entropy/client/database/amd64/sabayonlinux.org/standard/amd64/5
>>   # Database EAPI: 3
>>      [sabayon.org:1026] Successfully connected to host
>>      [sabayon.org:1026] Successfully disconnected from host
>>      [sabayon.org:1026] Successfully connected to host
>>   # EAPI3 Service: skipping differential sync (threshold: 4011/600)
>>      [sabayon.org:1026] Successfully disconnected from host
>>      Downloading repository database ...
>>      Attention: database does not exist online.


Thanks to portage still working I was able to build tcpdump and clearly:
Code: Select all
07:01:36.361419 IP 172.16.1.37.38938 > 172.16.0.1.domain: 24494+ A? pkg.sabayon.org. (33)
07:01:36.361428 IP 172.16.1.37.38938 > 172.16.0.1.domain: 39600+ AAAA? pkg.sabayon.org. (33)
07:01:36.389080 IP 172.16.0.1.domain > 172.16.1.37.38938: 24494- 1/0/0 A 78.46.57.177 (49)
07:01:36.397551 IP 172.16.0.1.domain > 172.16.1.37.38938: 39600- 0/0/0 (33)
07:01:36.397674 IP 172.16.1.37.48690 > 172.16.0.1.domain: 24494+ A? pkg.sabayon.org. (33)
07:01:36.397701 IP 172.16.1.37.48690 > 172.16.0.1.domain: 39600+ AAAA? pkg.sabayon.org. (33)
07:01:36.430557 IP 172.16.0.1.domain > 172.16.1.37.48690: 24494- 1/0/0 A 78.46.57.177 (49)
07:01:36.436994 IP 172.16.0.1.domain > 172.16.1.37.48690: 39600- 0/0/0 (33)
07:01:36.437145 IP 172.16.1.37.54952 > 172.16.0.1.domain: 32811+ A? pkg.sabayon.org.gateway.2wire.net. (51)
07:01:36.437173 IP 172.16.1.37.54952 > 172.16.0.1.domain: 38604+ AAAA? pkg.sabayon.org.gateway.2wire.net. (51)
07:01:36.448563 IP 172.16.0.1.domain > 172.16.1.37.54952: 32811 Refused*- 0/0/0 (512)
07:01:36.450774 IP 172.16.0.1.domain > 172.16.1.37.54952: 38604 Refused*- 0/0/0 (512)
07:01:36.451782 IP 172.16.1.37.47057 > 172.16.0.1.domain: 2415+ A? sabayon.org. (29)

my ancient DSL router isn't exactly ipv6 friendly.


That said, I went into /etc/entropy/repositories.conf and changed:
Code: Select all
repository|sabayonlinux.org|Sabayon Linux Official Repository|http://pkg.sabayon.org|http://pkg.sabayon.org,sabayon.org

to:
Code: Select all
repository|sabayonlinux.org|Sabayon Linux Official Repository|http://134.160.38.1/pub/pub/Linux/sabayon/entropy|http://134.160.38.1/pub/pub/Linux/sabayon/entropy,sabayon.org


which is the ip address/url for the riksun.riken.go.jp mirror.

That actually works, and will connect and download and update, unfortunately it's not a real fix, it's still next to impossible after that to connect to a mirror to get packages.

Seeing as it's still day 1 with Sabayon for me, I'm not quite sure how to correctly fix this issue yet.
Despite not having used gentoo for several years either, I think I'm doing alright ;)
Hopefully either I'll get time to come up with a workaround in the next couple of days, or someone more knowledgeable about the inner workings of Sabayon can point us in the correct direction.
XDrive
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 1:58

Re: Can ping but can't use Internet otherwise

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Tue Sep 28, 2010 1:26

Looks like you may have a problem with your router not working correctly with ipv6: Possible IPv6 Issue [Solved].
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7984
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom


Return to Networking and Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron