Sabayon 5.0 Upgrade [Solved]

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
MusicManNick
Baby Hen
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 1:30
Location: USofA
Contact:

Sabayon 5.0 Upgrade [Solved]

Post by MusicManNick » Sun May 23, 2010 19:39

Hello! I am currently running Sabayon 5.0 GNOME amd64. I have downloaded the Sabayon 5.2 GNOME amd64 ISO and would like to know how I would update the Operating System without burning the ISO to a DVD, Since I don't have any. Can anyone help me? I have a 4 GB USB Drive I could use if that helps..
Last edited by MusicManNick on Tue May 25, 2010 0:19, edited 1 time in total.
Image

joeoden
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 477
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 10:35
Location: Back in the 'swamp land' Moe, Australia 38°10′20″S 146°16′04″E

Re: Sabayon 5.0 Upgrade

Post by joeoden » Sun May 23, 2010 23:12

If you have been updating your system (using the default sulfur or equo) then your system should already be up to date

But if you want to do a clean install then to make you USB drive as the install medium install Unetbootin (is in Sulfur)

If you want to save yourself a lot of bandwidth and time because there has been a few hundred package updates since the release of Sabayon Linux 5.2 then download the latest Daily release

ISO images are now copied to the mirrors on a weekly basis (running every Sunday at 5AM, (GMT+1, currently UTC+0200) you can get from here http://na.mirror.garr.it/mirrors/sabayo ... iso/daily/
Desktop ASUS M2N-MX SE Plus, AMD 64 X2 Dual Core 5200, 4 Gb RAM, GeForce 9500 1GB
Notebook HP CQ61-311AX, AMD CPU M320, 4 Gb RAM, Radeon HD 4300 512 MB
Wireless AR9285, Audio ATI SBx00 (IDT 92hd75B2x5)
Some mistakes are too much fun to only make once!

User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8091
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Sabayon 5.0 Upgrade

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Mon May 24, 2010 3:22

joeoden wrote:ISO images are now copied to the mirrors on a weekly basis (running every Sunday at 5AM, (GMT+1, currently UTC+0200)


GMT and UTC are effectively the same (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gmt), so I assume you mean "GMT+2, UTC+2"? (BST is one hour ahead of GMT/UTC, so perhaps you meant "BST+1, UTC+2"?)

joeoden
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 477
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 10:35
Location: Back in the 'swamp land' Moe, Australia 38°10′20″S 146°16′04″E

Re: Sabayon 5.0 Upgrade

Post by joeoden » Mon May 24, 2010 6:31

The info was pasted from a email, that explains why I had to wait an extra hour before I could download the daily images, I just thought it was something to do with daylight saving, I'll keep that in mind next time I post something that refers to the time, thanks :oops:

User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8091
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Sabayon 5.0 Upgrade

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Mon May 24, 2010 13:25

^It's no big deal, of course. You mentioned that you got the information in an e-mail. Was that from an 'official' SL source? If so you might like to relay the correction to them so that it doesn't get repeated or posted on the SL Web site download page or wherever. Thanks.

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: Sabayon 5.0 Upgrade

Post by wolfden » Mon May 24, 2010 23:19

It's from the boss man himself, Fabio, so it's official.

User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8091
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Sabayon 5.0 Upgrade

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Tue May 25, 2010 0:05

Then he'd better correct it. :)

MusicManNick
Baby Hen
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 1:30
Location: USofA
Contact:

Re: Sabayon 5.0 Upgrade

Post by MusicManNick » Tue May 25, 2010 0:10

Well, I got Sabayon 5.2 installed... But Now I'm having another problem with my WiFi. I outlined it a bit more in this thread... viewtopic.php?f=86&t=20731
Image

User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8091
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Sabayon 5.0 Upgrade

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Tue May 25, 2010 0:15

OK. As your original problem in this thread is resolved, please click on the EDIT button of the first post and append "[Solved]" to the Subject. Thanks. Some kind soul(s) will no doubt offer you advice in your new thread about your WiFi problem.

MusicManNick
Baby Hen
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 1:30
Location: USofA
Contact:

Re: Sabayon 5.0 Upgrade

Post by MusicManNick » Tue May 25, 2010 0:20

Fitzcarraldo wrote:OK. As your original problem in this thread is resolved, please click on the EDIT button of the first post and append "[Solved]" to the Subject. Thanks. Some kind soul(s) will no doubt offer you advice in your new thread about your WiFi problem.

OK. Thank You
Image

Post Reply