Problems updating entropy

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Problems updating entropy

Postby Slyder » Wed May 19, 2010 18:23

Hi everyone,

I'm new to linux for the most part, but I generally catch on pretty quick when it comes to technology. I've installed the KDE version of Saybayon and have run into a couple of problems right off the bat:

The first problem is that I cannot update entropy, whenever I try to it lists 2 missing dependencies, I have tried through sulfur and the terminal. Here is what the terminal says when I try to update entropy..

~ # equo install entropy sulfur
>>
>>
>> !!! Please update the following critical packages:
>> # >=sys-apps/entropy-0.99.46.3
>> !!! You should install them as soon as possible
>>
>>
>> @@ Calculating dependencies ...
>> @@ Cannot find needed dependencies:
>> # Not found: net-dns/avahi[mdnsresponder-compat];net-misc/mDNSResponder?
>> # Probably needed by:
>> # [from:sabayonlinux.org] kde-base/kdelibs-4.4.3
>> # Not found: =net-fs/samba-3.0*;>=net-fs/samba-3.4.6[smbclient]?
>> # Probably needed by:
>> # [from:sabayonlinux.org] kde-base/kdebase-kioslaves-4.4.3

I've looked around, but I haven't found a solution that really works for me, any help would be greatly appreciated.

The other problem that I have is that I'm using a 42" hdtv as my monitor, and have it hooked up through hdmi. The problem there is that my (admittedly cheap) hdtv has a LOT of overscan when hooked up through any digital connection (dvi or hdmi) so I cannot see the edges of my desktop. I know how to fix this BUT.. whenever I try to access Ati's Catalyst Control Center to change the resolution from 1920x1080 to 1776x1000 (the workaround that I found for my windoze install) a box pops up that says this -- "To make changes on this page, administrator access is required. Re-launch ATI Catalyst Control Center (super-user) and enter the adminstator(sic) password." Being new to linux, I don't know how to open the program as admin (super-user?) so I can't change my desktop rez, so all I can do is hope I don't minimize anything and use alt-f1 to open the start menu because the taskbar and about 3/4" all around the edges of the screen are missing...

On a side note, I downloaded the installation .iso from a torrent, and I'm always paranoid that a few of the 1000's of packages that I downloaded are going to get corrupted and lead to software glitches (like the dependencies missing)... not sure if that's just me not trusting the torrent format or if that could have actually happened in this case.

Thanks in advance, and I apologize if the solutions to these problems have already been posted somewhere.
Slyder
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 17:28

Re: Problems updating entropy

Postby micia » Wed May 19, 2010 18:38

Hi,
does this work for your problem with entropy?
http://forum.sabayon.org/viewtopic.php?f=76&t=20637

Also, in order to open an application as administrator (or root) you need to use su:
Code: Select all
su

and type in your root password.
You can also use some "frontends" like gksu on Gnome/GTK and kdesu in KDE.
To open the Catalyst control center as root you should run in a console:
Code: Select all
gksu amdcccle

for Gnome/GTK, or
Code: Select all
kdesu amdcccle

for KDE, or
Code: Select all
su
amdcccle

(some 'c' less, some 'c' more, I can't remember for sure :roll: )
Last edited by micia on Wed May 19, 2010 18:48, edited 1 time in total.
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: Problems updating entropy

Postby Slyder » Wed May 19, 2010 18:48

Actually, I ran through the instructions found at:

http://wiki.sabayonlinux.org/index.php? ... t_to_do.3F

and have (seemingly) successfully updated entropy through portage. it's running through a massive update right now (1.2GB or so I think). After I reboot all will hopefully be working.

I had previously tried running through the steps found on viewtopic.php?f=76&t=20637 to no avail.

I still have no clue how to get into CCC with admin privileges to change my defunct desktop resolution though :?:
Slyder
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 17:28

Re: Problems updating entropy

Postby Slyder » Wed May 19, 2010 18:49

oops, didn't see the rest of your post, I'll give that a quick try and see if I can't get into CCC.
Slyder
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 17:28

Re: Problems updating entropy

Postby Slyder » Wed May 19, 2010 18:55

Well, now I can get into CCC, but whenever I hit apply, CCC closes, nothing happens, and the terminal says

~ # amdcccle
Segmentation fault
Slyder
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 17:28

Re: Problems updating entropy

Postby genfool » Wed May 19, 2010 19:04

Hi, many have this same problem right now...not a big deal, if you know how to fix ;)
Think it is because we are in between release cycles and is a big jump from your current 99.38 entropy version to the current 99.46.3
either way, open a root terminal type "su" hit enter give your password and hit enter again.

type "equo update" when finished
equo install equo entropy --no deps

This last command will install entropy with no deps a --relaxed command may work as well, I see no problem with the first command and would like to be corrected if I am wrong...has worked fine for me.

then run equo conf update
At this point, may not be needed, I like to start over with
equo update
equo install equo entropy
you should be good to go with
equo upgrade

remember to run equo conf update when finished

hope this helps.
genfool
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 17:56
Location: Albuquerque, NM

Re: Problems updating entropy

Postby micia » Wed May 19, 2010 19:10

I think that it is the ATI's way of saying that something is not as it should, does the Xorg.log reports any error?
You can post here your:
/var/log/Xorg.0.log

Also ensure that you are currently using the ATI drivers, post here the output of:
Code: Select all
eselect opengl list


And check that your driver matches the current kernel:
Code: Select all
equo query installed --quiet linux-sabayon
equo query installed --quiet ati-drivers
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: Problems updating entropy

Postby genfool » Wed May 19, 2010 20:32

Code: Select all
~ # equo install entropy sulfur
>>
>>
>> !!! Please update the following critical packages:
>> # >=sys-apps/entropy-0.99.46.3
>> !!! You should install them as soon as possible


until this issue is fixed, nobody is going any where ;)
genfool
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 17:56
Location: Albuquerque, NM

Re: Problems updating entropy

Postby genfool » Wed May 19, 2010 20:41

sorry mica
I now see that the op updated through portage....I think the best solution would be get them back to entropy.
equo install portage? genfool smells a fresh install coming.
genfool
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 17:56
Location: Albuquerque, NM

Re: Problems updating entropy

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Wed May 19, 2010 21:33

genfool, the OP wrote that he followed the SL Wiki Entropy article Fresh Install - What to do?, so I have the feeling that he didn't really update via Portage:

Slyder wrote:Actually, I ran through the instructions found at:

http://wiki.sabayonlinux.org/index.php? ... t_to_do.3F

and have (seemingly) successfully updated entropy through portage.

If he followed those instructions he should be all good.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7984
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Next

Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest