Cannot boot with chainloading [Solved]

Installer Issues via Installer -- Not for global upgrades or upgrading individual packages -- ONLY ISSUES WITH INSTALLATION OF THE OS -- Can't get Sabayon installed, than post here, otherwise use correct forums

Moderator: Moderators

Cannot boot with chainloading [Solved]

Postby baskin » Sun Mar 28, 2010 12:31

It is my first post, so hello to all!

I have a multiboot system with several distributions installed. I'm using Opensuse as my primary system and i have installed opensuse's grub on the MBR of my first disk (hd0) or /dev/sda.

I have other distributions installed (like Ubuntu, Arch Linux, Fedora). Every distro has its own grub installed on the first sector of the root partition of every different distro.

I'm booting to the other distros by chainloading entries on the opensuse's grub menu.

For example I have installed Ubuntu on /dev/sdc7 or (hd2,6) and have the following on opensuse's grub:

title Ubuntu
rootnoverify (hd2,6)
chainloader +1


This entry passes the boot to Ubuntu's grub and then the system is booting.

I'm trying to do the same with Sabayon. I have installed Sabayon on /dev/sdc9 and have the following entry on opensuse's grub:

title Sabayon
rootnoverify (hd2,8)
chainloader +1


I have also (during the installation of Sabayon) selected that Sabayon's grub is installed on the first sector of root partition (that means /dev/sdc9).

I cannot boot to Sabayon's grub and i'm getting an "Invalid or unsupported format" error from opensuse's grub.

Any help will be appreciated (i want to test Sabayon).

Thanks
Last edited by baskin on Fri Apr 02, 2010 19:33, edited 1 time in total.
baskin
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 12:19

Re: Cannot boot with chainloading

Postby burgerman » Sun Mar 28, 2010 14:10

Hi baskin,

have same prob.

just downloaded "supergrub" (from here: http://prdownload.berlios.de/supergrub/ ... m_1.30.iso)

with this I can start the sabayon partition now and will look for a solution to boot from harddisk.

(I am not very professional but learning by doing, and maybe someone else knows how solve this)

forum-search with "grub2" shows a lot of hints.

see you, burgerman

P.S. thanks lot to all the people who helped to create such a wonderful distro :D
burgerman
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 13:52

Re: Cannot boot with chainloading

Postby analyticalman » Thu Apr 01, 2010 20:54

I had the same problem, to solve it
I changed my grub 1 entry (grub 1 is on my mbr, Sabayon is on disk 1 partition 1 with Grub2 in the root partition) from this;

title Sabayon
root (hd1,0)
chainloader +1

to this:

title Sabayon
root (hd1,0)
kernel /boot/grub/core.img
savedefault
boot

Now boots as expected. This tutorial solved it for me
http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/grub ... ocId982259
analyticalman
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 20:25
Location: UK

Re: Cannot boot with chainloading

Postby baskin » Fri Apr 02, 2010 13:04

Yes it worked!!!

Thank you!!!!
baskin
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 12:19

Re: Cannot boot with chainloading

Postby analyticalman » Fri Apr 02, 2010 14:13

Cool - Glad to help - please consider marking post "solved" as it may help others
analyticalman
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 20:25
Location: UK

Re: [Solved]:Cannot boot with chainloading

Postby baskin » Fri Apr 02, 2010 19:34

Done! :wink:
baskin
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 12:19

Re: Cannot boot with chainloading [Solved]

Postby PennyRoyal » Sat Apr 10, 2010 5:34

analyticalman ...

You are the bomb! I've been trying to get my fresh SL install to boot since the first day 5.2 was released. I edited my menu.lst as you suggested and wham... loaded up right to my new desktop. Now birds are singing, flowers are a bloom'in and there's a rainbow over my room... Thank you, thank you, thank you...

Penny
Sabayon 14 KDE64
i7 4770K @ 3.5
MSI Z87-GD65 w/CM V8 HSF
16GB Vengeance DDR3 w/GMCEC0 HSF
EVGA GTX670 x2 SLI
240 Neutron GTX SSD
3x2TB SATA
CM HAF 932 w/Corsair 850w
Upstar M280A1 4k 28"


"Teamwork: A lot of people doing what I say!"
PennyRoyal
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 22:23
Location: Houston, Texas USA

Re: Cannot boot with chainloading [Solved]

Postby analyticalman » Tue Apr 20, 2010 20:53

Hey man - glad to help! I just hope Grub 2 gets a bit more sorted you know! At the moment, I cannot have it on my mbr due to a bug where it churns for ever if you try to load up a distro on a different disk. I'm sure it'll be good when its mature but for now it sure is causing some heat!
analyticalman
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 20:25
Location: UK


Return to Installer Issues - Calamares **Not for Package Manager Stuff**

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron