Sabayon Firewall Question [Solved]

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
gewehr
Baby Hen
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 15:41

Sabayon Firewall Question [Solved]

Post by gewehr » Sun Dec 27, 2009 19:25

Hi, i am a impressed by Sabayon 5.1 Linux. :D
I`m using Gnome desktop on my PC and there no such thing visible as FIREWALL... :( I
How can i be sure about security on my OS?
Can anybody help me with this issue, please. I am familiar with Firestarter FIREWALL - any suggestion?
Thank you :)

lxnay
Land Owner
Posts: 3596
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 23:16
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Sabayon Firewall Question

Post by lxnay » Sun Dec 27, 2009 19:54

No need for a firewall, there are no services listening outside your loopback device by default. Leave firewalls to Windows users.
Image
Join us on IRC (chat.freenode.net #sabayon or WebChat)
Submit bugs to our Bug Tracker
Follow me on Twitter
Add me on Facebook
Add me on Google+

gewehr
Baby Hen
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 15:41

Re: Sabayon Firewall Question

Post by gewehr » Sun Dec 27, 2009 20:06

Thank you, lxnay :D
That`s why there are no such application... in Sabayon. GREAT!!!
Thanx again :cheers:

gallienus
Growing Hen
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 23:37

Re: Sabayon Firewall Question

Post by gallienus » Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:56

Also, most modem-routers and wired or wireless routers have some sort of firewall features built right into them. Google your equipment's make and model number just to make sure.

gewehr
Baby Hen
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 15:41

Re: Sabayon Firewall Question

Post by gewehr » Mon Dec 28, 2009 18:07

Thank you, gallienus . :)
But how about using IP tables? :roll:
Thanx again.

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: Sabayon Firewall Question

Post by wolfden » Tue Dec 29, 2009 1:44


gewehr
Baby Hen
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 15:41

Re: Sabayon Firewall Question

Post by gewehr » Tue Dec 29, 2009 10:12

Thank you, wolfden.
Very useful information :D

tman7510
Simple Hen
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 5:51

Re: Sabayon Firewall Question [Solved]

Post by tman7510 » Wed Jan 06, 2010 16:22

Maybe it would be a good idea to have iptables installed by default. That way if a user wants to host a samba or nfs share they will be able to do so without opening those ports to the world. That way the user can limit access to that share at the firewall. This will just add to the user friendliness of sabayon. Obviously any experienced user will just install iptables :D

lxnay
Land Owner
Posts: 3596
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 23:16
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Sabayon Firewall Question [Solved]

Post by lxnay » Wed Jan 06, 2010 16:54

iptables is available.
Image
Join us on IRC (chat.freenode.net #sabayon or WebChat)
Submit bugs to our Bug Tracker
Follow me on Twitter
Add me on Facebook
Add me on Google+

Post Reply