Sabayon Firewall Question [Solved]

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Sabayon Firewall Question [Solved]

Postby gewehr » Sun Dec 27, 2009 19:25

Hi, i am a impressed by Sabayon 5.1 Linux. :D
I`m using Gnome desktop on my PC and there no such thing visible as FIREWALL... :( I
How can i be sure about security on my OS?
Can anybody help me with this issue, please. I am familiar with Firestarter FIREWALL - any suggestion?
Thank you :)
gewehr
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 15:41

Re: Sabayon Firewall Question

Postby lxnay » Sun Dec 27, 2009 19:54

No need for a firewall, there are no services listening outside your loopback device by default. Leave firewalls to Windows users.
Image
Join us on IRC (chat.freenode.net #sabayon or WebChat)
Submit bugs to our Bug Tracker
Follow me on Twitter
Add me on Facebook
Add me on Google+
lxnay
Land Owner
 
Posts: 3596
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 23:16
Location: Italy

Re: Sabayon Firewall Question

Postby gewehr » Sun Dec 27, 2009 20:06

Thank you, lxnay :D
That`s why there are no such application... in Sabayon. GREAT!!!
Thanx again :cheers:
gewehr
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 15:41

Re: Sabayon Firewall Question

Postby gallienus » Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:56

Also, most modem-routers and wired or wireless routers have some sort of firewall features built right into them. Google your equipment's make and model number just to make sure.
gallienus
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 23:37

Re: Sabayon Firewall Question

Postby gewehr » Mon Dec 28, 2009 18:07

Thank you, gallienus . :)
But how about using IP tables? :roll:
Thanx again.
gewehr
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 15:41

Re: Sabayon Firewall Question

Postby wolfden » Tue Dec 29, 2009 1:44

wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Sabayon Firewall Question

Postby gewehr » Tue Dec 29, 2009 10:12

Thank you, wolfden.
Very useful information :D
gewehr
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 15:41

Re: Sabayon Firewall Question [Solved]

Postby tman7510 » Wed Jan 06, 2010 16:22

Maybe it would be a good idea to have iptables installed by default. That way if a user wants to host a samba or nfs share they will be able to do so without opening those ports to the world. That way the user can limit access to that share at the firewall. This will just add to the user friendliness of sabayon. Obviously any experienced user will just install iptables :D
tman7510
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 5:51

Re: Sabayon Firewall Question [Solved]

Postby lxnay » Wed Jan 06, 2010 16:54

iptables is available.
Image
Join us on IRC (chat.freenode.net #sabayon or WebChat)
Submit bugs to our Bug Tracker
Follow me on Twitter
Add me on Facebook
Add me on Google+
lxnay
Land Owner
 
Posts: 3596
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 23:16
Location: Italy


Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests