Why doesn't support widescreens at first try?

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Why doesn't support widescreens at first try?

Postby phoenix_art » Wed Dec 23, 2009 13:36

I just wanted to test sabayon 5 with my desktop machine but after loading from liveDVD when the music started on the screen I couldn't see anything. My widescreen 19" TFT monitor (which native resolution is 1440x900) gone standby mode. Why didn't work it is? I think widescreen TFT monitors with the same resolution than mine are very popular at nowadays. So if someone wish to try sabayon with the same monitor he/she won't be able to do it without some cheats/tricks.
phoenix_art
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 23:52

Re: Why doesn't support widescreens at first try?

Postby Thev00d00 » Wed Dec 23, 2009 18:11

Xorg will setup your monitor depending on the information it gets from your screen via DDC so if the information your monitor gives is incorrect this can happen.

As you mentioned a simple cheat code should sort it out, in this case "noddc".

It works fine for both my 24" WS Dell and my acer aspire one.
Image
Please report Bugs on the Bugzilla, not forum
Please Adopt an Unanswered thread
Website / Blog : v00d00.net
twitter: Follow Me
G+: Circle Me
Thev00d00
Generally Awesome (tm)
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 15:52
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Why doesn't support widescreens at first try?

Postby phoenix_art » Wed Dec 23, 2009 20:14

For example all versions of Ubuntu can detect the correct settings and boot from liveCD.

I have the same problem like it: viewtopic.php?f=86&t=18653&start=0&hilit=cheat

and I have an NVIDIA 7600GT + ASUS VW192s 19" wide TFT but noddc didn't solve my problem.:(
phoenix_art
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 23:52

Re: Why doesn't support widescreens at first try?

Postby Thev00d00 » Wed Dec 23, 2009 21:39

Image
Please report Bugs on the Bugzilla, not forum
Please Adopt an Unanswered thread
Website / Blog : v00d00.net
twitter: Follow Me
G+: Circle Me
Thev00d00
Generally Awesome (tm)
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 15:52
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Why doesn't support widescreens at first try?

Postby phoenix_art » Wed Dec 23, 2009 22:43

Its a very huge problem, because almost every new monitor has widescreen with native resolution like 1440x900. I tried boot parameters - res=1440x900 refresh=75 - but got the no signal message and blank screen. So if a new user like me wish to try sabayon with liveDVD how its work on his/her PC will get the same problem with the same monitor. :roll:
phoenix_art
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 23:52

Re: Why doesn't support widescreens at first try?

Postby Thev00d00 » Wed Dec 23, 2009 22:49

Its not a huge problem at all. 99% of widescreen monitors are working okay.

We need logs if possible.
Image
Please report Bugs on the Bugzilla, not forum
Please Adopt an Unanswered thread
Website / Blog : v00d00.net
twitter: Follow Me
G+: Circle Me
Thev00d00
Generally Awesome (tm)
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 15:52
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Why doesn't support widescreens at first try?

Postby wolfden » Thu Dec 24, 2009 6:42

detects my monitors correctly without using cheat codes

try it with just res=1440x900
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Why doesn't support widescreens at first try?

Postby phoenix_art » Thu Dec 24, 2009 9:19

wolfden wrote:detects my monitors correctly without using cheat codes

try it with just res=1440x900



I tried it but no signal again. :roll: :cry:
phoenix_art
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 23:52

Re: Why doesn't support widescreens at first try?

Postby phoenix_art » Fri Dec 25, 2009 11:12

Noone knows the solution? Its still a big problem... :roll: :cry:
phoenix_art
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 23:52

Re: Why doesn't support widescreens at first try?

Postby PGHammer » Sat Dec 26, 2009 23:02

I have the ACER H233H, aand have widescreen support (in every application, and at boot) right from the jump (both booting from the liveDVD, and after install). This is with the 5.1-GAMING version (which is, unfortunately, not available in x64).

The default resolution for the display is 1920x1080 (NI, of course); however, I don't have enough *graphics card* to run all my games that tall. (Graphics card is HIS AMD HD3450 in 256 MB DDR2 PCIe trim, with the fan.)
PGHammer
Young Hen
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 22:13
Location: Accokeek, MD

Next

Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest