Not able to mount drives, HAL issues

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Not able to mount drives, HAL issues

Postby larsa-std » Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:37

Hello all,

After the latest update of HAL (yesterday I think it was), I am not able to mount any drives automatically (external and Win drives). I am presented with the message from HAL that it is an unknown error and "iscallerprivileged hal".

Reading through some messages from Gentoo/Ubuntu forums it seems like there are more of us with this error. I tried restarting hald as per instruction, but then X are shutdown as well and I end up in terminal mode with some strange keyboard layout, and not able to guess my way through all the letters to start X again.. And restarting hald after every reboot does not sound like a real solution either..

Anyone have any potential solution, or guidelines for how I should proceed to rectify?
Sabayon 5.0
HAL is version 0.5.13-r3, the newest available in Sulfur.. With Emerge I am able to find HAL 0.5.14

Any other info needed? Please let me know!
larsa-std
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:26

Re: Not able to mount drives, HAL issues

Postby lxnay » Sun Jan 03, 2010 15:16

We definitely need to have a look at this
Image
Join us on IRC (chat.freenode.net #sabayon or WebChat)
Submit bugs to our Bug Tracker
Follow me on Twitter
Add me on Facebook
Add me on Google+
lxnay
Land Owner
 
Posts: 3595
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 23:16
Location: Italy


Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests