Sabayon won't boot to desktop..?

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Re: Sabayon won't boot to desktop..?

Postby lazevedo » Wed Nov 25, 2009 4:12

do you know if the kernel has been upgraded in the update?
do you have any offboard video card?
can you please post the output of

Code: Select all
eselect kernel list


and

Code: Select all
uname -a
lazevedo
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 2:00
Location: Fortaleza - CE - Brasil

Re: Sabayon won't boot to desktop..?

Postby SLiguykyle » Wed Nov 25, 2009 8:44

i have this SAME problem on my laptop. please someone help us find an answer :]
a sight to see, an event to be.
SLiguykyle
Young Hen
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 8:14
Location: my room

Re: Sabayon won't boot to desktop..?

Postby Thev00d00 » Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:33

Need logs! All of them.
Image
Please report Bugs on the Bugzilla, not forum
Please Adopt an Unanswered thread
Website / Blog : v00d00.net
twitter: Follow Me
G+: Circle Me
Thev00d00
Generally Awesome (tm)
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 15:52
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Sabayon won't boot to desktop..?

Postby altairz » Wed Nov 25, 2009 12:04

lazevedo wrote:do you know if the kernel has been upgraded in the update?
do you have any offboard video card?
can you please post the output of

Code: Select all
eselect kernel list


and

Code: Select all
uname -a


I don't know if the kernel was updated. I have a "nvidia Geforce 8200M" graphic card, that's all I know about video card on this pc.

Here is the output for "eselect kernel list":
"avilable kernel symlink targets
[1] linux-2.6.31-sabayon "

here is the output for "uname -a":
"linux sabayon 2.6.31-sabayon #1 SMP Fri Sep 25 19:28 UTC 2009 x86_64 AMD Turi on Dual-Core RM-70 Authenticamd GNU/linux"
altairz
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 18:02

Re: Sabayon won't boot to desktop..?

Postby sjieke » Wed Nov 25, 2009 13:20

A week ago I had a similar issue after upgrading.
The upgrade included a new kernel build. The version was the same, but the tag was different...

Booting after the upgrade got me to tty1 instead of to the kdm login screen.
To cause was that the upgrade had modified my grub.conf and had removed my default entry. So everytime I booted it booted the falesafe entry because the other one was removed.

Readding the correct entry in grub.conf solved my problem.
If you need help, post the content of grub.conf
sjieke
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 321
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 10:46
Location: Maldegem, Belgium

Re: Sabayon won't boot to desktop..?

Postby stilgar » Wed Nov 25, 2009 16:46

I have an Asus EEEPc 901hd.
I was running linux mint. But decided to try Sabayon 5
install went well, reboot went well.
I tried to install one program mozilla thunderbird. The program them manager than told me I had 252 updates that I had to install, so with a little trepidation I did it.
When I rebooted after the update it's the gdm that crashes and doesn't start.
just boots you to tty1

I imagine that the two previous posts are probably the same problem.
How do you reset the gdm so that it starts?
stilgar
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 16:38

Re: Sabayon won't boot to desktop..?

Postby stilgar » Wed Nov 25, 2009 16:50

using the liveDVD to repair the install doesn't fix the problem either.

I'm new to Sabayon so I'm still learning how to mount a lvm volume, once I figure that out I'll try to post the log information requested.
stilgar
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 16:38

Re: Sabayon won't boot to desktop..?

Postby lazevedo » Wed Nov 25, 2009 17:05

allright, your output of

Code: Select all
eselect opengl list


should be

Code: Select all
Available OpenGL implementations:
  [1]   ati
  [2]   nvidia *
  [3]   xorg-x11


if not, you should

Code: Select all
eselect openg set 2


so your problem would be solved, I think.
lazevedo
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 2:00
Location: Fortaleza - CE - Brasil

Re: Sabayon won't boot to desktop..?

Postby lazevedo » Wed Nov 25, 2009 17:08

oh, and another thing.. verify that gdm is your default display manager

Code: Select all
vim /etc/conf.d/xdm


you should read
DISPLAYMANAGER="gdm"

if you have anything but that (kdm, tdm..), just modify, save, reboot and tell us what happens next :)
lazevedo
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 2:00
Location: Fortaleza - CE - Brasil

Re: Sabayon won't boot to desktop..?

Postby stilgar » Wed Nov 25, 2009 17:56

ok so here it is.
eselect kernel list = linux-2.6.31-sabayon

uname -a = Linux Stilgar 2.6.31-sabayon #1 SMP Fri Sep 25 19:21:17 UTC 2009 i696 Intel(R) Celron(r) M Processor 900MHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

eselect opengl list = xorg-x11
I asume this would be correct for my machine as I have intel video in the eeepc?

vim /etc/conf.d/xdm = was set to "DISPLAYMANAGER = "gdm""

The error that is displayed at boot up is this.
Failed to start /user/bin/gdm

so....
What was it in the update that killed the gdm?? And how do I get it back now that it is dead?

Thanks for the help.
stilgar
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 16:38

PreviousNext

Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Giorgio Cadorini and 1 guest