How Change resolution gdm(i think)login on SL 5 Gnome amd64

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

How Change resolution gdm(i think)login on SL 5 Gnome amd64

Postby Mank » Mon Nov 16, 2009 21:57

i have monitor Acer X199w and ATI X1600 series ( conect analog), and on GDM login screen see message on screen display out of range ( i think), after login resolution is ok ( set with GNOME Display tool) , but i dont think how to do on GDM login screen ?
first i search and trying ctrl + alt + +/- (not work)
where is configuration of gdm file ?
Mank
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 16:38

Re: How Change resolution gdm(i think)login on SL 5 Gnome amd64

Postby joeoden » Tue Nov 17, 2009 1:52

Mank wrote:GDM login screen see message on screen display out of range

Try changing the framebuffer to what the default is for your monitor, see if this helps
http://wiki.sabayonlinux.org/index.php? ... ramebuffer
Desktop ASUS M2N-MX SE Plus, AMD 64 X2 Dual Core 5200, 4 Gb RAM, GeForce 9500 1GB
Notebook HP CQ61-311AX, AMD CPU M320, 4 Gb RAM, Radeon HD 4300 512 MB
Wireless AR9285, Audio ATI SBx00 (IDT 92hd75B2x5)
Some mistakes are too much fun to only make once!
joeoden
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 10:35
Location: Back in the 'swamp land' Moe, Australia 38°10′20″S 146°16′04″E

Re: How Change resolution gdm(i think)login on SL 5 Gnome amd64

Postby Mank » Tue Nov 17, 2009 10:00

not display out of range , but Input not Suported , sorry my mistake ( i this write from head )

Edit: and normaly see gdm but this see from monitor ,

Edit: vga edittng in grub not works for this
Mank
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 16:38

Re: How Change resolution gdm(i think)login on SL 5 Gnome amd64

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Tue Nov 17, 2009 11:29

See the following post: Re: Unsupported mode. Try with the LiveDVD first to check and, if it works, update your grub.conf accordingly.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: How Change resolution gdm(i think)login on SL 5 Gnome amd64

Postby Mank » Tue Nov 17, 2009 13:23

I´m tring this in Live cd is works as i want,but if editing same way grub. not works still in gdm login screen see Input not supported. . ...
and thx for helping
Mank
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 16:38

Re: How Change resolution gdm(i think)login on SL 5 Gnome amd64

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Tue Nov 17, 2009 14:04

In that case I would suggest having a look at the kernel boot parameters in the /boot/grub/grub.conf file after you have booted SL from the LiveDVD, and then after you have booted SL from the HDD. What are the differences, if any?
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: How Change resolution gdm(i think)login on SL 5 Gnome amd64

Postby Mank » Tue Nov 17, 2009 14:45

My grub conf on hdd
Code: Select all
# grub.conf generated by the Sabayon Linux Installer
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE:  You do not have a /boot partition.  This means that
#          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /, eg.
#          root (hd0,5)
#          kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel real_root=/dev/sda6
#          initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel
### AUTOMAGIC BOOT DEVICE DETECTION -- DO NOT REMOVE ###
#boot=sda
### AUTOMAGIC BOOT DEVICE DETECTION END ###
default=0
timeout=5
splashimage=(hd0,5)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz


title Sabayon Linux (kernel-genkernel-x86_64-2.6.31-sabayon)
   root (hd0,5)
   kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86_64-2.6.31-sabayon  root=/dev/ram0 ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/sda6 dolvm init=/linuxrc splash=silent,theme:sabayon noddc res=1024x768 refresh=60 console=tty1 quiet resume=swap:/dev/sda7 real_resume=/dev/sda7
   initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-2.6.31-sabayon
   savedefault


title Sabayon Linux (kernel-genkernel-x86_64-2.6.31-sabayon) (safe mode)
   root (hd0,5)
   kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86_64-2.6.31-sabayon root=/dev/ram0 ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/sda6 dolvm init=/linuxrc console=tty1 resume=swap:/dev/sda7 real_resume=/dev/sda7 gentoo=nox gentoo=nox acpi=off ide=nodma vga=normal
   initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-2.6.31-sabayon
   savedefault


title Other Operating System - Microsoft Windows
   rootnoverify (hd0,0)
   chainloader +1
   savedefault


and parametr on LiveDVD is
Code: Select all
root=/dev/ram0 initrd=/boot/sabaylon.igz aufs init=linuxrc cdroot looptype=squashfs max_loop=64 loop=/livecd.squashfs splash=silent,theme=sabayon noddc res=1024x768 refresh=60 console=tty1 quiet music --


where is somethink wrong ? i think not, but not works


EDIT : i searching , searching, trying and find solved, i little editiing xorg.conf and helping this for me
add to xorg.conf me reslotuion to Modes and uncomenting it works :)
and usefull help for me was is http:[email protected]/msg42423.html
:)

Pls this mark as RESOLVED :)
Mank
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 16:38


Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron