compiz and sata drive automount on sabayon 5 kde

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

compiz and sata drive automount on sabayon 5 kde

Postby giukas » Tue Oct 20, 2009 11:21

Hi all
tried to look for solutions and this is my last resort....
I had 4.2 installed and everything was fine. I decided to upgrade (fresh install) to 5.oh

PROBLEM 1

Straight away problems with my sata hard drive (movies and music ) which doesn't automount (I mount it manually everytime with 'mount -v /dev/sda1 /mnt/multimedia')

my fstab -l command gives me 'Disk /dev/sda: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00075498

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 121601 976760001 83 Linux


How can I automount it at startup?

PROBLEM 2

I installed compiz from sulfur with emerald too. Worked the first time and now everytime I run it (manually as doesnt start by default ) I get frozen windows with no borders......(got 8500 nvidia)

any help here please?

Sabayon was the easiest distro I used so far (except fiddling around a bit with sound especially for xbmc) and now running few situations......
I appreciate aanny help in advance
giukas
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 11:05

Re: compiz and sata drive automount on sabayon 5 kde

Postby thecata » Tue Oct 20, 2009 11:43

For problem 1:
Make sure that you have a line like:
Code: Select all
/dev/sda1  /mnt/multimedia  ext4   defaults  1 2

in your /etc/fstab file. If the filesystem for your /dev/sda1 is not ext4, replace it with whatever is necessary (ext3, ntfs-3g,...) (I would recommend ntfs-3g instead of ntfs - ntfs will mount it as readonly).

I got nothing on problem 2... probably should have posted those separately. I have a 8500 nvidia myself, but I use KDE 4 instead of compiz...
Catalin Pol
Location: Romania
Linux user since 2004; Sabayon user since 2006
thecata
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 11:40
Location: Romania, Cluj

Re: compiz and sata drive automount on sabayon 5 kde

Postby giukas » Tue Oct 20, 2009 11:51

thx thecata
but everytime I try to add the line to fstab it doesnt allow me to write to it
giukas
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 11:05

Re: compiz and sata drive automount on sabayon 5 kde

Postby joeoden » Tue Oct 20, 2009 13:11

giukas wrote:but everytime I try to add the line to fstab it doesnt allow me to write to it

You have to edit the file as root, in a terminal type
kdesu kwrite /etc/fstab
a window will appear for you to type in your root password
Desktop ASUS M2N-MX SE Plus, AMD 64 X2 Dual Core 5200, 4 Gb RAM, GeForce 9500 1GB
Notebook HP CQ61-311AX, AMD CPU M320, 4 Gb RAM, Radeon HD 4300 512 MB
Wireless AR9285, Audio ATI SBx00 (IDT 92hd75B2x5)
Some mistakes are too much fun to only make once!
joeoden
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 10:35
Location: Back in the 'swamp land' Moe, Australia 38°10′20″S 146°16′04″E

Re: compiz and sata drive automount on sabayon 5 kde

Postby giukas » Tue Oct 20, 2009 14:06

thx for last reply.....will try it when i go home tonight
giukas
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 11:05


Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: thirdeye and 2 guests