[SOLVED]sabmini 3.1 x86_64: server time-out on emerge --sync

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

[SOLVED]sabmini 3.1 x86_64: server time-out on emerge --sync

Postby anagor » Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:45

Hi all, first post here.
As my subject line says, I'm running freshly installed 3.1 mini x86_64.
I'm new to sabayon and the whole gentoo portage packaging, but I did some googling and read some documentation before asking so:

trying to do emerge --sync I get an error about server time out on trying to sync,

The strangest thing is the IP its trying to sync with: 1.0.0.0 - for rsync.gentoo.org
choosing other mirrors also gave me strange IP addresses like: 34.18.something - for rsync.namerica.gentoo.org, when the right IP should be 64.62.252.147.

So emerge probably uses some proxy server or different dns server from the rest of the system.

The question is how do I change this setting if it is exists at all for emerge?

I got my IP from routers DHCP, which is also my DNS server and I can access the internet from the system.

Thanks.
Last edited by anagor on Tue Oct 17, 2006 22:35, edited 1 time in total.
anagor
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:11

Postby cvill64 » Tue Oct 17, 2006 16:24

that's weird indeed, try using mirrorselect and choose other mirrors, do you have a local mirror that you might choose?
cvill64
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2185
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 10:03
Location: Virginia, USA

Postby anagor » Tue Oct 17, 2006 16:38

I've tried using mirrorselect, this is what happens:
1. I'm choosing another mirror

2. I'm running emerge --sync that shows that the IP address changed but to something strange that is not a real IP of that mirror.

3. Then the obvious "time out on server" error happens.

Is it possible that sabayon uses its own internal dns service? If so how do I disable it or change its configuration?
anagor
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:11

Postby cvill64 » Tue Oct 17, 2006 16:52

it doesn't, we use NetworkManager, but if you don't have a static ip, its fine. If you do, go follow the static ip howto on the tutorial forum
cvill64
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2185
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 10:03
Location: Virginia, USA

Postby anagor » Tue Oct 17, 2006 18:35

The strangest thing happened,
I've configured the eth0 manually instead of using DHCP and suddenly the emerge started working...
probably my dhcp configured dns server was sending bad data for name resolving requests.
So now its working and I should be able to start trying this unique distro. :)
anagor
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:11

Postby cvill64 » Tue Oct 17, 2006 21:05

wonderful, append solved to the post please ;P
cvill64
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2185
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 10:03
Location: Virginia, USA


Return to Sabayon Linux General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron