Sabayon 5 and clock/time problem

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
trouxx
Baby Hen
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 11:36

Sabayon 5 and clock/time problem

Post by trouxx » Sat Oct 10, 2009 11:29

Hi

First of all sorry for my bad english

After i install sabayon 5 gnome i have a trouble. Desktop clocks give me 2 hours more than i have. In a console i try with date ... no problem date and time ok but i see in kalarm and widgets 2 hours more ( if i have 12:00 in my clock i see in this widgets/programs 14:00 for example ) . I have debian and win xp in my pc and everything is fine and bios clock ok too

jovcek
Young Hen
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 1:52
Location: Stip, Macedonia

Re: Sabayon 5 and clock/time problem

Post by jovcek » Sat Oct 10, 2009 11:41

You should install ntp and set clock to be synchronized with servers, but ones YOU choose.

User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8094
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Sabayon 5 and clock/time problem

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Sat Oct 10, 2009 12:48

Check /etc/conf.d/hwclock has:

Code: Select all

clock="local"
and

Code: Select all

clock_systohc="YES"
If you're in Spain it's necessary to have the following In the file /etc/timezone:

Code: Select all

Europe/Madrid
and it is also necessary to do:

Code: Select all

# cp /usr/share/zoneinfo/Europe/Madrid /etc/localtime
Look in the directory /usr/share/zoneinfo to see the timezones that are available.

:arrow: Clock, Time, UTC, Dual boot with Windows (it's still applicable even if you don't dual boot with Windows)

Post Reply