Sabayon 5 and clock/time problem

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Sabayon 5 and clock/time problem

Postby trouxx » Sat Oct 10, 2009 11:29

Hi

First of all sorry for my bad english

After i install sabayon 5 gnome i have a trouble. Desktop clocks give me 2 hours more than i have. In a console i try with date ... no problem date and time ok but i see in kalarm and widgets 2 hours more ( if i have 12:00 in my clock i see in this widgets/programs 14:00 for example ) . I have debian and win xp in my pc and everything is fine and bios clock ok too
trouxx
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 11:36

Re: Sabayon 5 and clock/time problem

Postby jovcek » Sat Oct 10, 2009 11:41

You should install ntp and set clock to be synchronized with servers, but ones YOU choose.
jovcek
Young Hen
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 1:52
Location: Stip, Macedonia

Re: Sabayon 5 and clock/time problem

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Sat Oct 10, 2009 12:48

Check /etc/conf.d/hwclock has:

Code: Select all
clock="local"

and
Code: Select all
clock_systohc="YES"


If you're in Spain it's necessary to have the following In the file /etc/timezone:

Code: Select all
Europe/Madrid


and it is also necessary to do:

Code: Select all
# cp /usr/share/zoneinfo/Europe/Madrid /etc/localtime

Look in the directory /usr/share/zoneinfo to see the timezones that are available.

:arrow: Clock, Time, UTC, Dual boot with Windows (it's still applicable even if you don't dual boot with Windows)
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7984
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom


Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest