No sound on firefox

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
adrian78666
Baby Hen
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:11

No sound on firefox

Post by adrian78666 » Mon Jul 20, 2009 6:21

whenever I try to look at a flash video on firefox I get no sound but I can play streams on xbmc just fine I had a similar problem when I was using 2 soundcards on ubuntu ultimate edition and I just disabled the on board sound and everything worked just fine but now the hdmi sound port on my video card it's showing and I don't know how to disable it the output is already selected on my audigy please help I really like this distro sorry I just noticed that the screenshot doesn't show that well it says "HDA ATI HDMI"

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: No sound on firefox

Post by wolfden » Tue Jul 21, 2009 0:42

so it's only with flash you have no sound?

joost
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2715
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: No sound on firefox

Post by joost » Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:36

If its flash try this:

Code: Select all

equo install libflashsupport
Also read here: http://forum.sabayonlinux.org/viewtopic ... dio#p99955
Image
My blog | Twitter | Please support Sabayon: Image

Thev00d00
Generally Awesome (tm)
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 15:52
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: No sound on firefox

Post by Thev00d00 » Tue Jul 21, 2009 14:31

Personally I have to force libflashsupport to use PulseAudio, pulseaudio is very nice however.

add the line

Code: Select all

export FLASH_FORCE_PULSEAUDIO=1
to the /usr/bin/firefox script, before it calls firefox itself
Image
Please report Bugs on the Bugzilla, not forum
Please Adopt an Unanswered thread
Website / Blog : v00d00.net
twitter: Follow Me
G+: Circle Me

onlyoneskwalla
Advanced Hen
Posts: 248
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 0:24
Contact:

Re: No sound on firefox

Post by onlyoneskwalla » Thu Sep 10, 2009 10:00

got my solution to this from the gentoo forums
here http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-59 ... dfa6f4ba30

pulseaudio user ?

then you might need

www-plugins/libflashsupport

and set up pulseaudio correctly:

edit ~/.asoundrc :

Code: Select all

pcm.pulse { 
     type pulse 
 } 
 
 ctl.pulse { 
     type pulse 
 } 
 
 pcm.!default { 
    type pulse 
 } 
 
 ctl.!default { 
     type pulse 
 }
btw this solved the sound problem of flash across konqueror too not just firefox.

64bit sabayon branch5 had the same issue in 4.2kde also

frosch62
Baby Hen
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 14:40

Re: No sound on firefox

Post by frosch62 » Tue Oct 06, 2009 22:42

checked out the linked gentoo forum discussion on this topic and as of today it still doesn't seem solved. i thought i had this same "bug" after a clean install of sabayon 5 kde (x86), but i found a way around it. both amarok and flash are playing after i raised the PCM volume in KMix. it was turned all the way down by default, but doesn't appear to be having problems.

not an expert at all, so i can't help any further if this doesn't work, but it might be worth a try! good luck!

Post Reply