Install sabayon w/o Bootloader

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Install sabayon w/o Bootloader

Postby t0kedo » Mon Jul 06, 2009 13:40

Just wondering how one would go about installing sabayon without the boot loader? I allready have a boot loader and would just like to add it to that one. =)

Thanks in advance,
t0key
t0kedo
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 20:13

Re: Install sabayon w/o Bootloader

Postby WarraWarra » Mon Jul 06, 2009 21:33

The bootloader is done last and could kill the installer before this happens.
or
At the grub boot menu config add the config of one that is working to new one.
or
Backup current grub and then let it install and before reboot use quit to quit the installer instead of reboot and manually edit grub.conf using old one and copying SL info into it.

Then you should be able to run
grub
root (hd0,0)
setup (hd0)
or
grub-install /dev/sda
WarraWarra
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1989
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 21:01
Location: 31.324270, -113.585511

Re: Install sabayon w/o Bootloader

Postby wolfden » Tue Jul 07, 2009 9:06

Just tell it not to install the boot loader and add the SL to your existing Grub file
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Install sabayon w/o Bootloader

Postby danielson » Mon Sep 28, 2009 2:58

I am in a similar situation. I chose to install w/o the boot loader because my sabayon 4.2 is on a separate drive from windows. I wanted to not have a bootloader so i could just select the disk I want to load and go from there. When I select the disk sabayon is on i get to a consol style grub... Where do I go from here? if there is a simple command to type to start up the system that would be great or if there was a way I could just get it to install bootloader on this drive and not on the windows drive that would also be fantastic.
danielson
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 1:30

Re: Install sabayon w/o Bootloader

Postby wolfden » Mon Sep 28, 2009 11:38

what exactly is your command prompt displaying?

Grub will dual boot Windows and Linux, why don't you want grub boot loader?
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Install sabayon w/o Bootloader

Postby danielson » Mon Sep 28, 2009 17:12

screan displays:

grub>

I have no problem with the bootloader I just would rather it be installed on sdb instead of sda. This option I cant seem to find. Durring installation I can only choose to not install bootloader or install on sda.
danielson
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 1:30

Re: Install sabayon w/o Bootloader

Postby mikey0000 » Sun Oct 04, 2009 12:40

I've found the cheap way around that is checking harddrive order in bios(don't know if this actually works) or disconnect your other drives and install sabayon
triple Booting Mac-osx 10.6, Sabayon Linux and Windows 7

2.5 athlon dual core
DFI infinity mobo
2 gb of DDR2 800 G skill ram 3.3.3.12
nvidia 9600gt
housed in a thermaltake taser III case with 7 fans - all turned off lol
mikey0000
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 0:33
Location: Dunedin New Zealand


Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron