why i586?

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

why i586?

Postby nikaya » Fri Oct 06, 2006 12:20

Hello sabayons,
can anybody explain to me why sabayon uses the i586 CFLAG and CHOST.
I know SL have to run on lot of machines and i586 is a relativ advanced architecture (compared with Suse,Fedora or Debian who compiled their packages for i386).

But I own an old computer with a Pentium Celeron (466 MHz) and he is i686.I installed ArchLinux on it.I know nobody who's owning a i586.

Please,I only want to know.
nikaya
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 18:12
Location: Germany

Postby lxnay » Fri Oct 06, 2006 13:17

SuSE is i586 IIRC.
Image
Join us on IRC (chat.freenode.net #sabayon or WebChat)
Submit bugs to our Bug Tracker
Follow me on Twitter
Add me on Facebook
Add me on Google+
lxnay
Land Owner
 
Posts: 3595
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 23:16
Location: Italy

Postby nikaya » Fri Oct 06, 2006 13:35

lxnay wrote:SuSE is i586 IIRC.

Maybe some,most are ihmo i386.Look here:
http://ftp.suse.com/pub/suse/i386/10.1/

Other answers?
nikaya
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 18:12
Location: Germany

Postby lxnay » Fri Oct 06, 2006 16:17

We'll completely switch to i686 someday :)
Image
Join us on IRC (chat.freenode.net #sabayon or WebChat)
Submit bugs to our Bug Tracker
Follow me on Twitter
Add me on Facebook
Add me on Google+
lxnay
Land Owner
 
Posts: 3595
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 23:16
Location: Italy

Postby nikaya » Fri Oct 06, 2006 16:59

lxnay wrote:We'll completely switch to i686 someday :)

Fine. :)
I see,you won't talking about it.
nikaya
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 18:12
Location: Germany

Postby ed » Fri Oct 13, 2006 18:56

I would suggest sticking to i586. Some processors that are allegedly 686 are not entirely and will fail on some 686 code. Examples include the Centrino and some Via C3 processors. Stick to i586 to keep support for them.
ed
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 20:36
Location: UK

Postby lxnay » Fri Oct 13, 2006 21:24

yes ed, you are right. For example, if I compile the kernel for i686, this kernel won't boot on a VIA C3 Nehemiah, even if that is a real i686 CPU.
Image
Join us on IRC (chat.freenode.net #sabayon or WebChat)
Submit bugs to our Bug Tracker
Follow me on Twitter
Add me on Facebook
Add me on Google+
lxnay
Land Owner
 
Posts: 3595
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 23:16
Location: Italy

Postby nikaya » Sat Oct 14, 2006 9:14

lxnay wrote:yes ed, you are right. For example, if I compile the kernel for i686, this kernel won't boot on a VIA C3 Nehemiah, even if that is a real i686 CPU.

Uhh,I didn' know that.Just thought because of even my old celeron 1 is i686,prozessors which need i586 are so antic that installing Sabayon or Gentoo on it is only a pain.

Gentoo is supporting since 2006.1 only i686 for stage2 and stage3.If you need support for a lower arch you must install from stage1.
nikaya
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 18:12
Location: Germany

Postby ed » Sat Oct 14, 2006 13:08

lxnay wrote:if I compile the kernel for i686, this kernel won't boot on a VIA C3 Nehemiah, even if that is a real i686 CPU.

The Nehemiah should actually be fine. That's the later C3 (orinally it was to be called the C4 until they realised that C4 is generally understood to be a high explosive) which is also internally knwon as a C5. The earlier C3's will have the problem. I'll recompile for i686 and see if it boots. Would be interesting to see how far others get with an i686 kernel on C3's and Centrinos.
ed
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 20:36
Location: UK

cflags

Postby maddogmaddog » Sun Nov 05, 2006 0:53

I have tried to change the CFLAGS to
CFLAGS="-march=athlon-xp -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"
with mixed results.

This choice was obtained off a site that stated that this would be a safe choice for my AMD athlon-xp processor.
With some other changes I did first (like the glibc) I got a somewhat stable system. I was using RR4 at the time.

What procedure should one follow to get a system that is compiled for their CPU?
Last edited by maddogmaddog on Tue Dec 19, 2006 20:12, edited 1 time in total.
maddogmaddog
Young Hen
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 1:39

Next

Return to Sabayon Linux General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron