No sound on firefox

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

No sound on firefox

Postby adrian78666 » Mon Jul 20, 2009 6:21

whenever I try to look at a flash video on firefox I get no sound but I can play streams on xbmc just fine I had a similar problem when I was using 2 soundcards on ubuntu ultimate edition and I just disabled the on board sound and everything worked just fine but now the hdmi sound port on my video card it's showing and I don't know how to disable it the output is already selected on my audigy please help I really like this distro sorry I just noticed that the screenshot doesn't show that well it says "HDA ATI HDMI"
adrian78666
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:11

Re: No sound on firefox

Postby wolfden » Tue Jul 21, 2009 0:42

so it's only with flash you have no sound?
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: No sound on firefox

Postby joost » Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:36

If its flash try this:

Code: Select all
equo install libflashsupport


Also read here: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=17382&p=100139&hilit=pulseaudio#p99955
joost
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2566
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands

Re: No sound on firefox

Postby Thev00d00 » Tue Jul 21, 2009 14:31

Personally I have to force libflashsupport to use PulseAudio, pulseaudio is very nice however.

add the line
Code: Select all
export FLASH_FORCE_PULSEAUDIO=1
to the /usr/bin/firefox script, before it calls firefox itself
Image
Please report Bugs on the Bugzilla, not forum
Please Adopt an Unanswered thread
Website / Blog : v00d00.net
twitter: Follow Me
G+: Circle Me
Thev00d00
Generally Awesome (tm)
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 15:52
Location: United Kingdom

Re: No sound on firefox

Postby onlyoneskwalla » Thu Sep 10, 2009 10:00

got my solution to this from the gentoo forums
here http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-5964574.html?sid=4ed10d5e476875ed62606cdfa6f4ba30

pulseaudio user ?

then you might need

www-plugins/libflashsupport

and set up pulseaudio correctly:

edit ~/.asoundrc :

Code: Select all
pcm.pulse {
     type pulse
 }
 
 ctl.pulse {
     type pulse
 }
 
 pcm.!default {
    type pulse
 }
 
 ctl.!default {
     type pulse
 }

btw this solved the sound problem of flash across konqueror too not just firefox.

64bit sabayon branch5 had the same issue in 4.2kde also
onlyoneskwalla
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 248
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 0:24

Re: No sound on firefox

Postby frosch62 » Tue Oct 06, 2009 22:42

checked out the linked gentoo forum discussion on this topic and as of today it still doesn't seem solved. i thought i had this same "bug" after a clean install of sabayon 5 kde (x86), but i found a way around it. both amarok and flash are playing after i raised the PCM volume in KMix. it was turned all the way down by default, but doesn't appear to be having problems.

not an expert at all, so i can't help any further if this doesn't work, but it might be worth a try! good luck!
frosch62
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 14:40


Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests