Another PPPoE question, Sabayon 4.2

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Geo
Baby Hen
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 8:52

Another PPPoE question, Sabayon 4.2

Post by Geo » Thu Jul 02, 2009 9:00

I downloaded Sabayon 4.2 Gnome, and I tried to configure my internet connection. My connection is pppoe , but I can't find any pppoe binary. On other Linux distributions I knew of pppoeconf or pppoe-setup, but here, neither of them works.

How can I configure my pppoe connection?

crisandbea
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 11:36
Location: Bosco(SA)

Re: Another PPPoE question, Sabayon 4.2

Post by crisandbea » Thu Jul 02, 2009 9:09

Geo wrote:I downloaded Sabayon 4.2 Gnome, and I tried to configure my internet connection. My connection is pppoe , but I can't find any pppoe binary. On other Linux distributions I knew of pppoeconf or pppoe-setup, but here, neither of them works.

How can I configure my pppoe connection?
you can install net-dialup/rp-pppoe , or gnome-ppp, or if your internet connection is ADSL with pppoe ,you can you net-setup command for configure your internet connection.

Geo
Baby Hen
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 8:52

Re: Another PPPoE question, Sabayon 4.2

Post by Geo » Thu Jul 02, 2009 9:13

Don't I need an internet connection to install that package? net-setup didn't ask for a username/password.

crisandbea
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 11:36
Location: Bosco(SA)

Re: Another PPPoE question, Sabayon 4.2

Post by crisandbea » Thu Jul 02, 2009 9:46

Geo wrote:Don't I need an internet connection to install that package? net-setup didn't ask for a username/password.
you can not configure your modem/router with pppoe?

Geo
Baby Hen
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 8:52

Re: Another PPPoE question, Sabayon 4.2

Post by Geo » Thu Jul 02, 2009 9:48

I don't have a modem/router. Only a cable plugged in my ethernet card.

tblu
Baby Hen
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 15:42

Re: Another PPPoE question, Sabayon 4.2

Post by tblu » Fri Jul 03, 2009 16:20

Hello,
I also have a pppoe connection and use 4.2 gnome.
pppoe-setup is working for me out of the box. The Gnome Network manager also let you configure the pppoe-connection in the tab "DSL" of "edit connections" dialog.

If you need more detailed infos, let me know.

mynameisbogdan
Baby Hen
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 23:24
Location: Romania dude :)

Re: Another PPPoE question, Sabayon 4.2

Post by mynameisbogdan » Sun Jul 05, 2009 11:55

pppoe-setup is working for you out of the box? :shock:


# pppoe-setup
bash: pppoe-setup: command not found

gksu nm-connection-editor worked for me
dwm::zsh::tmux::vim

crisandbea
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 11:36
Location: Bosco(SA)

Re: Another PPPoE question, Sabayon 4.2

Post by crisandbea » Sun Jul 05, 2009 13:12

mynameisbogdan wrote:pppoe-setup is working for you out of the box? :shock:


# pppoe-setup
bash: pppoe-setup: command not found

gksu nm-connection-editor worked for me
pppoe-setup, not is installed by default, but you can configure your connection with NetworkManager, using DSL option.

mynameisbogdan
Baby Hen
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 23:24
Location: Romania dude :)

Re: Another PPPoE question, Sabayon 4.2

Post by mynameisbogdan » Mon Jul 06, 2009 15:53

crisandbea, i was talking with tblu, and i know that rp-pppoe ( :twisted: ) is not installed by default, and

nm-connection-editor = NetworkManager, dudeeeeeeee...... :shock:

i was wondering, why in the hell, the package rp-pppoe is missing when a lot of people need this package, and for a newbie is kinda hard to get it without accesing the internet...
dwm::zsh::tmux::vim

odinbaal
Simple Hen
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 16:04

Re: Another PPPoE question, Sabayon 4.2

Post by odinbaal » Thu Aug 13, 2009 12:27

Exactly same problem here, but on kde with fresh (live) Sabayon 4.2.

I'm also amazed why pppoe is not installed and why NetworkManager has the dsl tab greyed out!

http://forum.sabayonlinux.org/viewtopic ... 52&t=17859

Post Reply