How to properly change DE?

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
johnnystuff
Young Hen
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 16:15

How to properly change DE?

Post by johnnystuff » Thu Aug 17, 2017 20:30

I'm still trying things out at the moment, also with other distro, but intend to run sabayon as my daily driver in my new pc. One big caveat being: I've not decided which DE I prefer yet. I'd like to stay with the lightweight ones because KDE is too titanic and I don't have a good feeling with Gnome.

So: I installed Sabayon-MATE now but I'm really liking Cinnamon, which I've installed previously over MATE but had to deal with some glitches here and there which I'd really like to get rid of. I'm sure they're all due to the fact that there are default settings or config files all over the place which point at some MATE file which exists, or not, or has wrong settings for Cinnamon and so forth. Not a real deal breaker for a distro-hopper but not possible to cope with if you intend to use the distro daily for good, as I do.

I don't mean to fix them all one by one, I'd rather know what's the proper way to switch DE after having installed it from entropy.

Also: a sabayon-cinnamon realease would be very welcome :wink:

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3256
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: How to properly change DE?

Post by sabayonino » Fri Aug 18, 2017 0:23

You can install all DE you want.

Switch to DE depends on Login Manager you have installed (lightdm by default)
[Che Cos'è Il Calcolo Distribuito (BOINC)

BOINC ready ! Sabayon+BOINC = BILD ,my Sabayon spin :cyclops: - Ready to crunch for the Science everywhere :)

johnnystuff
Young Hen
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 16:15

Re: How to properly change DE?

Post by johnnystuff » Fri Aug 18, 2017 12:37

Yep, that's what I did. But it carrys on some glitches that are the point why I opened this thread :p

Should I run an etc-update, env-update, conf-update of some sort? What about xsession or whatever is the x-server/login manager? Already at the login screen (aka lighdm) there are quite some problems, like 3 choices (Cinnamon, Cinnamon2D and Cinnamon Software Rendering) but only one works (the last) but with 20-30 seconds delay where the system looks like froze at every single login no exception made. Plus other issues after login.

johnnystuff
Young Hen
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 16:15

Re: How to properly change DE?

Post by johnnystuff » Sat Aug 19, 2017 16:56

Ok, help me get rid of this horrible latency/30-seconds-long-hiccup after login. It's clearly some service waiting for a response untill some sort of timeout kicks in but how can I find out which one is it?

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3256
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: How to properly change DE?

Post by sabayonino » Sat Aug 19, 2017 17:07

I don't know. Some logs can help

start to paste ~/.xsession-errors and /var/log/Xorg.0.log contents

you can install wgetpaste to get a link and file contents

Code: Select all

# equo i wgetpaste

Code: Select all

$ wgetpaste ~/.xsession-errors

Code: Select all

$ wgtepaste /var/log/Xorg.0.log
[Che Cos'è Il Calcolo Distribuito (BOINC)

BOINC ready ! Sabayon+BOINC = BILD ,my Sabayon spin :cyclops: - Ready to crunch for the Science everywhere :)

johnnystuff
Young Hen
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 16:15

Re: How to properly change DE?

Post by johnnystuff » Sat Aug 19, 2017 17:36

Derp, so many errors in those files :eye:

First one looks like a goldmine of informations about cinnamon (if I only could understand it):
sabayon ~ # cat /home/njos/.xsession-errors
gnome-keyring-daemon: insufficient process capabilities, unsecure memory might get used
gnome-keyring-daemon: insufficient process capabilities, unsecure memory might get used
gnome-keyring-daemon: insufficient process capabilities, unsecure memory might get used
** Message: couldn't access control socket: /run/user/1000/keyring/control: No such file or directory
** Message: couldn't access control socket: /run/user/1000/keyring/control: No such file or directory
** Message: couldn't access control socket: /run/user/1000/keyring/control: No such file or directory
cinnamon-session[2393]: WARNING: t+11.51219s: Failed to start app: Unable to start application: Failed to execute child process "avant-window-navigator" (No such file or directory)
Failed to play sound: Sound disabled
Cjs-Message: JS LOG: About to start Cinnamon
St-Message: cogl npot texture sizes SUPPORTED
Cjs-Message: JS LOG: Cinnamon started at Sat Aug 19 2017 18:20:30 GMT+0200 (CEST)

(cinnamon:2598): St-WARNING **: percentage lengths not currently supported
openjdk version "1.8.0_121"
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (IcedTea 3.3.0) (Gentoo icedtea-3.3.0)
OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (build 25.121-b13, mixed mode)
Cjs-Message: JS LOG: network applet: Cannot find connection for active (or connection cannot be read)
openGL version 3.1 detected (GL3 Cogl Driver)
Cjs-Message: JS LOG: Invalid network device type, is 10
Cjs-Message: JS LOG: Invalid network device type, is 14
Cjs-Message: JS LOG: network applet: Found connection for active

(nemo:2637): Gtk-WARNING **: Allocating size to NemoWindowPane 0x2a5dca0 without calling gtk_widget_get_preferred_width/height(). How does the code know the size to allocate?

(nemo:2637): Gtk-WARNING **: Allocating size to NemoWindowPane 0x28df9b0 without calling gtk_widget_get_preferred_width/height(). How does the code know the size to allocate?
/usr/lib64/python3.4/site-packages/gi/overrides/Gtk.py:50: RuntimeWarning: You have imported the Gtk 2.0 module. Because Gtk 2.0 was not designed for use with introspection some of the interfaces and API will fail. As such this is not supported by the pygobject development team and we encourage you to port your app to Gtk 3 or greater. PyGTK is the recomended python module to use with Gtk 2.0
warnings.warn(warn_msg, RuntimeWarning)
/usr/bin/sabayon-greeter:35: PyGIWarning: WebKit was imported without specifying a version first. Use gi.require_version('WebKit', '1.0') before import to ensure that the right version gets loaded.
from gi.repository import WebKit, Gtk

(cinnamon:2598): St-WARNING **: percentage lengths not currently supported

(cinnamon:2598): St-WARNING **: percentage lengths not currently supported

(cinnamon:2598): St-WARNING **: percentage lengths not currently supported

(cinnamon:2598): St-WARNING **: percentage lengths not currently supported

(cinnamon:2598): St-WARNING **: percentage lengths not currently supported

(cinnamon:2598): St-WARNING **: percentage lengths not currently supported

(cinnamon:2598): St-WARNING **: percentage lengths not currently supported
/usr/share/system-config-printer/applet.py:44: PyGIWarning: Notify was imported without specifying a version first. Use gi.require_version('Notify', '0.7') before import to ensure that the right version gets loaded.
from gi.repository import Notify
Gtk-Message: GtkDialog mapped without a transient parent. This is discouraged.
Window manager warning: Buggy client sent a _NET_ACTIVE_WINDOW message with a timestamp of 0 for 0x1e00003 (Authentica)
Window manager warning: Buggy client sent a _NET_ACTIVE_WINDOW message with a timestamp of 0 for 0x1e00003 (Authentica)
And this is the Xorg log, which may be more related to that other issue I'm still having occasionally about the secondary monitor not switching on:
......
[ 29.873] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): CRT-0: disconnected
[ 29.873] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): CRT-0: 400.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
[ 29.873] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0):
[ 29.875] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): DFP-0: disconnected
[ 29.876] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): DFP-0: Internal TMDS
[ 29.876] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): DFP-0: 330.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
[ 29.876] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0):
[ 29.876] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): DFP-1: disconnected
[ 29.876] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): DFP-1: Internal TMDS
[ 29.876] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): DFP-1: 165.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
[ 29.876] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0):
[ 29.876] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): AOC U3477 (DFP-2): connected
[ 29.876] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): AOC U3477 (DFP-2): Internal DisplayPort
[ 29.876] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): AOC U3477 (DFP-2): 960.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
[ 29.876] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0):
[ 29.876] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): DFP-3: disconnected
[ 29.876] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): DFP-3: Internal TMDS
[ 29.876] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): DFP-3: 165.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
[ 29.876] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0):
[ 29.876] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): DFP-4: disconnected
[ 29.876] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): DFP-4: Internal DisplayPort
[ 29.876] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): DFP-4: 960.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
[ 29.876] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0):
[ 29.876] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): DFP-5: disconnected
[ 29.876] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): DFP-5: Internal TMDS
[ 29.876] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): DFP-5: 165.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
[ 29.876] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0):
[ 29.877] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): AOC U3477 (DFP-6): connected
[ 29.877] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): AOC U3477 (DFP-6): Internal DisplayPort
[ 29.877] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): AOC U3477 (DFP-6): 960.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
[ 29.877] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0):
[ 29.877] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): DFP-7: disconnected
[ 29.877] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): DFP-7: Internal TMDS
[ 29.877] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): DFP-7: 165.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
[ 29.877] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0):
What are those maximum pixel clock? 165Mhz, 330Mhz, 960Mhz? A CRT monitor? Dahell?? :shock:

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3256
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: How to properly change DE?

Post by sabayonino » Sat Aug 19, 2017 17:41

please. need full log

use wgetpaste as I explained
[Che Cos'è Il Calcolo Distribuito (BOINC)

BOINC ready ! Sabayon+BOINC = BILD ,my Sabayon spin :cyclops: - Ready to crunch for the Science everywhere :)

johnnystuff
Young Hen
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 16:15

Re: How to properly change DE?

Post by johnnystuff » Sat Aug 19, 2017 17:53

Didn't know about wgetpaste, that's pretty neat! :o

.xsession-errors -> https://paste.pound-python.org/show/kgR ... euwVNZLib/
.xsession-errors.old -> https://paste.pound-python.org/show/x95 ... xXnh4pEQz/
Xorg.0.log -> https://paste.pound-python.org/show/Pbs ... RxQviWGFt/

Before you analize them, I put my money on this part though:
< cinnamon-session[2393]: WARNING: t+11.51219s: Failed to start app: Unable to start application: Failed to execute child process "avant-window-navigator" (No such file or directory)
---
> cinnamon-session[2398]: WARNING: t+30.59072s: Application 'pulseaudio.desktop' failed to register before timeout
8a9,10
> cinnamon-session[2398]: WARNING: t+31.07092s: Failed to start app: Unable to start application: Failed to execute child process "avant-window-navigator" (No such file or directory)

Post Reply