Page 1 of 2

synaptic fresh gnome install [Solved]

Posted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 20:15
by zongo
Just installed a fresh copy of gnome sabayon latest and no synaptic. I miss the tap to click.
I went through beginner's manual but no dice.
Any help is much appreciated.

Re: synaptic fresh gnome install

Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 13:57
by Panuzio
Which is the DE?
Gnome?
Anyway, Sabayon uses Rigo.
Using terminal is better. ;)

Re: synaptic fresh gnome install

Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 14:28
by Panuzio
Let's view the specific part of this forum: Entropy|Equo|Rigo Package Managers. ;)

Re: synaptic fresh gnome install

Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 18:32
by sabayonino
@Panunzio :
I think Zongo means "synaptic" drivers touchpad missing not *buntu package manager related :mrgreen:

@zongo : try to reinstall dev-libs/libinput package

Re: synaptic fresh gnome install

Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 19:49
by zongo
Yes missing the click with the finger :) I have only a small 13' laptop and clicking with a tap of the finger makes things easy for me.
Did install (was not installed) dev-libs/libinput package and no go. The option in Settings | mouse/track-pad | is not present.
I did try with Gnome tweak tool, and no go.
Last week was testing Antergos with Gnome and I had the option. I ticked it and had the tap to click. Is Gnome different on Sabayon ? (probably customized). Is sabayon for laptop or is it geared towards tower/server ? Should I be using another DM than Gnome with Sabayon ?

Re: synaptic fresh gnome install

Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 20:07
by sabayonino
uhm , could be some missing package

gnome-extra/gnome-shell-extensions [Installled ???]

Re: synaptic fresh gnome install

Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 20:30
by zongo
yes, equo search gnome-extra/gnome-shell-extensions reveals "Installed: version: 3.22.2 ~ tag: NoTag ~ revision: 0"
Should I do a clean install ?

Ran into this http://gentoo-en.vfose.ru/wiki/Synaptic ... d/Xorg_7.3
I did try to install xf86-input-synaptics but no dice.

Can you confirm I should be having the option tap to click ?

Re: synaptic fresh gnome install

Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 0:20
by zongo
Solved it. Posting here for other people if they are wanting the tap to click.
Install xf86-input-libinput
Then create a file 30-touchpad.conf in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/. Reboot and in Settings | mouse/trackpad the option tap to click popped up.
I don't think sabayon is for novices.
/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/30-touchpad.conf
Section "InputClass"
Identifier "devname"
Driver "libinput"
Option "Device" "devpath"
...
EndSection

Thanks to Arch
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Libinput

Re: synaptic fresh gnome install [Solved]

Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 0:36
by sabayonino
marked as "Solved"

https://packages.sabayon.org/show/xf86- ... -show-what

/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/40-libinput.conf

Code: Select all

# Match on all types of devices but tablet devices and joysticks
Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "libinput pointer catchall"
        MatchIsPointer "on"
        MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
        Driver "libinput"
EndSection

Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "libinput keyboard catchall"
        MatchIsKeyboard "on"
        MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
        Driver "libinput"
EndSection

Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "libinput touchpad catchall"
        MatchIsTouchpad "on"
        MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
        Driver "libinput"
EndSection

Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "libinput touchscreen catchall"
        MatchIsTouchscreen "on"
        MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
        Driver "libinput"
EndSection
:?: by default this file should be recognized by Xorg

Re: synaptic fresh gnome install [Solved]

Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 8:46
by zongo
Ok but I never had the file '40-libinput.conf' created. Probably because xf86-input-libinput never got installed in the first place. I did run another fresh install in case but got the same result. Install xf86-input-libinput was not installed. I am guessing possibly an issue with the iso. I remember with the iso the tap to click was not there. I am wondering if KDE iso for example would have the same problem?
Anyways glad I can tap to click.
Thank you for your time.

Clarification:
Even after install of 'xf86-input-libinput ' the file '40-libinput.conf' should have been created. I should not have had to create the file '30-touchpad.conf'. Hmm, definitely a mystery unsolved.