gcc can't create executables? [Solved]

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
kevinfish
Young Hen
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 3:12

gcc can't create executables? [Solved]

Post by kevinfish » Tue Apr 19, 2016 8:34

Okay, I downloaded and untarred xf86-video-openchrome, and I started doing the instructions here:

https://www.freedesktop.org/wiki/Opench ... tallation/

but when I get to here:

./configure --prefix=/usr

I get this:

https://pastebin.sabayon.org/pastie/17725

here's my equo s gcc:

https://pastebin.sabayon.org/pastie/17726

and
gcc-config -l
[1] x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-4.9.3 *
[2] x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-4.9.3-hardenednopie
[3] x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-4.9.3-hardenednopiessp
[4] x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-4.9.3-hardenednossp
[5] x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-4.9.3-vanilla

and for good measure:
# uname -a
Linux kris-pc 4.5.0-sabayon #1 SMP Tue Mar 29 11:22:56 UTC 2016 x86_64 VIA Nano [email protected] CentaurHauls GNU/Linux

help!
Last edited by kevinfish on Fri Apr 22, 2016 4:49, edited 1 time in total.

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: gcc can't create executables?

Post by wolfden » Tue Apr 19, 2016 8:44

start by doing

Code: Select all

equo install sys-devel/gcc && sys-devel/base-gcc
than try again

kevinfish
Young Hen
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 3:12

Re: gcc can't create executables?

Post by kevinfish » Tue Apr 19, 2016 19:29

Isn't there some kind of build-essential package that should get all that stuff? I'm not finding it.

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3395
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: gcc can't create executables?

Post by sabayonino » Tue Apr 19, 2016 21:00

Code: Select all

# equo i @build-essentials
..to install full gcc and utils suite sets

see

Code: Select all

$ equo q sets | grep -A5 build

Post Reply