Install Media Problem - 15.03 amd64 xfce

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
ds2k5
Baby Hen
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 7:30

Install Media Problem - 15.03 amd64 xfce

Post by ds2k5 » Tue Mar 17, 2015 7:41

Hello,
use Virtualbox 4.3.24
downloaded the file: http://dl.sabayon.org/iso/monthly/Sabay ... 4_Xfce.iso

Media Check is OK:

http://www.bilder-upload.eu/show.php?fi ... 574994.png

The m5sum looks OK
ftp://ftp.belnet.be/mirror/sabayonlinux ... ce.iso.md5
$ md5sum Sabayon_Linux_15.03_amd64_Xfce.iso
4ca9dd7da0b8640bec5eee456040061b Sabayon_Linux_15.03_amd64_Xfce.iso


But if boot from the ISO i get this Error:
http://www.bilder-upload.eu/show.php?fi ... 574553.png
What can i do to fix this ?

joost
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2736
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Install Media Problem - 15.03 amd64 xfce

Post by joost » Tue Mar 17, 2015 12:13

Fix your disk? It is clearly reporting disk I/O errors.
My blog | Mastodon | Please support Sabayon: Become a Patron

ds2k5
Baby Hen
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 7:30

Re: Install Media Problem - 15.03 amd64 xfce

Post by ds2k5 » Tue Mar 17, 2015 13:28

no the disk is not the problem

if i do a dd if=Sabayon_Linux_15.03_amd64_Xfce.iso of=/dev/sdb

an boot from this disk (/dev/sdb) then i works.
but boot from the ISO do not work.

Gortoth666
Baby Hen
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 16:25

Re: Install Media Problem - 15.03 amd64 xfce

Post by Gortoth666 » Tue Mar 17, 2015 16:38

I seem to be having the same problem. Downloaded it twice, one for use with Virtualbox and one burned to use on my Desktop. Both versions bring up the grub menu fine.
I can select to just go to the XFCE liveCD and all other options but it seems to bug out around 1/4 of the loading screen. Same thing seems to be happening with the GNOME DVD too on Virtualbox.

joost
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2736
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Install Media Problem - 15.03 amd64 xfce

Post by joost » Tue Mar 17, 2015 21:25

Others also reported the issue. Seems to be a bug / kernel regression.

We'll have to investigate this.
My blog | Mastodon | Please support Sabayon: Become a Patron

Gortoth666
Baby Hen
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 16:25

Re: Install Media Problem - 15.03 amd64 xfce

Post by Gortoth666 » Tue Mar 17, 2015 22:29

Glad to read it's not just us. I was getting a little paranoid already. ;)

I've been trying to install and upgrade my Sabayon 11 installation but it seems to be bugging out as well. :(
Will download the previous install CD and try that than for now.

joost
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2736
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Install Media Problem - 15.03 amd64 xfce

Post by joost » Thu Mar 19, 2015 10:04

I'm only able to reproduce the problem in Virtualbox.
When creating a live USB, using the same iso file, I'm able to boot the system with that without a problem.
My blog | Mastodon | Please support Sabayon: Become a Patron

Gortoth666
Baby Hen
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 16:25

Re: Install Media Problem - 15.03 amd64 xfce

Post by Gortoth666 » Thu Mar 19, 2015 12:15

I've overcome the problem by using the 15.02.1 install DVD. This one gets me going and I can just update it.

My Desktop isn't the latest in components, but not too "old". Oh well, the above fix works for me so I'm saved. :)

Post Reply