TeamViewer 9 in Sabayon repositories

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

TeamViewer 9 in Sabayon repositories

Postby doom_laur » Wed Jan 29, 2014 14:42

Hello! I'm pretty new to Sabayon, so I didn't know where to post :) I was wondering, when will TeamViewer 9 be available in the Sabayon repositories? I'm using the daily repository right now, but TeamViewer 9 is not available, even though it was released a couple of months ago.

Since some time I managed to make TeamViewer 9 work by downloading the .tar.gz version, but I can't install it, because it has no option. So I can only run it like this, and even though I made it run at startup, it's more convenient to install it directly from the Sabayon repositories.

Thank you :)
doom_laur
Baby Hen

Re: TeamViewer 9 in Sabayon repositories

Postby Provia » Wed Jan 29, 2014 17:22

Hi doom_laur and welcome to Sabayon!
You can request a version bump of a specific package on Sabayon bugzilla. But i think you will have to wait.
The latest Gentoo ebuild still the v.8 as you can see: http://packages.gentoo.org/package/net-misc/teamviewer.
Gentoo is quite slow in providing updated packages compared with Arch. (but this is not necessarily a bad thing :D)
AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 250 Processor
4 GB DDR3 1600 Mhz
Nvidia Geforce 9800 GT
Sabayon Linux x64 KDE Limbo
Provia
Advanced Hen

Postby doom_laur » Wed Jan 29, 2014 19:35

Hello Provia and thank you! :)

I already checked the Gentoo packages, thinking that the problem is there, and that's why I wasn't sure where I should do this request.