problem with package (cuda toolkit)[Solved]

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

fjkhf
Simple Hen
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 13:41

Re: problem with package (cuda toolkit)

Post by fjkhf » Fri Dec 13, 2013 16:15

I did

Code: Select all

  # emerge-webrsync
and it returned :
* IMPORTANT: 10 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
* Use eselect news to read news items.

(I am not famial with these and I don't want to do sth and hang my system :) ,because I use entropy )

Also,

Code: Select all

 # USE="eclipse" emerge -pv nvidia-cuda-toolkit
doesn't return anything.

Thanks!

fjkhf
Simple Hen
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 13:41

Re: problem with package (cuda toolkit)

Post by fjkhf » Thu Dec 19, 2013 13:59

Any ideas with that?

Stupot
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1651
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:44
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA

Re: problem with package (cuda toolkit)

Post by Stupot » Thu Dec 19, 2013 21:38

If you are using entropy, then why are using emerge?
fjkhf wrote:I did

Code: Select all

  # emerge-webrsync
and it returned :
* IMPORTANT: 10 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
* Use eselect news to read news items.
That's all it returned? It should return much more than that.

fjkhf
Simple Hen
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 13:41

Re: problem with package (cuda toolkit)

Post by fjkhf » Fri Dec 20, 2013 14:11

I am using entropy.I did

Code: Select all

 # emerge-webrsync
as suggested by previous post.

My problem is why nsight doesn't run.

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3190
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: problem with package (cuda toolkit)

Post by sabayonino » Sat Dec 21, 2013 18:42

fjkhf wrote:The command

Code: Select all

# USE="eclipse" emerge nvidia-cuda-toolkit --pretend
didn't return anything.

Also , I was refering to this https://wiki.sabayon.org/index.php?titl ... nd_Portage.
don't type "#" symbol : (in console mode refers to root prompt)
[Che Cos'è Il Calcolo Distribuito (BOINC)

BOINC ready ! Sabayon+BOINC = BILD ,my Sabayon spin :cyclops: - Ready to crunch for the Science everywhere :)

fjkhf
Simple Hen
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 13:41

Re: problem with package (cuda toolkit)

Post by fjkhf » Sat Dec 21, 2013 22:31

Ok, it gives me:

Code: Select all

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] dev-util/nvidia-cuda-toolkit-5.5.22  USE="eclipse*" 

The following license changes are necessary to proceed:
 (see "package.license" in the portage(5) man page for more details)
# required by @selected
# required by @world (argument)
>=dev-util/nvidia-cuda-toolkit-5.5.22 NVIDIA-CUDA

!!! The following installed packages are masked:
- net-im/skype-4.2.0.11-r1::gentoo (masked by: skype-4.0.0.7-copyright license(s))
A copy of the 'skype-4.0.0.7-copyright' license is located at '/usr/portage/licenses/skype-4.0.0.7-copyright'.
....
....(and some packages more (not nvidia))

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3190
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: problem with package (cuda toolkit)

Post by sabayonino » Sun Dec 22, 2013 9:44

More license(s) need to be read : accept them

Code: Select all

# ACCEPT_LICENSE="*"  USE="eclipse"  emerge nvidia-cuda-toolkit && equo rescue spmsync 
if nv-cuda-tk is ok mask all package from entropy and make all changes in make.conf

Mask all nvctk from entropy

Code: Select all

# equo mask dev-util/nvidia-cuda-toolkit
Make all license(s) in make.conf

Code: Select all

# echo "ACCEPT_LICENSE="*" >> /etc/make.conf
(or new path for make.conf /etc/portage/make.conf check if exists)

and make "eclipse" useflag available for nv-c-tk in portage

Code: Select all

# euse -E eclipse -p  dev-util/nvidia-cuda-toolkit
good luck and enjoy your nvidia-cuda-toolkit :wink:
[Che Cos'è Il Calcolo Distribuito (BOINC)

BOINC ready ! Sabayon+BOINC = BILD ,my Sabayon spin :cyclops: - Ready to crunch for the Science everywhere :)

fjkhf
Simple Hen
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 13:41

Re: problem with package (cuda toolkit)

Post by fjkhf » Mon Dec 23, 2013 23:41

Hello ,

I did all the above and when I try to run nsight it gives me :
A Java Runtime Environment (JRE) or Java Development Kit (JDK)
must be available in order to run Nsight. No Java virtual machine
was found after searching the following locations:
../jre/bin/java
packages I have installed:

dev-java/oracle-jdk-bin-1.7.0.45
dev-java/oracle-jre-bin-1.7.0.25
virtual/jre-1.7.0
virtual/jdk-1.7.0


I did :

Code: Select all

java-config --list-available-vms
The following VMs are available for generation-2:
1) IcedTea JDK 6.1.12.6 [icedtea-6]
2) IcedTea JDK 7.2.4.3 [icedtea-7]
*) IcedTea JDK 7.2.3.9 [icedtea-bin-7]
4) Oracle JDK 1.7.0.45 [oracle-jdk-bin-1.7]
5) Oracle JRE 1.7.0.25 [oracle-jre-bin-1.7]
I did:

Code: Select all

java-config --set-system-vm oracle-jdk-bin-1.7
Now using oracle-jdk-bin-1.7 as your generation-2 system JVM
Then :

Code: Select all

env-update
But still the same error.

Is there something else to do?

Thank you!



(At the steps you told me above , when I did :

Code: Select all

echo "ACCEPT_LICENSE="*" >> /etc/make.conf
, it prompted me to :

Code: Select all

 > 
,so I pressed Ctrl+C to exit. (I don't know if it was something else to be done).

Cb7
Growing Hen
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2013 7:13

Re: problem with package (cuda toolkit)

Post by Cb7 » Tue Dec 24, 2013 0:19

fjkhf wrote:(At the steps you told me above , when I did :

Code: Select all

echo "ACCEPT_LICENSE="*" >> /etc/make.conf
, it prompted me to :

Code: Select all

 > 
,so I pressed Ctrl+C to exit. (I don't know if it was something else to be done).
I don't know how to help you solve problem, but that one part was just badly written. Correctly it should look like:

Code: Select all

echo 'ACCEPT_LICENSE="*"' >> /etc/make.conf
Why, and how to add "[Solved]" to your post. Please read. ← credits to Fitzcarraldo

Kind regards
~Zetok Zalbavar

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3190
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: problem with package (cuda toolkit)

Post by sabayonino » Tue Dec 24, 2013 8:37

Cb7 wrote:
fjkhf wrote:(At the steps you told me above , when I did :

Code: Select all

echo "ACCEPT_LICENSE="*" >> /etc/make.conf
, it prompted me to :

Code: Select all

 > 
,so I pressed Ctrl+C to exit. (I don't know if it was something else to be done).
I don't know how to help you solve problem, but that one part was just badly written. Correctly it should look like:

Code: Select all

echo 'ACCEPT_LICENSE="*"' >> /etc/make.conf
you're right ...tnx
[Che Cos'è Il Calcolo Distribuito (BOINC)

BOINC ready ! Sabayon+BOINC = BILD ,my Sabayon spin :cyclops: - Ready to crunch for the Science everywhere :)

Post Reply