Problems with the new updates-Ext drive mount issues[Solved]

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Problems with the new updates-Ext drive mount issues[Solved]

Postby gocool » Thu Sep 12, 2013 20:01

Hi,

Just a day or two back there was a huge list of updates which was pushed.

I updated it using

Code: Select all
equo update && equo upgrade --ask


There were around 200+ updates. And after that,my external drive just doesnt mount anymore. I use KDE.

I had it automount it before and it was working perfectly but now, it just doesnt mount.

My XOrg config file is here

My system and hwinfo is here

My enabled services and the runlevels is here

My dmesg is here

My rc.log is here

My /var/log/messages is here

My KDM log is here


Is this being looked at? Is it just me?

My machine is current.

Let me know what other info you need from me and I'll be more than glad to provide you with it.

~ gocool
Last edited by gocool on Mon Sep 16, 2013 19:19, edited 1 time in total.
gocool
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 13:37

Re: Problems with the new updates - External drive doesnt mo

Postby gocool » Fri Sep 13, 2013 21:56

I always used to have the external HDD plugged into the laptop. When I boot up it used to mount it automatically.
I did this auto mount using the KDE system settings -> removable media and checked the option against the drive.

What i noticed was that before when I used to plug in, it used to auto mount it in the following directory :
/run/media/<user>/FreeAgent GoFlex Drive

But when I used KDE to auto mount it, it uses its own path (couldnt remember the exact path), but not the above standard one.

Now after the upgrade it just doesn't mount at all.

Any help on this will be highly appreciated.

(All the log files and configuration details have been provided in the above post)
gocool
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 13:37

Re: Problems with the new updates - External drive doesnt mo

Postby linuxfluesterer » Sun Sep 15, 2013 14:35

Hallo gocool.
I think, this problem should be solved easy. You can change settings in 'System Settings' of KDE. Find the symbol for 'Externel Media'. In German it is 'Wechselmedien'. Open it...
Image
Then you'll receive a window like this:

Image

When you have mounted your external drive manually before, then you can find your drive in the list. You can select to automount when plugged in, when log in.
Honestly, I don't know, what will happen if you plug in on the fly, but when you have correct settings, your disk will be mounted automatically, when is plugged in at power on. You can let me know...

Hope to help you with soon success.

-Linuxfluesterer (I love KDE ...)
TTIP is NOT YET stopped. Especially consider NHS and ISDS topics. Talk to your local politician to open eyes for danger to democracy because of TTIP
User avatar
linuxfluesterer
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 699
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 19:47
Location: Germany

Re: Problems with the new updates - External drive doesnt mo

Postby gocool » Sun Sep 15, 2013 18:56

linuxfluesterer, I am enclosing the image with steps on what I did.

Image

I think the issue is that after the upgrade it somehow got a lock in the system and is not able to release it.

This is the error being shown in item 4 in the above message, I typed it out for you, just in case if this may be of any help.

Could not mount the following device: FreeAgent GoFlex Drive
The requested operation has failed: Error mounting /dev/sdb1 at /run/media/user/FreeAgent GoFlex Drive Command-line 'mount -t 'ntfs-3g' -o 'uhelper=udisks2,nodev,nosuid" "/dev/sdb1" "/run/media/user/FreeAgent GoFlex Drive" exited with non-zero exit status 16: Mount is denied because the NTFS volume is already exclusively opened. The volume may be already mounted, or another software may use it which could be identified for example by the help of the 'fuser' command.
gocool
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 13:37

Re: Problems with the new updates - External drive doesnt mo

Postby linuxfluesterer » Sun Sep 15, 2013 20:59

Maybe your ntfs-drive (partition) is damaged. I assume, your drive is at /dev/sdb1. so, you can check with:
Code: Select all
ntfsfix -n /dev/sdb1

The -n doesn't change anything, but shows you serious damages.
You can also type:
Code: Select all
man ntfsfix

to get the instructions how to use ntfsfix.
I assume, if you simply type
Code: Select all
ntfsfix /dev/sdb1

then this command starts to recover your drive, your partition. BUT: It is possible, that the damage is irreparable!
There is a website, you can read the part about ntfsfix:
http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/fix-corrupted-windows-ntfs-filesystem-ubuntu/

After recover(fix), try to mount your drive again. Let me know, pls.

-Linuxfluesterer (I love KDE ...)
TTIP is NOT YET stopped. Especially consider NHS and ISDS topics. Talk to your local politician to open eyes for danger to democracy because of TTIP
User avatar
linuxfluesterer
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 699
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 19:47
Location: Germany

Re: Problems with the new updates - External drive doesnt mo

Postby gocool » Sun Sep 15, 2013 23:40

A quick question... I was able to access the drive from another machine, so still do you think it is damaged?
gocool
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 13:37

Re: Problems with the new updates - External drive doesnt mo

Postby linuxfluesterer » Mon Sep 16, 2013 6:57

Did you do a:
Code: Select all
man ntfsfix
and read its explanation? "In case you can not mount...". Pls. do the check with (assumed, your drive is /dev/sdb1):
Code: Select all
ntfsfix -n /dev/sdb1

As I said, nothing will be changed then, only, if existing, failures will be displayed.
If there are failures, then you'll need to fix with:
Code: Select all
ntfsfix /dev/sdb1

-Linuxfluesterer (I love KDE ...)
TTIP is NOT YET stopped. Especially consider NHS and ISDS topics. Talk to your local politician to open eyes for danger to democracy because of TTIP
User avatar
linuxfluesterer
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 699
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 19:47
Location: Germany

Re: Problems with the new updates - External drive doesnt mo

Postby gocool » Mon Sep 16, 2013 14:01

Thank you fluesterer, this is what I did

1. Wanted to make sure that it's not mounted (for I am sure it's sdb1)
Code: Select all
user@sabayon ~ $ df -h
df: ‘/sys/fs/cgroup/openrc’: No such file or directory
Filesystem                       Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/mapper/VolGroup00-LogVol00  139G   76G   61G  56% /
none                             1.5G  988K  1.5G   1% /run
none                             1.5G  1.6M  1.5G   1% /dev/shm
udev                              10M     0   10M   0% /dev
cgroup_root                      1.5G     0  1.5G   0% /sys/fs/cgroup
/dev/sda1                         99M   80M   17M  83% /boot
/dev/sda3                        304G  201G   88G  70% /run/media/user/Data
/dev/sda1                         99M   80M   17M  83% /boot

Ok, so I don't find sdb1


2. I now wanted to check if sdb1 exists in /dev

Code: Select all
user@sabayon ~ $ cd /dev
user@sabayon /dev $ ls -l sdb*
brw-rw---- 1 root disk 8, 16 Sep 16 08:45 sdb
brw-rw---- 1 root disk 8, 17 Sep 16 08:45 sdb1


3. I assumed that I am in the right track and logged in as root

Code: Select all
user@sabayon /dev $ su
Password:


4. As root I gave the command you gave me

Code: Select all
sabayon dev # ntfsfix -n /dev/sdb1
Refusing to operate on read-write mounted device /dev/sdb1.


Code: Select all
sabayon dev # umount /dev/sdb1
umount: /run/media/user/FreeAgent GoFlex Drive: mountpoint not found


Code: Select all
sabayon dev # ntfsfix /dev/sdb1
Refusing to operate on read-write mounted device /dev/sdb1.


I am at a dead end. The message from KDE originally gave me something about some "fuser" command to remove the process which mounted it , do you think I should be using it? I used man command to understand 'fuser' but its a lil cryptic for my IQ.
gocool
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 13:37

Re: Problems with the new updates - External drive doesnt mo

Postby linuxfluesterer » Mon Sep 16, 2013 15:00

Pls. check with
Code: Select all
fdisk -l

All connected medias will be shown, no matter mounted or not.
And you should be able then to find the /dev/sdxx of your FreeAgent GoFlex Drive.
df shows only mounted devices.
It is important to know exactly, where is your ntfs-disk is connected.
So, pls try fdisk -l then (as root).
Can you give me the complete message from your screen (4.). I want to read it. Best would be enlarged. Thank you.

Image

-Linuxfluesterer (I love KDE ...)

p.s. Exactly, I would really like, you do all with a Sabayon Life system...
Last edited by linuxfluesterer on Mon Sep 16, 2013 15:14, edited 1 time in total.
TTIP is NOT YET stopped. Especially consider NHS and ISDS topics. Talk to your local politician to open eyes for danger to democracy because of TTIP
User avatar
linuxfluesterer
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 699
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 19:47
Location: Germany

Re: Problems with the new updates - External drive doesnt mo

Postby gocool » Mon Sep 16, 2013 15:12

Thank you, yes I checked with fdisk -l and it indeed is sdb1 and is unmounted

Code: Select all
Disk /dev/sdb: 1500.3 GB, 1500301907968 bytes, 2930277164 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk label type: dos
Disk identifier: 0x96841002

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdb1              63  2930272127  1465136032+   7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT


I have the error message in 4 typed in full just below the image. I am re-typing it again for your convenience.

Code: Select all
Could not mount the following device: FreeAgent GoFlex Drive
The requested operation has failed: Error mounting /dev/sdb1 at /run/media/user/FreeAgent GoFlex Drive Command-line 'mount -t 'ntfs-3g' -o 'uhelper=udisks2,nodev,nosuid" "/dev/sdb1" "/run/media/user/FreeAgent GoFlex Drive" exited with non-zero exit status 16: Mount is denied because the NTFS volume is already exclusively opened. The volume may be already mounted, or another software may use it which could be identified for example by the help of the 'fuser' command.


...in case there is a typo...I am pasting the enlarged image below...in sabayon forum the image is cut at the corners, you can do a "view image" for the full image.

Image
gocool
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 13:37

Next

Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests