Sabayon Boot Issue

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Sabayon Boot Issue

Postby jpbhello » Sat Sep 07, 2013 18:57

I updated all of my packages today, and for some reason Sabayon won't boot properly. The Sabayon logo appears and the bar fills, then the screen scrambles and stays that way, and it won't finish the boot process. Any ideas on how to fix this?
jpbhello
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 18:52

Re: Sabayon Boot Issue

Postby dave_64 » Sat Sep 07, 2013 19:37

What is your video card/chipset?
If you don't know, at a root terminal, type and enter:
lspci
Your card make and model are in the line that starts with:
VGA compatible controller:
Also, what is the result of:
eselect opengl list
(which one is marked with an asterisk?)
Which sabayon version is it?
Did this happen on your first upgrade?
dave_64
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 20:33

Re: Sabayon Boot Issue

Postby jpbhello » Sat Sep 07, 2013 21:27

dave_64 wrote:What is your video card/chipset?
If you don't know, at a root terminal, type and enter:
lspci
Your card make and model are in the line that starts with:
VGA compatible controller:
Also, what is the result of:
eselect opengl list
(which one is marked with an asterisk?)
Which sabayon version is it?
Did this happen on your first upgrade?


Video Card: AMD Radeon HD 6290
I am running the newest version of Sabayon.
This was my first update.
jpbhello
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 18:52

Re: Sabayon Boot Issue

Postby dave_64 » Sat Sep 07, 2013 22:35

I don't know anything about ati cards (or driver issues). Maybe somebody else knows how to advise you.
dave_64
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 20:33

Re: Sabayon Boot Issue

Postby dunsurfin » Sun Sep 08, 2013 20:01

Can you boot into recovery mode so that you have a command prompt?
If you can there are some thing you can do that may help:

As dave_64 said; As root check the output of
Code: Select all
eselect opengl list
and if the asterisk isn't on ati then use the command
Code: Select all
eselect opengl set ati
(If you do that then a reboot should solve the problem)

Also as root run
Code: Select all
equo deptest
and
Code: Select all
equo libtest


Hopefully that will fix the problems.
Self-righteousness is a loud din raised to drown the voice of guilt within us - Eric Hoffer

Don't believe what it says on the right - I am anything but sagely; More oniony!
dunsurfin
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1333
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 21:38
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK


Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests