Upgrade trashed my system and now Rigo won't start!?

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :)

Moderator: Moderators

life-on-mars
Simple Hen
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 14:05

Re: Upgrade trashed my system and now Rigo won't start!?

Post by life-on-mars » Mon Jul 29, 2013 12:50

VolvoBirkenstock wrote:However, no version number was returned for "entropy", and this deviates from the description seen in http://wiki.sabayon.org/index.php?title=En:Entropy.

Code: Select all

equo s entropy
That should give you the entropy version.

I wouldn't count that much on anything written in the wiki. Much of it is either incorrect or outdated. Most likely because wiki.sabayon.org is not open for everyone (looks more like an invite-only club to me).
sɹɐɯ uo əɟıɿ sı əɹəɥʇ -- ⠐⠮ ⠊⠎ ⠇⠊⠋⠑ ⠕⠝ ⠍⠜⠎⠖

VolvoBirkenstock
Growing Hen
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 5:34

Re: Upgrade trashed my system and now Rigo won't start!?

Post by VolvoBirkenstock » Wed Jul 31, 2013 0:55

Thank you, life-on-mars.
The entropy version has checked out as the correct one.
Now if only I could get rigo working...

VolvoBirkenstock
Growing Hen
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 5:34

Re: Upgrade trashed my system and now Rigo won't start!?

Post by VolvoBirkenstock » Wed Jul 31, 2013 3:49

I just discovered that I can run rigo from the command line if I am root. When I run rigo as root, equo update reports nothing new, even though I use sabayon weekly and my last update was last week. I still cannot start rigo from either the command line or the desktop icon if I am a "regular user".

VolvoBirkenstock
Growing Hen
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 5:34

Re: Upgrade trashed my system and now Rigo won't start!?

Post by VolvoBirkenstock » Wed Jul 31, 2013 3:51

By the way, when I run rigo from the command line as root and try to manage repositories, the rigo display blanks along with the following written to the konsole where root started rigo:

Code: Select all

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/rigo/rigo/ui/gtk3/widgets/cellrenderers.py", line 1035, in do_render
    is_rtl)
  File "/usr/lib/rigo/rigo/ui/gtk3/widgets/cellrenderers.py", line 902, in _render_icon
    icon = self._icon
  File "/usr/lib/rigo/rigo/ui/gtk3/widgets/cellrenderers.py", line 890, in _icon
    self._icon_size, 0)
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/gi/types.py", line 113, in function
    return info.invoke(*args, **kwargs)
gi._glib.GError: Failed to load icon

(rigo:11465): GLib-GIO-CRITICAL **: g_file_new_for_path: assertion `path != NULL' failed

(rigo:11465): GLib-GIO-CRITICAL **: g_loadable_icon_load: assertion `G_IS_LOADABLE_ICON (icon)' failed
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/rigo/rigo/ui/gtk3/widgets/cellrenderers.py", line 1035, in do_render
    is_rtl)
  File "/usr/lib/rigo/rigo/ui/gtk3/widgets/cellrenderers.py", line 902, in _render_icon
    icon = self._icon
  File "/usr/lib/rigo/rigo/ui/gtk3/widgets/cellrenderers.py", line 890, in _icon
    self._icon_size, 0)
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/gi/types.py", line 113, in function
    return info.invoke(*args, **kwargs)
gi._glib.GError: Failed to load icon

joost
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2715
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Upgrade trashed my system and now Rigo won't start!?

Post by joost » Wed Jul 31, 2013 8:11

joost wrote:A guess, maybe this will fix it.
run as root:

Code: Select all

equo install gdk-pixbuf
Image
My blog | Twitter | Please support Sabayon: Image

VolvoBirkenstock
Growing Hen
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 5:34

Re: Upgrade trashed my system and now Rigo won't start!?

Post by VolvoBirkenstock » Thu Aug 01, 2013 1:57

Thank you, joost. That fixed it. The gdk-pixbuf now on my system is x11-libs/gdk-pixbuf-2.28.2. This is the same revision on my system that I reported in the 9th post to this thread. Did another package downloaded during an upgrade overwrite something normally distributed under x11-libs/gdk-pixbuf-2.28.2? Otherwise I have no idea what could have caused this issue.

I would mark this thread "Solved", except that I'm not the original author.

Again, thank you very much, joost. Most excellent. :-)

Post Reply