no more restart [Solved]

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Re: no more restart

Postby gabvil » Mon Jul 08, 2013 20:34

Hi lxnay,

Same here, latest mate-power-manager installed, OpenRC.

Code: Select all
6481 ~ # equo match --installed mate-power-manager
>>  @@ Coincidentes...
>>      @@ Paquete: mate-extra/mate-power-manager-1.6.1 rama: 5, [__system__]
>>         Instalado:     versión: 1.6.1 ~ tag: NoTag ~ revisión: 1
>>         Bloque:        0
>>         Página:        http://mate-desktop.org
>>         Descripción:   A session daemon for MATE that makes
>>                        it easy to manage your laptop or
>>                        desktop system
>>         Licencia:      GPL-2
>>  Palabras clave:  mate-power-manager
>>  Encontradas:     1 entry


Still no restart or shutdown option under Mate. Proved on Systemd and it works. But Systemd gives me some network errors, like in Boinc and doesn't find my localhost those programs.

This package fix this issue?

Regards,
·Intel [email protected]/2Gb Ram/160Gb/82945GZ/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @work X2
·Intel [email protected]/2Gb Ram/250Gb/x3100 GM965/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @lappy
·Intel [email protected]/2Gb Ram/800 Gb/Zotac 8400GS-512Mb-HDMI/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @HTPC
gabvil
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 22:27
Location: Canelones, Uruguay

Re: no more restart

Postby lxnay » Mon Jul 08, 2013 20:41

Do you have logind running? Is it in your boot runlevel? What is the output of "loginctl" ?
There is mate-power-manager-1.6.1-r1 in the main repository (not weekly) that you may want to try out.
You can switch to the main repo by doing:
Code: Select all
equo repo rename sabayon-weekly sabayonlinux.org && equo update
Image
Join us on IRC (chat.freenode.net #sabayon or WebChat)
Submit bugs to our Bug Tracker
Follow me on Twitter
Add me on Facebook
Add me on Google+
lxnay
Land Owner
 
Posts: 3595
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 23:16
Location: Italy

Re: no more restart

Postby gabvil » Tue Jul 09, 2013 3:18

Hi lxnay,

Yes, it's on boot.
Code: Select all
6481 ~ # rc-update show | grep logind
               logind | boot

loginctl output
Code: Select all
6481 log # loginctl
   SESSION        UID USER             SEAT           
         1       1000 gabi             seat0           

1 sessions listed.

logind is running for what i could see.
Code: Select all
6481 log # ps ax | grep logind
 5442 ?        Ss     0:00 /usr/lib/systemd/systemd-logind

On boot show that started, rc.log output
Code: Select all
logind                    | * Starting logind ...
 [ ok ]


I will try this package, often i been avoiding main repo and prefer weekley for the most.
Change my repo to main, update and throw my result over here.

PS: Changed to main repo, updated only mate-power-manager to r1 and same result. lightdm show the same "Hibernate and Suspend" options. I'll try to update all the packages.

Thanks and regards,
·Intel [email protected]/2Gb Ram/160Gb/82945GZ/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @work X2
·Intel [email protected]/2Gb Ram/250Gb/x3100 GM965/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @lappy
·Intel [email protected]/2Gb Ram/800 Gb/Zotac 8400GS-512Mb-HDMI/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @HTPC
gabvil
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 22:27
Location: Canelones, Uruguay

Re: no more restart

Postby gabvil » Tue Jul 09, 2013 4:26

Hi again lxnay,

Up to date everything on main repo. I've been looking arround the forum and find that you suggested in this topic:

viewtopic.php?f=57&t=30259#p164213

lxnay wrote:Make sure that:

- If you use openrc:
1. logind is in the boot runlevel
Code: Select all
rc-update add logind boot

2. xdm is in the default runlevel (not boot!)
Code: Select all
rc-update del xdm boot && rc-update add xdm default

3. consider switching to systemd.

- If you use systemd: nothing :P


Made those changes and remains the same. Mate and lightdm still showing "Hibernate" and "Suspend" options.
I'll try to fix it, i'm running out of options.

Regards,
·Intel [email protected]/2Gb Ram/160Gb/82945GZ/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @work X2
·Intel [email protected]/2Gb Ram/250Gb/x3100 GM965/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @lappy
·Intel [email protected]/2Gb Ram/800 Gb/Zotac 8400GS-512Mb-HDMI/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @HTPC
gabvil
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 22:27
Location: Canelones, Uruguay

Re: no more restart

Postby lxnay » Tue Jul 09, 2013 6:06

So, you have the options. What do you expect to see then? No options?
Image
Join us on IRC (chat.freenode.net #sabayon or WebChat)
Submit bugs to our Bug Tracker
Follow me on Twitter
Add me on Facebook
Add me on Google+
lxnay
Land Owner
 
Posts: 3595
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 23:16
Location: Italy

Re: no more restart

Postby gabvil » Tue Jul 09, 2013 6:13

Hi lxnay,

Right now i tried everything i can on OpenRC and haven't found any solution to this.

Don't be angry with me, i'm trying to colaborate.

Regards,
·Intel [email protected]/2Gb Ram/160Gb/82945GZ/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @work X2
·Intel [email protected]/2Gb Ram/250Gb/x3100 GM965/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @lappy
·Intel [email protected]/2Gb Ram/800 Gb/Zotac 8400GS-512Mb-HDMI/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @HTPC
gabvil
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 22:27
Location: Canelones, Uruguay

Re: no more restart

Postby lxnay » Tue Jul 09, 2013 6:16

Hard to be angry when I don't understand what's your problem :roll:
Image
Join us on IRC (chat.freenode.net #sabayon or WebChat)
Submit bugs to our Bug Tracker
Follow me on Twitter
Add me on Facebook
Add me on Google+
lxnay
Land Owner
 
Posts: 3595
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 23:16
Location: Italy

Re: no more restart

Postby heathen » Tue Jul 09, 2013 6:25

lxnay wrote:So, you have the options. What do you expect to see then? No options?


We would just like to see Restart and Shutdown back on the list of options like it was before. As of right now mine does proper shutdown sequence when I press the power button but if i want to reboot/restart I have to either shut it down then turn back on or go to terminal and reboot as root user. It's all a matter of user convenience really.

About earlier, people usually know that an Aspire One is a little netbook that only comes in 32 bit so I usually don't have to explain it, and I hadn't done the deptest's, etc.. until right before I posted that. I understand you probably deal with alot of dip$hits and i completely empathize. And lately I haven't had regular access to internet (I haven't had access since my last post) so it's been hard to put much work into this.
Thankyou for your time and effort, it really is appreciated.
just wandering around and poking stuff with sticks...
heathen
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 19:44
Location: Arizona

Re: no more restart

Postby lxnay » Tue Jul 09, 2013 6:28

Where are those options missing from then?
You wrote that you do see the options. MATE is known to work now and your system looks properly configured.
Image
Join us on IRC (chat.freenode.net #sabayon or WebChat)
Submit bugs to our Bug Tracker
Follow me on Twitter
Add me on Facebook
Add me on Google+
lxnay
Land Owner
 
Posts: 3595
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 23:16
Location: Italy

Re: no more restart

Postby gabvil » Tue Jul 09, 2013 6:39

Hi lxnay and heathen,

Options missing are "Shutdown" and "Restart" on Shutdown menu. I think heathen try to tell the same thing.

Regards,
·Intel [email protected]/2Gb Ram/160Gb/82945GZ/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @work X2
·Intel [email protected]/2Gb Ram/250Gb/x3100 GM965/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @lappy
·Intel [email protected]/2Gb Ram/800 Gb/Zotac 8400GS-512Mb-HDMI/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @HTPC
gabvil
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 22:27
Location: Canelones, Uruguay

PreviousNext

Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest