How to unlock?

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Re: How to unlock?

Postby ranhel » Fri Jun 21, 2013 20:17

I have the same problem in KDE, but not in MATE DE, so it could be bug of KDE. I alresdy tried to delete ~.kde4/ - that didn't help me.
ranhel
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 20:53

Re: How to unlock?

Postby Stupot » Fri Jun 21, 2013 20:23

I know this is a bit tedious, but I'm not use whether there is an easier way, maybe you could try Riigo, the GUI package manager:


Of course there is an easier way! =)

There are meta packages out there, whose sole purpose is to group a bunch of packages together and install them.

To install all of xcfe4, one only need to do the following:

#equo install xfce4-meta


That package will pull in all the other xfce4 packages needed to get it all up and running nicely.

meta packages are your friend, although sometimes they install more than what some people prefer. That applies more to KDE, which has such a large number of optional packages than it does to xfce though.
Stupot
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1516
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:44
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA

Re: How to unlock?

Postby GhosttheAngel » Mon Jun 24, 2013 7:17

Hey Stupot,
thanks for the good info with the meta packages.
but meanwhile i´m switched to mate.
do you know how to uninstall all kde-packages at once?
GhosttheAngel
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 22:14
Location: Germany

Re: How to unlock?

Postby ranhel » Thu Jun 27, 2013 13:58

GhosttheAngel wrote:Hey Stupot,
thanks for the good info with the meta packages.
but meanwhile i´m switched to mate.
do you know how to uninstall all kde-packages at once?

You can fing some information about it in wiki (https://wiki.sabayon.org/index.php?title=Remove_KDE).
I solved this problem with just reinstalling kde using portage system (emerge kde-meta). Yes, it is not the default package manager in Sabayon, but such actions (reinstalling from the portage system) helped me several times. Version of freshly installed from portage KDE is the same as from equo, but screenlocker works wothout problems and it`s faster (thanks to compiling from sources and using -march=native).
ranhel
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 20:53

Re: How to unlock?

Postby aralmim » Mon Jul 01, 2013 10:20

Ok, and any other sollutions beside the another desktop installation ?

Like something that easily resolves the problem?

I have also kde, Sabayon 13.04, and after a while, after suspend or sleep, tha keyboard, touchpad and mouse doesn't can grab anything from the desktop (windows etc)...
aralmim
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 10:11

Re: How to unlock?

Postby Ryuno-Ki » Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:55

Have you tried another screensaver?
I guess, you use kscreensaver - you could try xscreensaver for example.
There are lots of other ones, too. equo search is your friend ;-)
HP-Pavilion ◆ AMD Athlon™ 64 Processor 4000+ ◆ GeForce 6150SE nForce 430 ◆ 1 GiB RAM
German Wiki translator ◆ Want to contribute on the wiki? Ask the Bureaucrats!
Please, mark solved threads ◆ Posts unread and unansweredPackage requests ◆ Sabayon XI with MATE
Ryuno-Ki
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 22:15
Location: Southern Germany

Re: How to unlock?

Postby aralmim » Mon Jul 01, 2013 16:49

Thank's, I just found a solution and actually it worked:

viewtopic.php?f=53&t=29914&p=162563

su
cd
mv /usr/lib64/kde4/libexec/kscreenlocker_greet ./
aralmim
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 10:11

Re: How to unlock?

Postby Darksurf » Tue Jul 02, 2013 16:37

I found the issue with KDE and screenlocker. I've been googling this issue for months. I then found someone say they weren't having an issue as long as they use the original Oxygen theme. I tested it and it worked! So its a theming issue. I found that the issue can be fixed by adding an exception in the theme for 'kscreenlocker_greet'.

So for qtcurve:
Systemsettings>Application Appearance> Style > Configure > Applications >
change a value in "No Background Opacity" from 'kscreenlocker' to 'kscreenlocker_greet'.

for other themes:
Systemsettings>Application Appearance> Style > Configure > Exceptions
add 'kscreenlocker_greet' to exceptions.

Enjoy having a lockscreen again!
~ Y </0 5+Up1</ P30p[Ez +Ry 2 R34</ D1s? ~
Darksurf
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 782
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 4:01

Previous

Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

cron