How to unlock?

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

How to unlock?

Postby GhosttheAngel » Wed Jun 19, 2013 22:23

Hey guys,

if i click at "lock screen" ("bildschirm sperren") i can do nothing with my mouse or keyboard. i think that is normal. but could someon please tell me, what i have to do that i can use them again.

greetings
GhosttheAngel
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 22:14
Location: Germany

Re: How to unlock?

Postby Honeyman » Thu Jun 20, 2013 0:03

Which desktop environment are you using? Here, with MATE desktop unlocking screen, or 'Bildschirm entsperren', works just fine. Moving the mouse pointer or pressing any key brings up a dialogue giving the options to: 'Leave a message', 'Switch user', 'Cancel' or 'Unlock'. Do you get a blank/black screen as soon as you lock your desktop?
Je me regarde pour me désoler,
je me compare pour me consoler

Maurice de Talleyrand
Honeyman
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 2:25
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: How to unlock?

Postby GhosttheAngel » Thu Jun 20, 2013 5:33

no, the screen is as before, except i can´t use keybord or mouse-buttons. my desktoop environment is KDE
GhosttheAngel
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 22:14
Location: Germany

Re: How to unlock?

Postby Honeyman » Thu Jun 20, 2013 7:30

Do you have a second desktop environment installed? If so, you could login there and then see whether the problems occurs there as well.
Je me regarde pour me désoler,
je me compare pour me consoler

Maurice de Talleyrand
Honeyman
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 2:25
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: How to unlock?

Postby GhosttheAngel » Fri Jun 21, 2013 7:47

no, i'm just using KDE, and there is no second environment installed.
GhosttheAngel
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 22:14
Location: Germany

Re: How to unlock?

Postby Honeyman » Fri Jun 21, 2013 8:15

GhosttheAngel wrote:no, i'm just using KDE, and there is no second environment installed.


Install another desktop environment and then boot into it. This allows you to verify whether your unlock problem happens with all desktop environments or is only a KDE issue. This greatly helps in pinpointing the real 'culprit'.

In general, I'd say it's not a bad idea to have an alternative desktop environment available, even if you do not intend to use it. If all of a sudden your KDE, Gnome, XFCE, etc. becomes unworkable, you still have an alternative where you can go searching for a solution. That saved me a few times.
Je me regarde pour me désoler,
je me compare pour me consoler

Maurice de Talleyrand
Honeyman
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 2:25
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: How to unlock?

Postby GhosttheAngel » Fri Jun 21, 2013 8:36

ok. like you can surely see, i´m new with linux, so could you please tell me, how to install an other desktop environment and which on would be the best?
GhosttheAngel
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 22:14
Location: Germany

Re: How to unlock?

Postby GhosttheAngel » Fri Jun 21, 2013 9:43

i think i would choose xfce, but how can i install it, and how can i uninstall kde?
GhosttheAngel
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 22:14
Location: Germany

Re: How to unlock?

Postby Honeyman » Fri Jun 21, 2013 10:07

GhosttheAngel wrote:i think i would choose xfce, but how can i install it, and how can i uninstall kde?



You do not have to uninstall KDE, parallel installation of several desktops is totally fine, they do not get into the way of each other.

I know this is a bit tedious, but I'm not use whether there is an easier way, maybe you could try Riigo, the GUI package manager:

Code: Select all
# equo search xfce | less


This command will bring up lots of packages related to XFCE, many of them you won't need. I cannot tell, which packages are absolutely necessary for XFCE to run, but look out for the keywords 'desktop', 'login-manager', 'window*'. The package management should take of dependencies, so don't worry if you think you have not selected all the packages needed.

This might look like this:
Code: Select all
# equo search xfce | less

@@ Searching...
>>      @@ Package: dev-util/xfce4-dev-tools-4.10.0 branch: 5, [sabayonlinux.org]
>>         Available:     version: 4.10.0 ~ tag: NoTag ~ revision: 0
>>         Installed:     version: Not installed ~ tag: N/A ~ revision: N/A
>>         Slot:          0
>>         Homepage:      http://www.xfce.org/
>>                        http://foo-projects.org/~benny/projects/xfce4-dev-tools/
>>         Description:   A set of scripts and m4/autoconf
>>                        macros that ease build system maintenance
>>         License:       GPL-2
>>      @@ Package: dev-util/xfce4-dev-tools-4.10.0 branch: 5, [sabayon-weekly]
>>         Available:     version: 4.10.0 ~ tag: NoTag ~ revision: 0
>>         Installed:     version: Not installed ~ tag: N/A ~ revision: N/A
>>         Slot:          0
>>         Homepage:      http://www.xfce.org/
>>                        http://foo-projects.org/~benny/projects/xfce4-dev-tools/
>>         Description:   A set of scripts and m4/autoconf
>>                        macros that ease build system maintenance
>>         License:       GPL-2
>>      @@ Package: x11-misc/alacarte-xfce-3.6.1 branch: 5, [sabayonlinux.org]
>>         Available:     version: 3.6.1 ~ tag: NoTag ~ revision: 0
>>         Installed:     version: Not installed ~ tag: N/A ~ revision: N/A
>>         Slot:          0
>>         Homepage:      http://live.gnome.org/
>>         Description:   Alacarte based menu editor for
>>                        Xfce
>>         License:       GPL-2



Assuming you want to install the 'alacarte'-package type (Installation is done as ROOT or with sudo if you prefer)

Code: Select all
# equo install x11-misc/alacarte-xfce-3.6.1 --ask


The ask option is recommended according to Sabayon's wiki to be asked when due to dependency issues other packages have to be removed in order to install the new package. You of course install several packages at once:

Code: Select all
# euqo install PACKAGE-1 PACKAGE-2 PACKAGE-2 --ask


Installing a entire desktop environment can thus take some time, as this usually requires a whole number of packages. Unfortunately Sabayon does provide only a very limited number of meta-packages, which are handy especially for cases like this. Maybe one exists for XFCE.

Final remark, installing a desktop environment requires some considerable amount of disk space, so be sure that you still have enough room on /
Je me regarde pour me désoler,
je me compare pour me consoler

Maurice de Talleyrand
Honeyman
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 2:25
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: How to unlock?

Postby GhosttheAngel » Fri Jun 21, 2013 10:53

ok, installation is in process
GhosttheAngel
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 22:14
Location: Germany

Next

Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests