Kinda confused [Solved]

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Kinda confused [Solved]

Postby chasha420 » Tue May 21, 2013 16:46

So...I was doin some cmdline fu & this just occured to me by random

Code: Select all
 # uptime
 21:52:06 up 1 day, 13:28, 11 users,  load average: 1.05, 0.91, 0.82


11 users? How is dat even possible when it's just my account 'irenicus' & 'root'.

So the next thing reveals something crazy
Code: Select all
# users
irenicus irenicus irenicus irenicus irenicus irenicus irenicus irenicus irenicus irenicus irenicus


^ If you count the # of times my username is repeated above you'll see that it's 11 Lol. :mrgreen:

So the uptime command wasn't lying at all! It was me myself and I hahaha :mrgreen:

I wonder if that's a bug or an expected behaviour of us linux nerds. I wish I could make a copy of myself like that in real life...just like agent Smith :P
Last edited by chasha420 on Thu May 23, 2013 17:24, edited 1 time in total.
chasha420
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 15:32
Location: /dev/null

Re: Kinda confused

Postby dave_64 » Tue May 21, 2013 17:34

I have 12 users!!! After closing all but one of the terminals (including the ones running in a minimized state), I got it back down to three. Are you running several terminals?
dave_64
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 226
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 20:33

Re: Kinda confused

Postby sabayonino » Tue May 21, 2013 21:13

simply type
Code: Select all
$ who


to see wich user(s) is/are running

Code: Select all
 $ uptime
22:16:45 up 15:02,  3 users,  load average: 2,89, 3,19, 3,16


Code: Select all
$ who
sabayonino    :0           2013-05-21 07:15
sabayonino    pts/1        2013-05-21 07:15 (:0)
sabayonino    pts/2        2013-05-21 12:48 (:0)

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2537
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy

Re: Kinda confused

Postby chasha420 » Wed May 22, 2013 3:23

dave_64 wrote:I have 12 users!!! After closing all but one of the terminals (including the ones running in a minimized state), I got it back down to three. Are you running several terminals?


Ya you're right, I was running a screen session with multiple instances...for coding mainly & according to @sabayonino the who command revealed those instances.

Thanks guys :)
chasha420
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 15:32
Location: /dev/null


Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron