SL 13.04 shows nothing [Solved]

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

SL 13.04 shows nothing [Solved]

Postby ags40 » Fri May 03, 2013 13:40

I made a fresh install of 13.04 and after it the only I can see is the text line which tells that GRUB2 is going to be loaded after that black screen and ... nothing, just some infinite loop. A word of advise will be appreciated. Thanks!
ags40
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 22:15

Re: SL 13.04 shows nothing

Postby Ryuno-Ki » Fri May 03, 2013 21:47

More details:
  • Which desktop environment
  • Can you enter Alt+F1?
  • How does the "infinite loop" looks like?
  • What hardware (graphic card and others) do you use? You may check that via LiveDVD
  • Further information (Don't know, whether systemd provides log. OpenRC wrote in /var/log/rc.log)
HP-Pavilion ◆ AMD Athlon™ 64 Processor 4000+ ◆ GeForce 6150SE nForce 430 ◆ 1 GiB RAM
German Wiki translator ◆ Want to contribute on the wiki? Ask the Bureaucrats!
Please, mark solved threads ◆ Posts unread and unansweredPackage requests ◆ Sabayon XI with MATE
Ryuno-Ki
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 22:15
Location: Southern Germany

Re: SL 13.04 shows nothing

Postby ags40 » Fri May 03, 2013 23:08

My best answers are:

- KDE
- NO. I can only see the title of the GRUB2 menu. Can't see even the options.
- The screen stays black. No apparent activity.
- GeForce GT 610/PCIe/SSE2. Open GL/ES 2.1.2 NVIDIA 313.18
- I was trying to go systemd via F5, after fully loading SL 13.04 from live DVD

Thanks very much!
ags40
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 22:15

Re: SL 13.04 shows nothing

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Fri May 03, 2013 23:27

Did the installed OS boot OK with OpenRC before you tried switching to systemd? Or did you not try that? If you didn't, try installing normally and booting using OpenRC. If that boots to a working desktop, you can then use eselect sysvinit and eselect settingsd to switch to systemd to try it out on reboot.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: SL 13.04 shows nothing

Postby ags40 » Fri May 03, 2013 23:42

Everithing started when I tried a fresh install of 13.04. Before that SL 11 was working dandy. Does the 13.04 live DVD allow a OpenRC option? How? Thanks again
ags40
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 22:15

Re: SL 13.04 shows nothing

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Fri May 03, 2013 23:48

The default installation for SL 13.04 uses OpenRC. Just install normally as you did with the SL 11 LiveDVD.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: SL 13.04 shows nothing

Postby ags40 » Fri May 03, 2013 23:51

Will try that. I'll keep you posted. Many tks.
ags40
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 22:15

Re: SL 13.04 shows nothing

Postby ags40 » Sun May 05, 2013 21:48

OK... Yesterday I made a fresh install of SL 13.04 twice. The first choosing "Start Sabayon 13.04 KDE", the second choosing "Installation". Both instances take you to the option of "Install to the Hard Drive", after this last is done, same thing happens: "the only I can see is the text line which tells you that GRUB2 is going to be loaded after that black screen and ... nothing, just some infinite loop", no chance to CRTL+ALT+F1. I rebooted for for a third time with "Boot=Repair-Disk", no success. The program came back with a warning of "Kernel panic ... report this bug with...(6 or 7 lines of text and numbers, impossible to remember).
Checksum checked, DVD write verified.

I went back and reinstalled SL 11, updated kernel and driver and everything is running nice. What do you think? I would appreciate you comments, if your time allows it, for my learning and illustration. As always thank you very much, my friend!
ags40
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 22:15

Re: SL 13.04 shows nothing

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Mon May 06, 2013 9:29

If you are saying that you now have on your HDD an installation that is fully upgraded ('rolled'), i.e. it is equivalent or newer than what the SL 13.04 KDE LiveDVD would have installed, then the only thing I can think would cause the problem you saw would be a difference in the SL Installer on the SL 11 LiveDVD and on the 13.04 LiveDVD. I don't know if lxnay made any changes to the SL Installer since the SL 11 LiveDVD was released, but it is possible. For example, I had to hack the installation from the SL 10 Xfce LiveDVD on this laptop (Acer Aspire 5536) to get it to boot to a desktop, whereas I didn't when I re-installed SL to this laptop from the SL 11 Xfce LiveDVD. (The former LiveDVD installed SL without problem to an Acer Aspire 5920).

Anyway, I'm glad to read that you are now sorted and have a working up-to-date installation. As I'm in a good mood, I'll save you the work of marking the thread as solved and do it for you. ;-)
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: SL 13.04 shows nothing [Solved]

Postby bobwad » Mon May 06, 2013 11:19

Solved? Well, perhaps. I have exactly the same problem. A fresh install of Sabayon 13.04, resulting in a black screen, the word "GRUB" and a flashing cursor. All input devices non-responsive.

Just for the record: KDE, AMD F1, ASUS F1 mobo, GPT format on HDD. UEFI, but no Secure Boot. Apparently successful install from UEFI-booted USB key. Many times.

I will try going back to an older version.
bobwad
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 14:18

Next

Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron